We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for money”
Review of Holy Land Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holy Land Hotel
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed there in May 2014 and the hotel had just been renovated. The rooms are spotless and comfortable even if smallish and quite noisy given that the place is packed with tours/pilgrim guests. The food was good and laundry service worth what you had to pay for it. The big advantage of this hotel resides in its location as it is literally 100 metres away from the old city's Door of Herode. In 5 minutes you are inside the walls of the old Jerusalem. I would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask one with a view on the old city - some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked this hotel as part of our tour. The main entrance was not really impressed as it doesn't look like hotel entrance. The room and bathroom was great and new as they just renovated. Very well designed ,clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great with variety of food. They also offer free WiFi. Location was great, walking distance from some attractive place.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GEPURPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

After one year I returned to this hotel and found the rooms renovated, clean bathrooms with high standard and excelent materials - now a good 4*-Standard. The restaurant, however, deserves a maximum of 3*: the staff friendly, but with its pilgrim groups from Asia and Africa quite noisy, the buffet ok, but nor more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the old town and Al Aksa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zurichhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great location & all the staff very helpful. The room I occupied was pristine, with a nice view & certainly enough space for two people. Breakfast was good & the laundry service was worth the small cost. My only complaint is that I had no wifi reception in my room & the TV had a poor signal. But I'd return for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank east15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

To begin with we stayed over Christmas and paid £90 a night - I think if it were more reasonably priced I would give a better rating.

The rooms are very clean and quite nice as have been recently redone. The view was amazing - of the dome of the rock. Location wise it's a 3 min walk to the old city.

Cons were the rest of the hotel is a bit run down, breakfast was terrible, it's right next to a mosque so the call to prayer at 4.30am wakes you up and lasts 30 mins. The cleaners knocked on our door three times between 7am and 8am to see if we had checked out ( check out is at noon).It's in east jerusalem so it's the Muslim area so very loud etc.


Overall I would say it's not good value for the price we paid, but perhaps at a different time of year the cheaper price would justify it.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iheartactuaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

In the year 2007, in the end of summer, I travelled with my wife to Israel, through the voyager's agency, called"Benevolence" pertaining to our orthodox church "Ascension", which is located in the strict center of Belgrade, Serbia. There were about thirty people of us, who showed very strong interest to perceive and feel all the places, connected with the life of Jesus Christ.
We had a flight from Belgrade, across the Larnaka, on island of Cyprus, and landed after a three hours on Ben-Gurion Airport in Tel -Aviv. After all the necessary procedure on the airport, we proceeded to the Jerusalem,with the comfortable izraelis bus. Our agency booked the very nice hotel in the eastern part of Jerusalem, in Harun - Al -Rashid street, called Holy Land Hotel.
It overlooks the Jerusalem's Old City and is located near the historic walls. From this hotel, You have got a pleasant walk to the most important religious sites, as the Temple Mount, the Al Aqsa Mosque and the Western Wall. Also, the Damascus Gate is not far from hotel, only a five minutes walk.
The hotel has free parking, free WI-FI and very nice and comfortable ensuite rooms. In the very cosy restaurant, You can taste the delicious international cuisine.
The rooms are very pleasant, very well decorated and carpeted and with light -wood furniture.
The air conditioning and a cable TV are present in every room.
If You are lucky, after You get the key, You may enjoy some great unique view of the Old City, like the Golden Dome of the Rock, Old City Walls, Mount of Olives, Mount of Scopus, and Rockfeller's Garden, that are located, immediately east from the Hotel.
In hotel governs a very hospitable atmosphere, with the staff, always willing to help and be at service to the guests.
We were pretty content at our very beginning of sojourn in Jerusalem, Holy City, and generally in Holy Land of Israel.

Room Tip: All are very good, just enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed at the Holy Land Hotel with a tour group in January 2013. It snowed during our stay and the city basically shut down for a day. Since snow is so rare in Jerusalem, adequate tools for snow removal were not available (we saw some men trying to shovel snow near the Western Wall, using a half sheet of plywood - back breaking!) So beware of slippery steps if it should happen to snow. We did have a great view out our window of the Dome of the Rock and city wall, and walking into the Old City was easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Old City, if you want the view described.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#52 of 100 in Jerusalem
242 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#43 of 100 in Jerusalem
734 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 100 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Sephardic House
#47 of 100 in Jerusalem
166 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#53 of 100 in Jerusalem
326 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#55 of 100 in Jerusalem
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holy Land Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holy Land Hotel

Address: 6 Rashi | PO Box 19700, East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9471606, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £78 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Holy Land Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holy Land Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing