We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, excellent service”

Jerusalem Meridian Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jerusalem Meridian Hotel
Ranked #85 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have stayed here twice on business trips, and although it is not the most up to date decor wise in the bedrooms, it is clean, friendly, well located, the food is good, the service is excellent and sitting in the garden in the evening is very pleasant.

Room Tip: The roof, which is disused, gives a great view over Jerusalem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieBreenSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
5
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I had about 10 days at the Meridian over two visits on business and it was a very good experience. I found the staff very welcoming, efficient, friendly and helpful. The two rooms that I stayed in were clean and very spacious and comfortable - I slept well there.
The included buffet breakfast was adequate (served in a fabulous old stone room) and the evening meals in the restaurant were of reasonable quality and price. The outside garden area of the restaurant was fabulous - very peaceful to sit with dinner and wine at the end of the day.
Having wifi in my room (free) was great. Location was good for an easy walk to the Old City. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane321321
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband had stayed here multiple times. We stayed in a two BR/2 BA suite. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the necessaries. Breakfast is included. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Lydia, at the Front Desk, always greets you with a smile. The hotel is within walking distance to the Old City. We stayed here for a week. Quiet, clean, comfortable and friendly service. Will definately return! Actually my husband is back there as we speak. Great Customer Service has become a lost art but not in this old city or this hotel. THanks SUNSHINE :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. I watched the sun rise on one balcony and set on another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane321321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

The owner is a very kind man. The staff is very friendly. They go out of their way to help with anything you could need. The room included a lovely buffet breakfast, with some of the best coffee I have ever had. The restaurant offered great dinners for a very reasonable price. The Chirstmas tree hotel and the American colony are next to this hotel. I went to their hotel restaurants and did not enjoy them nearly as much, they were more expensive and not nearly as good. Be sure to eat on the patio, very pretty!

It was a quiet and relaxing hotel. The location is great. At the end of the street is lovely coffee and sandwich shop. It is a very short walk to the Damascus Gate. On the walk to the Old City you can find everything you could need/want (money exchange, pharmacy, grocery store, ect).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cateferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
910 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

I am sure you will find better elsewhere. I am still not sure why there has only been 7 reviews for this hotel. This must surely have told me something. As this is the only hotel we have stayed in at Jerusalem, its hard to compare value and quality. All i can say is the first room we were given had more dust in it than the desert. The shower worked for 1 minute and the water stopped flowing. We were given another room, but the air conditioner did not work(but was fixed during our stay) The breakfast was very poor, bordering on a waste of time. The free washing machine/dryers were broken. The list goes on.

The major issue i also have is the hotel security. We have been traveling though the middle east, and this was the only hotel where i used a credit card. Now i cannot say 100% that it was this hotel where my details were compromised, but some one managed to get my card details and start making purchases form the USA, and the products were being shipped to Jerusalem. A bit of a coincidence? This did sour our stay if you cannot put any trust in the staff.

So read between the lines, only 7 reviews has to tell you that something is not right.
Would i stay at this hotel again - No
Would i recommend it to any one - No

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

This hotel has not gotten much "buzz" on Tripadvisor for hotels in Jerusalem so thought i'd add another review as there have not been many on this hotel.

The hotel is located in the "american colony" section of jerusalem, about a 10 min. walk from herod's gate in the old city. It is located in a rather residential neighborhood (mostly arabs) next to the christmas hotel. This hotel is hard to find if you're driving on your own. Easiest thing is to first find the american colony hotel and it is very close by. Would probably suggest emailing the hotel in advance (if you're not from Israel) as we spent quite awhile trying to find it.

The rooms are spacious for european standards. We had a standard desk, small TV with cable hook up (did not know how to use it as everything was in arabic), free wi-fi, business center, and fitness center in the hotel. There is secure parking on-site and with no extra charge like other hotels. We had a few small problems with our room (toilet did not work as well, shower pole, etc) but management was quick to fix it even changing our room if we needed to. We came in low season so i suspect there were a lot of rooms open. Room rate was neither cheap nor expensive in jerusalem.

Rooms are dated, but clean. Beds are firm which we like but some americans may found too hard. Quiet as well as it is in a residential neighborhood. Breakfast was adequate - we had heard about how great breakfast is in Israel - this is probably not the right hotel to showcase this (there were cereals, breads, cold meat, yogurt, fresh juice, fruit, some middle eastern dips - humus, etc).

They also have a restaurant at night - we actually tried it the first night we got in as we were exhausted just getting off a flight from the states, the chicken curry was great though prices were high but not higher than anywhere in jerusalem.

Would we stay here again?? probably given the value of the property (most other places with this close proximity to the old city would be much more expensive) there are other places closer by if you desire a larger chained hotel (olive tree and grand court hotel) are about 3-4 min. walk away. While we had a car, parking and streets were confusing in jerusalem so we mostly walked or used the buses for things close by. The location is good, within 10 min. you are in the old city and as no cars are allowed everything is walking once there. no close bus stops - but the 99 tour bus (which is the hop on- hop off equivalent stops at grand court hotel - stop #5, use that stop and you will be about 5-7 min. walk from the hotel).

Wi-fi is slow so if you are an intense computer user, may not be adequate - simple email, browsing the web is fine. they also have a business center which has computers if you did not bring one. they have a fitness center - but did not use it - looked like some exercise machines - nothing to write much about.

service was very good, staff friendly .. place is overall pretty decent. as this is my first hotel in israel, will reserve judgement on how it compares to other places after i've gone on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I have been to Jerusalem many times but this was my first time at the Meridian Hotel. It was recommended to me by a friend in Jordan. I will be staying there in the future for sure. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and central location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karimjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#83 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Legacy Hotel
#47 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
#61 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Meridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Meridian Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Meridian Hotel
Address: 5 Ali Ibn Abu Taleb | PO Box 19334, Jerusalem 9711092, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerusalem Meridian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jerusalem, the Jerusalem Meridian Hotel offers short, medium and long term accommodations at competitive prices. Club rooms, suites, executive rooms and new fully equipped hotel apartments & studios. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing