We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, some improvements needed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jerusalem Meridian Hotel

Jerusalem Meridian Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jerusalem Meridian Hotel
Ranked #84 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, some improvements needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

This hotel has not gotten much "buzz" on Tripadvisor for hotels in Jerusalem so thought i'd add another review as there have not been many on this hotel.

The hotel is located in the "american colony" section of jerusalem, about a 10 min. walk from herod's gate in the old city. It is located in a rather residential neighborhood (mostly arabs) next to the christmas hotel. This hotel is hard to find if you're driving on your own. Easiest thing is to first find the american colony hotel and it is very close by. Would probably suggest emailing the hotel in advance (if you're not from Israel) as we spent quite awhile trying to find it.

The rooms are spacious for european standards. We had a standard desk, small TV with cable hook up (did not know how to use it as everything was in arabic), free wi-fi, business center, and fitness center in the hotel. There is secure parking on-site and with no extra charge like other hotels. We had a few small problems with our room (toilet did not work as well, shower pole, etc) but management was quick to fix it even changing our room if we needed to. We came in low season so i suspect there were a lot of rooms open. Room rate was neither cheap nor expensive in jerusalem.

Rooms are dated, but clean. Beds are firm which we like but some americans may found too hard. Quiet as well as it is in a residential neighborhood. Breakfast was adequate - we had heard about how great breakfast is in Israel - this is probably not the right hotel to showcase this (there were cereals, breads, cold meat, yogurt, fresh juice, fruit, some middle eastern dips - humus, etc).

They also have a restaurant at night - we actually tried it the first night we got in as we were exhausted just getting off a flight from the states, the chicken curry was great though prices were high but not higher than anywhere in jerusalem.

Would we stay here again?? probably given the value of the property (most other places with this close proximity to the old city would be much more expensive) there are other places closer by if you desire a larger chained hotel (olive tree and grand court hotel) are about 3-4 min. walk away. While we had a car, parking and streets were confusing in jerusalem so we mostly walked or used the buses for things close by. The location is good, within 10 min. you are in the old city and as no cars are allowed everything is walking once there. no close bus stops - but the 99 tour bus (which is the hop on- hop off equivalent stops at grand court hotel - stop #5, use that stop and you will be about 5-7 min. walk from the hotel).

Wi-fi is slow so if you are an intense computer user, may not be adequate - simple email, browsing the web is fine. they also have a business center which has computers if you did not bring one. they have a fitness center - but did not use it - looked like some exercise machines - nothing to write much about.

service was very good, staff friendly .. place is overall pretty decent. as this is my first hotel in israel, will reserve judgement on how it compares to other places after i've gone on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
5
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I have been to Jerusalem many times but this was my first time at the Meridian Hotel. It was recommended to me by a friend in Jordan. I will be staying there in the future for sure. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and central location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karimjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

If you want the ideal location for a hotel in jerusalem, this is it. The hotel has been rennovated since the last time I was here and the did a very good job.The restaurant is fantastic. All in all, it is clean, quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haywardg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

I was lucky enough give this hotel a try after a tip from a friend. My expectations were completely surpassed as I spent two weeks in this great location. First off, the location is unbeatable. The hotel is located on a quiet street in a safe neighborhood only a few minutes from the Damascus Gates. As a woman, I felt very safe at all times of day walking to and from the hotel from the Old City and West Jerusalem. The staff were unbelievably helpful with any questions I had about the city and great at giving me advice on what to do/ see. My room was recently renovated and in great shape (excellent water pressure was a plus) and the internet was very fast. Rooms were cleaned daily and breakfast buffet was included each morning. I found myself at the Lotus (hotel restaurant) many times enjoying their peaceful atmosphere and diverse menu. I highly recommend the Curry dish if you have a chance. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone passing through Jerusalem. This hidden jem is a must.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smacin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

The location was just perfect. Everything within walking distance. The staff was really friendly. Rooms were very clean. Free internet was a nice touch. The restaurant serves excellent food. I highly recommend the jerusalem meridian hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_mtl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

The staff are very friendly. However, the elevator never seemed to work. The toilet in my room ran continually. The lock on my door seemed to have been forced by a previous occupant. I could not get an outside line for the phone, nor an internet connection in the room. The internet connection in the business center sometimes worked, but the printer had no paper. So basically nothing worked, and the place isn't that cheap. I moved out after a day. This hotel needs a good overhaul.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Total lack of services
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DCOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2008

The staff is wonderful! Great service, you won't want to leave! I felt so at home. The restaurant practices great sanitary procedures. Although the rooms need some refurnishing, but the service definetely outweighs everything. I'm booking back in May!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank GegeChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Jerusalem Tower Hotel
Jerusalem Tower Hotel
#70 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
ג 'ראח
Mount Scopus Hotel
Mount Scopus Hotel
#82 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#83 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Legacy Hotel
#49 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Meridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Meridian Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Meridian Hotel
Address: 5 Ali Ibn Abu Taleb | PO Box 19334, Jerusalem 9711092, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerusalem Meridian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jerusalem, the Jerusalem Meridian Hotel offers short, medium and long term accommodations at competitive prices. Club rooms, suites, executive rooms and new fully equipped hotel apartments & studios. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing