We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jerusalem Hostel
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Not happy at all”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I booked a single en suite room. They put me in their satellite rooms down the street. My room was the size of a walk in closet, the door did not close all the way (you could see the hallway through the gap), the single bed was hard as a rock, the fan was weak, the sheets, were thin, the wi-fi did not work in the room, the rooftop was dodgy looking, and completely overpriced.

I did not like the price of the room I got. I felt like I was taken advantage of, and sort of played.

The location is good, the staff were friendly enough, but I cannot get past the price and size of the room, as well as the quality of the place. Complete rip off.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere. The single room was a walk in closet. My door did not close all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    109
    60
    20
    22
See reviews for
57
84
108
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Ok, hostels are for travellers, not for tourists. But how u can think a man can sleep like that? In a room that could be little for 2, was made for 6 or 8 people, so u can not even walk for all the stuff u have on the floor (luggages, computers, etc...). And the materass was ridicolous. Like from the '60s! The lenght was like 1.75 cms.

Internet never worked, computers were so old and u could not count on those.

I was really disappointed.

Locations is good, around the tram and close to the old city and the main market. By night u have to leave open the window if u want some air to survive! So, u listen the noises of the people and the tram.

ps. breakfast is a no sense breakfast. Just horrible bread and hot water.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review..

The bed length’s in the dormitories is 190/70 nis, which is the standard size of a single bed, worldwide.

We also have new computers and routers, so internet is much faster & enjoyable now.

Breakfast has also been upgraded - it includes coffee, tea, bread, butter, jam, chocolate spread, dates spread, peanut butter, olives, cheese and humus. We also provide our guests with a valuable discount voucher for a full breakfast in a lovely coffee house a minute away from the hostel (this coffee house's breakfast was chosen by lonely planet to be one of 10 best breakfast in the world), and our breakfast volunteer will be happy to cook eggs make fresh juice for you for a small amount of money.

Thanks again & Shalom:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drunen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

In the centre of Jerusalem a perfect place to stay. Very friendly personnel. Clean, but not very comfortable, because with 8 people in a small room is not very nice. But because you only are sleeping, is it not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarldenBraanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed in a private double room with balcony. I am not sure if they all face Jaffa st, but the noise at night was very loud as it sit right on the busy intersection. Perhaps it was because it was Thursday night, but I had trouble sleeping and blocking out all the noise.. so bring ear plugs just in case!

I picked this hostel because of location, and price and it was good value considering hotels in Jerusalem can be expensive. Just a short walk to the old city and right amongst the new city!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The location is excellent, with lively Jaffa St. right outside. Lots of food options mean that the rather dingy kitchen needn't be used and frequented too much. The breakfast here is a nasty joke and you'd be betteroff heading to one of the nearby bakeries. The falafel place opposite is also good and cheap.
I don't know why people insist of carpets. The air is this place is dingy and stale. The staff smile and chat and I generally like them.

Free linen, towels, goid location, with reliable internet are the pluses.

On the negative side: a tight-fisted management that doesn't even offer tea in it's kitchen, old carpet that gives the whole place an ungealthy atmosphere and general shoddiness to detail seriously let the place down and stop it reaching any potential that it has.

Room Tip: 8 bed forms are rather unsanitory. They'd be illegal in Europe ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahotaonlinetuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your feedback and kind words you wrote in your review...:)
I would like to inform you that breakfast now has been upgraded - it includes coffee, tea, bread, butter, jam, chocolate spread, dates spread, peanut butter, olives, cheese and humus. We also provide our guests with a valuable discount voucher for a full breakfast in a lovely coffee house a minute away from the hostel (this coffee house's breakfast was chosen by lonely planet to be one of 10 best breakfast in the world), and our breakfast volunteer will be happy to cook eggs make fresh juice for you for a small amount of money.

Our hostel is the cheapest option in the most central location in Jerusalem. There is no decent place in our price range that offers what we offer..

Moreover, the hostel has been recently painted so the hostel & rooms look much better.

We hope to see you again in the future:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Hostel is a good location, close to the old town. The Jaffa Gate is about 15 minutes walk from the hostel. When the schabbat Square directly beneath the windows meet people and have fun until the morning, if you like to party, you can join. The hotel itself is clean and not too long ago is dilapidated. Dirty kitchen and managed to volunteer or something like jam and bread for breakfast. I lived in a private room. Room very small and narrow, without windows. Window only bath room. Recommend, young people who go low buget and not required amenities. The most interesting Jerusalim old town at night. recommend a walk, if you are not afraid .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marukas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed in the Jerusalem Hostel for 5 nights during November 2012.. The hostel location is its best feature.. Its located right at the foot of Ben Yehuda Street right in Zion square.. From here its only a 10 minute walk to the old city, and also a 10 minute walk in the other direction to Mechana Yehuda market.. There are many cafes, coffee shops and falafel/shwarma stands within minutes of the hostel.. The hostel itself is located in an old building right on Jaffa road.. The facility is not well maintained, and is quite dirty.. I stayed in a private room and was told by the housekeeper that she would only clean my room once a week.. All other hostels I stayed in cleaned the rooms daily.. The room itself was quite small with a tiny private bathroom.. The kitchen area was also very small and always fairly dirty.. I just felt that the staff did not care about the appearance of the hostel, nor did they care about keeping it clean.. I came back to Jerusalem just before Christmas and stayed at a different hostel... Thus I would not recommend staying at the Jerusalem hostel...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
644 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 99 in Jerusalem
593 reviews
Kaplan Hotel
#57 of 99 in Jerusalem
143 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jerusalem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jerusalem Hostel

Property: The Jerusalem Hostel
Address: 44 Jaffa | Zion Square, Jerusalem 9422207, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jerusalem Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is the first hostel in west Jerusalem. we turned a historic beautiful building into a nice, warm, and cool hostel. waiting to see you here :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Jerusalem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing