We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Basic Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jaffa Gate Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaffa Gate Hostel
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
144 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Location - Basic Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The location of the Jaffa Gate Hostel is really good and to explore the city I can highly recommend this small family owned place.
From time to time, they have some problems with insects, but nothing serious and I'd rather stay there again and walk all my way throughout Jerusalem, then stay in a nother place.
I have been there twice now and I would come for a third time for sure!
Furthermore the place is really safe which is important when you stay on your own.
From the roof you can see the Al-Aqusa mosque and have a nice view over the city.

I was lucky to meet Josef, a fantastic palestinien Guide just in front of the hotel. We made an arrangement for a whole day tour and I can tell you, he is the best!!
If you can find him, don't make a tour with any other one. He speeks at least 6 languages and has the heart at the right place and knows his city by heart!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superlumidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    25
    21
    12
    27
See reviews for
4
24
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great place to stay! The best thing about this hostel is that the staff who run it are incredibly helpful and informative, It's a very good location when you're on a short city trip needing just a nice place to sleep without any luxury facilities. I'll definitely recommend the hostel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I loved staying here! I stayed in the female dorm and the room was simple but nice. Remember this area is older so it is what it is but has its own unique charm with exposed rock in different areas which I absolutely loved. There were a couple common areas and places to sit around outside. I was able to use wifi from the common areas as well as from my room. I would stay there again. I always wear flip flops in a hostel shower so was not bothered by the older bathrooms and I had earplugs but the other travelers were always quiet so noise was never a problem. I had a chance to meet and talk with other travelers and when the staff was not busy they were always hospitable. I was close to many areas and felt safe here and as a single female traveler that is important to me. The staff was kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Dorms are the best price and basic but I was impressed with some of the other rooms and would not mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyBellaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This place is in the most perfect location imaginable, and cheap for the area. Some rooms are gorgeous, some are lacking, but they make up for it by price and helpfulness. It's quiet, with a great view of the city from the roof, and the staff are ready to help you with anything you need. I live in neighboring Amman, and stay here every time I come to visit Jerusalem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilar813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Jaffa Gate hostel is the strike for your stay in Jerusalem. Offers excellent location with spectacular view of the town from it's roof terrace, located in the hearth of the historical city, right next to the David tower. The people running the place are very very nice and helpful. It is modest but cozy and I strongly recommend this place, it worth the price and makes your stay comfortable. You have all the basic facilities needed for a pleasant stay. Go book it! ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor so you could wake up with the view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marydi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Location great! View fantastic! Staff was super friendly and accommodated us in any way that they could. Dorms are okay, better than I expected from previous reviews, but still basic and a little run down (what else can you expect from one of the oldest most iconic cities in the world. As this is not a new development, things are not going to be new...) for the budget traveller you pay for what you get. Nothing more, but internet and a nice view maybe, nothing less :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed in the female 3 bed. I was stuck at the airport for 6 hours and I called them to let them know I wouldn't be checking in on time and they were VERY accommodating and left me a key outside for me to let myself in.This literally saved me from sleeping God knows where. Their friendliness and helpfulness is 5 star. However the place could do with redecorating or something. It was not the most comfortable stay and the cleanliness is not the best. The location is great however I would not be back unless I was super desperate or on a tight budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AminaK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#49 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#24 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Post Hostel
#4 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
The Jerusalem Hostel
#8 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaffa Gate Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaffa Gate Hostel

Property: Jaffa Gate Hostel
Address: Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem 19383, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Jaffa Gate Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing