We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would like to stay here on next trip”
Review of Legacy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Hotel
Ranked #49 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Would like to stay here on next trip”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I really am reviewing the restaurant, as we didn't get to stay here. We walked past this hotel almost every day during our trip to Jerusalem, and finally were able to go in for a late lunch. The dining room is on the 5th floor, with a beautiful view. My husband and I visited for lunch on our one "free day" of our tour. Excellent food and very nice service.

The common areas seemed very clean and well-maintained, and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Damascus Gate in the old city. Also is located on a very narrow and quiet street, so I assume would be a quiet place to stay. I would try the Legacy Hotel out as a place to stay in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HornsFan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    97
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
34
66
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We came here on a business trip recently and had a lovely experience. The staff was friendly, the beds were super comfortable, the rooms were nice and clean, the restaurant had good food with a great view, and the bar was fun. The location might throw people off because it's not in the Old City but it's pretty darn close. I liked that we had a quieter location away from all the tourists and everyone we met in the hotel were nice travelers.
We were also there during the terrible snowstorm and they were helpful in getting us the basic supplies we needed to venture outside. Very calm. I highly recommend for business travel, and for anyone who wants to stay away from the tourist crowd.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonnamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I was on a business trip, and stayed twice at this hotel. It's location is excellent, few minutes walk fro the old city. The rooms are small, the beds are not comfortable, and noise from street can be a problem. Cleanliness can be better in the rooms. On the positive side, staff are very friendly and ready to help, and breakfast is good. The restaurant is reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nouta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed there in Oct 13, paid for Executive double but when we arrived we were told that none were available and given a much smaller standard balcony room. Bathroom was not very clean, no bath only shower. Small TV, most channels did not work, meant to have fruit on arrival but did not arrive.
Complained to front desk staff who didn't seem bothered. Eventually spoke to Manager who offered us a free dinner in resturant but no offer of refund for the extra we had paid for our room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Hotel is generally okay

Pros:
* Good breakfast
* Great location
* Great view from higher rooms and from restaurant
* Room had a great terrace
* Nice staff

Cons:
* A bit run down, would need some renovations
* TV didn't work in my room
* Mattresses are very soft
* Sports bar wasn't manned during happy hour, and had to wait 20 minutes for staff to show up, later on disappeared again for 10 or so minutes and I was left sitting alone in the semi-dark bar

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fares D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Legacy Hotel a few years ago, and decided to stay there again on a recent trip to Jerusalem. We were not disappointed. The hotel is a short walk to the Old City/Damascus Gate, though it is located on a one-way street, and is kind of tricky to find if you're not familiar with the surrounding streets. The hotel offers guests free parking in a lot behind the hotel. It was not so convenient to park there, as the gate was closed and we didn't see the guard. It was also a bit of a hike to walk around to the front of the hotel with all of our luggage. We actually paid to park in the lot across the street.

The hotel staff were friendly, and spoke English. The hotel is modern and clean, and offers free wifi to hotel guests. The room was spotless, and featured a balcony (not all rooms have this) and a mini-fridge. There was bottled water and a beautiful fruit plate awaiting us in our room when we checked in. We happened to be in town on the final evening of the Muslim holy month of Ramadan, and the main bar/lounge area was not serving alcohol, as a result. (Note: This hotel mainly caters to an Arab clientele.) We were able to get a drink in the small bar in the lobby. The bartender was friendly, and kept on giving us small snacks while we sat for some drinks. We did not visit the restaurant for lunch or dinner, but I do remember it being quite good from our last visit. A nice buffet breakfast was served in the restaurant, which is located on one of the upper floors of the hotel. It features an outside porch/seating area, and has nice view of the Old City.

One negative/odd thing about the hotel is that the pool has separate hours for men and women. I noted this on my previous stay at the hotel, but I really like the hotel otherwise. I understand that the hotel mainly caters to Arabs/Muslims, but it would have been nice if there was an hour of co-ed swimming time. I was staying with my husband, and it would have been nice to swim together.

The carpet in the hallway outside our room was bubbling up, and we both tripped over it a few times. It should really be fixed ASAP. Other than that, I think this hotel has everything a traveller is looking for. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is well located and has the potential to be a real good hotel for Jerusalem visitors. But, the service, the maintenance and the conditions are poor and we will never come back to this place. here's why:
1. the staff became hostile as soon as they found out we were Israelis, and refuse to speak Hebrew although they understood it very well.
2. The room was small and crowded. A/C was very noisy and had to be turned off to be able to sleep. the mattress was very very soft.
3. The TV set was very tiny, and did not work.
4. The promised "indoors pool" is a part of a local sports club, and we were not able to be there together, because of gender restriction, either women alone or men alone. Some vacation...
5. Breakfast was poor quality and allowed to cool. OK if you like cols scrambled eggs.
6. No indication to where the free parking lot is located. and no free parking outside the hotel so that you can go to the reception to find out. So, spend 20 NIS and 20 minutes just to be told to drive around the block to the hotel parking. in a hot Jerusalem day.
7. The cashier actually tried to round up the bill from 680 NIS to 700 for no reason. No apolgy was offered when we commented on that.
in short: do not stay at the Legacy hotel!

Room Tip: face the east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazz_fan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#58 of 99 in Jerusalem
121 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#44 of 99 in Jerusalem
228 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Walls Hotel
#46 of 99 in Jerusalem
227 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 99 in Jerusalem
184 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#48 of 99 in Jerusalem
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel

Property: Legacy Hotel
Address: 2 Derekh Shkhem, Jerusalem 9720050, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#22 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#35 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing