We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citadel Youth Hostel
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed at the hostel on the night between April 26-27, 2014. The reception clerk said that they take only cash (nowhere on the website this is indicated. I arrived late. What would have happened if I didn't have any cash?..). Gave his 100 NIS for sleeping on the roof (69 NIS). He did not have change for me and said that he will have some in the morning. In the morning he still didn't have change and suggested that I will wait for two hours until his shift is over, maybe the other clerk will have change. He did not suggest any other solutions and it seemed reasonable for him that he had no change and that I should wait. He refused to give me his manager's name or his own name saying that "we are not allowed". I came back two hours later. The new clerk gave me the night clerk's name and the manager's name. She also had a bag full of change. No apology from her. She gave me the silly explanation that "this is a small hotel so sometimes we don't have change."

Michael

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

How bad can it be to stay the night in an old building with heaps of character, a kitchen to use for free, a rooftop view (or dorm), the best scenery in the world- the old city of Jerusalem and polite, helpful staff?
My only problem was the thin walls, so you can hear pretty much everything that's going on.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KerenOr1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at The Citadel Youth Hostel during Holy Week, so it may have been a little crazy and full at this point. But I stayed on the roof of the hostel (which has a beautiful view) with about 40+ other people. Again, this is holy week and everywhere was full up. They give you a nice mat and blanket and I saw many people take pillows from the sitting area down stairs. The weather in April was pretty nice, not cold at all and a nice breeze. But the mats are so close to one another that if one person decides to wake up and do their morning rituals, everyone around them will be woken up as well. The bathrooms were clean enough with hot water. There are nice sitting areas downstairs. The hostel itself is in a great location as well not far at all from Jaffa gate, the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, and the Western wall. I found the staff to quite friendly and helpful as well.

There are plenty of other hostels around, especially by Jaffa gate, and the Citadel is a little pricey. I would look into one of the other hostels and find a better price. But the Citadel is a nice stay, I would imagine it being better not during Holy Week, but you may be able to find some place cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy28104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The staff is very rude, and not very helpful at all. Despite staying at the hostel approximately 5 times in the past, when I asked today if I could show my guests the view from the rooftop I was given a short and rude answer. From previous stays there I know that the place is full of mildew, and I also had some of my things stolen from the "secure area".

Wouldn't recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 470Theswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

They have tried to squeeze every last inch out of this place. There were 9 beds (4 bunks and a single) in my dorm with only enough room for 3 bunk beds. There are no towels, the lockers are at extra cost and there is only wifi in the downstairs communal area (which is tiny and uncomfortable). The showers are over the toilets, again, cramming as much in as they can, still, at least i had hot water 10% of the time! Overall it was generally clean but it needs a massive refurb. They sell water here but charge rip off prices...just to add insult to injury! Oh, and the rooms have about 2 sockets to go around everyone. Great

!Having said all of the above this is aparently one of the best hostels in jerusalem. I guess some might call it character but its like being in a cave...which would be fine if it was done better. Shame really. I definately would not stay here again.

The one good thing: turn right out of the hostel, go to the end of the street and there are some metal stairs in front of you, go up these and you will a great, peaceful rooftop view of jerusalem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The reason I booked this hostel was because of what I read about the view from the rooftop terrace and it didn't disappoint. The rooms and aminities are basic but the hostel is very cosy and has a strangely relaxed atmosphere for the cramped spaces. The staff are very friendly and so were the other travellers. We stayed for 3 nights and it was definately worth compromising on a few comforts just for the incredible view over the Old Town of Jerusalem.

Room Tip: If you get a choice of room, avoid the very top room (10) if it's a little cold outside as the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonAbdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This hostel was the worst one we stayed in whilst staying in Israel. The hostel itself was a nice building old and goes with the old city but....
The 'kitchen' if you want to call it that didn't have any utensils that was worth using as Jesus himself would of used. No microwave, no kettle, no non broken pots or pans, no knifes, no forks and no toaster.
The staff where terrible and rude, there was one member who was more happy to help but the rest horrible. The rooms where sooo cold but we could rent a heater for 20 shekels thanks for that! The toilet an shower combo was nice to have sitting on toilet and having a shower at same time! :/ not the best lay out and watch out you don't break your neck on the no banister stairs.
The area though was beautiful and couldn't be nicer the markets are so colourful and you must HAGGLE!!! Start really high in price and you just say your price and if they say no walk away they soon will change their price. Stay in area just not in this hostel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 71 in Jerusalem
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Jerusalem Hostel
#9 of 71 in Jerusalem
377 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 71 in Jerusalem
266 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#38 of 71 in Jerusalem
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadel Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Youth Hostel

Address: St. Marks 20 | Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: £19 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Citadel Youth Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing