We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and amazing people”
Review of Jaffa Gate Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaffa Gate Hostel
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile


It is a good value for this price. The atmosphere is very nice and welcoming. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Noor explained us what to see and how to get there. His great hospitality makes us feel like home.
And the view from the roof top is really amazing!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maspessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Right, first off its not the King David but if you want to pay through the nose in what frankly is a very expensive city and country then go and stay there. As many have mentioned on here the location is incredible and being able to sleep inside the old city walls is a real thrill. Facilities? What do you need apart from your bed? The shower in my private room wasn't great but that would be my only gripe They have good Wi-Fi and the people who man the desk are very friendly and helpful. I didn't find the bed a problem but then again I always take an easily packable sleeping bag liner anyway to counter any problems from beds

I would definitely stay at the Hostel again, it gave me all I needed at a good price in a phenomenal location

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank buffy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have stayed in a lot of hostels and Jaffa gate was one of the worst in terms of facilities. That being said, I am giving it an average rating because the people who work there are so sweet and accommodating and its location is killer. The rooms are small and humid and too many people are stuffed into them. The beds are nothing special, but comfortable enough to get a good night's sleep. the cleanliness of the rooms leaves something to be desired but the bathrooms were much cleaner. My experience was almost ruined by a crazy old women who screamed at me and my friend every night we were there for talking after "quiet hours." Note that we were in a separate room, speaking in whispered voices and she acted as if we had been throwing a rave. Meanwhile, her loud and hacking cough kept half of the hostel awake. BE WARNED. She is staying in the hostel until the end of November and has caused multiple guests to switch there accommodation. As helpful as the staff was, they did not know how to deal with her and forced my friend to talk to her instead because they are so concerned about making money that they will not remove this nuisance. Still, the guys who work there are great and sweet, and being right in the old city is the best possible location. Just know what you are getting yourself into.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank licivc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Outstanding location but the bed was disgusting. Mattress filthy, sheets did not fit to cover. Otherwise was fine, but disappointing as such easy things to fix. Playing on location and not delivering on quality. Also, there are a few older residents who roam about creating havoc. One older lady in particular was creating such a fuss in the middle of the night as she claimed the others in her dorm were keeping her awake. Ridiculous. If you can, stay at the Jerusalem Hostel which is where we ended up. Much cleaner, similar price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatIsobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Staying in the old city is very pricey, but Jaffa Gate hostel is a very cheap alternative. I stayed with friends I the private room for three, and you get the basic amenities. Westerners might find a few things interesting, like a shower rose at leg height, and no shower curtains, but as I said, you want the Hilton... Pay the price. Just put your clothes into a plastic bag so they don't get wet...
The staff were very friendly and helpful, calling their contacts to find out if Massada NP was open during a public holiday.
Location is just past the tower of David... Great place to start your explorations. Just give the Lebanese restaurant outside the front of em he hostel a miss... Rip off...
Overall, this is a great place if you want the old city experience but not the price.
One tip: ask for some extra towels... You will probably need some for the bathroom floor...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 261621Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The staff at Jaffa Gate Hostel were extremely helpful and friendly - they took time to explain where to visit, how to get there, and went out of their way to answer my questions and help out. It's in a great location to visit the old city, clean, great value for money and had a friendly atmosphere. I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Jerusalem on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Superb location and the staff was very friendly. The view from the roof top was simply spectacular. Would love going back and staying there. A very good value for the room's price. The hostel was clean and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. THUMBS UP!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
The Post Hostel
#5 of 69 in Jerusalem
236 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Koresh Hotel
Koresh Hotel
#42 of 60 in Jerusalem
7 reviews
Central Boutique Hotel
#12 of 60 in Jerusalem
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Check In Jerusalem
#1 of 69 in Jerusalem
395 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
City Hotel Jerusalem
City Hotel Jerusalem
#54 of 60 in Jerusalem
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaffa Gate Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaffa Gate Hostel

Address: Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem 19383, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: £29 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Jaffa Gate Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaffa Gate Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing