We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I couldn't disagree with the positive reviews more.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2008

I usually find most TripAdvisor reviews to be accurate, but I have to disagree with most here. My experience here was a disaster. First, when we checked in, they didn't have the superior room I had booked. Then when we get to a tiny standard room, we find that the heat AND the A/C had been turned off because (and I swear I'm not making this up) ... "It is spring, and if we have heat, customers will complain there is no A/C, and if we have A/C customers will complain that there is no heat (Apparently they can only run one system at a time). I decided I had enough of this and demanded that they find another hotel for me. Oddly enough we ended up at Le Meridien which has mostly terrible reviews on here but which we loved. The final insult was when the guy at the front desk complained to me that he now couldn't sell the room that night and that hotel policy was to charge at least 50 percent. I explained not very gently that he WOULD be charging 0 percent, and that was that.
Uggggh.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKSteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2008

Location: wondefull, on top of mount Carmel. Next to other hotels like the Dans, and to restaurants and shops. Away from the beach, but any way you look at it Haifa doesn't have beaches close to city center as the port occupies most of the coast line.
Nearest beach is about 20 minutes by car.
Hotel: seems recently renovated, elegant and well kept.
small lobby with bar.
Rooms: nice and cosy but small. our room was rated Delux and bigger than the basic rooms, but still was rather smallish.
Service: friendly,helpfull staff.
Pool: the hotel offers a free spa with a small indoor pool and a nice juccuzi. that was fun. However, during the summer the lack of an open pool and garden is a drawback.
Food: we tried breakfasts only. Average.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_IN_TELAVIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

I was visiting IBM Research Labs in Haifa for about a week. There are no hotels close to IBM Haifa, but this one was about the closest. It was formerly the Holiday Inn Bayview, but was reclassified as a Crowne Plaza recently. Lots of renovations have apparently been done.

Pros:

+ comfortable rooms, nicely decorated

+ very nice views from many of the rooms

+ courteous and helpful staff

+ excellent breakfast

+ convenient to shops in Carmel Centre, restaurants bus stops, etc.

+ great pool and gym facilities

Cons:

- some of the rooms have yet to be upgraded; mine was one of these. Nothing wrong with it, but it was starting to look a bit faded in the bathroom.

I was very happy during my stay. The place is comfortable, with a nice big lobby, reasonably priced wifi access (USD $15 for 24 hours that can be spread over 3 days), good coffee at the bar, and helpful staff. You pay for it, but you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pandoras_chocolates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

We stayed at this hotel (now the Crowne Plaza) three years ago. It was terrific, especially at the price we paid (under $90). This time the price was about $170, but was still worth it.

Overall, the hotel is great. The location is terrific. There's parking for a reasonable fee, the views from the rooms are great.
But compared to 3 years ago the hotel is showing some wear and tear. It's really just the small stuff.. a cracked tile in the bathroom and some rust on the tub fixtures... and perhaps just some wear and tear here and there. The reason the small stuff caught my attention is that 3 years ago the attention to detail and how perfect everything was also caught my attention.

Anyway, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Hopefully the attention to detail will return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Klockner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

I'd heard this was the nicest hotel in Haifa, but still not all that great. However, I found this hotel to be quite pleasant. The room had an awesome view of the city, port, and bay. It was also very comfortable, though just a little small. The hotel restaurant has a nice breakfast but is pretty boring for other meals. Fortunately, there are a number of great restaurants within easy walking distance.

I think my only real complaint about this hotel is that it should have free wireless internet. Instead, they charge $15 or $17.50 per day for network access (depending on if you pay at the front desk or online).

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank ToddBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

This is by far the nicest holiday in i have ever stayed in. The views from mount carmel are...fantastic. increadible value for money and the breakfast was spectacular. The rooms are modern and well appointed and the beds are confortable. I dont understandhow can some people give this hotel a 2 star rating...which is compleatly ridiculous. There is a terrific argentinian restaurant accross the street and the hotel is walking distance to a nice street with caffees and some shopping. If you are in Haifa.. is where I would stay in spite of the fact that its not right by the technology area of Haifa.. it is pretty close to the Bahai Gardens which are beautiful. GREAT family hotel. Enjoy

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank Ruben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2006

This hotel is on Yefe Nof rd (Panorama rd) on the hill above the bay. You come in on floor 9 and your room is DOWN from the entrance.

The hotel is beautifully decorated, loved our "deluxe" room on the 8th flioor, no balcony. One wall is all glass and you look out over the panorama of the bay, spectacular view, ever changing. My photos do not do it justice.

Very comfortable bed, and you can order a feather pillow if you prefer. Good bathroom, strong shower. However, you have to ask for shower cap and all the little shampoo bottles etc, they don't provide them.

There is a tea/coffee making stuff in the room. The floor is laminate (more hygienic in my eyes).

Note that there is public parking underneath the hotel which you have to pay for. You get a discount as a hotel guest but we paid 35 nis for the whole day (you can enter and exit as many times as you want).

The only problem with the hotel was perhaps the breakfast.
Breakfast: Not enough staff (no hostess to seat you and oversee things); salads, butter, and croissants that ran out were not replaced. The readymade juice was off and the scrambled eggs were inedible (plastic?).
However, there was plenty of food to choose from at the buffet, you could make fresh citrus juice yourself (fruit and juicer provided), and you could order eggs to be made specially for you, from the waiter. Also, the fat content in the white cheese is labelled (much appreciated).

I would stay here again, just for the view and location near the center.

Note that right opposite the hotel is a good El Gaucho (steakhouse, with the view)
On the right of the hotel (facing the entrance) and down the steps, there is a young people's pub, loud music, noice, smoke, etc. On the left is a lounge-bar, quieter, view, couches as well as tables, very nice, called Rojo or something similar.

The hotel is a very short walk to the Carmel center where there are malls, restaurants, stores, cafes, Carmelit subway to get downtown, Cultural center etc.

IN ANSWER TO COMPLAINTS IN 2 PREVIOUS REVIEWS:
1. No meat at breakfast
There is rarely meat at an Israeli hotel breakfast, (and never, if it is kosher). Instead there is a range of cheeses, veg and fruit, cereals, yoghurt, fish, breads, cake, quiche etc
2. No washcloth in the bathroom
Israelis do not use washcloths - bring your own.
(Israelis might use sponge or loofah but consider it a personal item and bring their own, as they bring their own toothbrush)

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank shoshi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.5 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#2 of 28 in Haifa
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#10 of 28 in Haifa
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 28 in Haifa
397 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Crown Haifa
Golden Crown Haifa
#13 of 28 in Haifa
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa

Address: 111 Yefe Nof Street, Haifa 3445413, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#4 Business Hotel in Haifa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
Price Range: £104 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Haifa Hotel is located on the green hills of the Carmel Mountain offering a breathtaking view of the Haifa Bay. Just minutes away from the Carmel Center, a recreational district with lots of restaurants and shops, 15-20 minutes drive from the beach and very close to the Bahai Gardens. Crowne Plaza Haifa Hotel offers a variety of possibilities for business guests. The business lounge on the 10th floor offers light refreshments and an afternoon buffet. Wireless high speed internet access (WiFi) is available in all rooms and public spaces. The hotel's indoor pool is heated in winter, there are also a large Jacuzzi and wet and dry sauna, for use by hotel's guests only.** Check-in time update: for Saturday evenings is 19:00 unless otherwise confirmed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Haifa
Haifa Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing