We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great intro tour”

SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Jerusalem
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.00*
and up
Jerusalem Three Religions Holy City Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 228 Tours in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Rain or shine, a free tour starts at 11:00 & 14:00 every day.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great intro tour”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went on the two hour "free" intro tour of the Old City. Our guide Ryan was very enthusiastic and gave a very good introduction at quite a measured pace to cater for all levels of understanding, that included both history, basic geography and a bit of socio-political context. The up-sell elements ("you can book on a more in-depth tour" "here is a good place to eat" etc) that we expected are very gentle and did not intrude on the tour. You give a "suggested tip" of at lest 50 shekels at the end, which still makes it great value. Was the perfect way to get an intro to the old city which then meant we could go back and spend longer at the bits we wanted and go on other tours (we had another one booked with another company after this one, a much more in-depth political tour, but without this intro one the other one would have made far less sense). Would definitely recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WillOnTheHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,623
    207
    44
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Introduction to Jerusalem!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have been reluctant in our tour of Israel to do tours for the fear of 'being rushed' through the sites but the free tour around the Old City was wonderful; very informative, easy to understand, evenly paced and Naomi our guide had a personal passion for the city which was clearly evident and made the tour extremely enjoyable!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This tour was one of the best I've ever been on. It was fast paced and full of interesting information. The tour was respectful of all religions providing background information on each. The tour guide, Allan, was nice, personable, and found ways to make our experience fun and enjoyable. If I hadn't taken this tour it would have been a lost opportunity because I wouldn't have known how to navigate myself through the city and been able to soak in all the history by myself.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank block95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mount of Olives - Jerusalem”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our guide Naomi was fabulous. She was not only evenhanded, she was very respectful of all religious traditions, reminding us of their many similarities as well as differences. She was extremely well informed and entertaining as well. Very willing to answer questions. If I could have her lead us all over Israel, I would have. We have done few tours on our trip and probably should have done more since we don't know what we're doing, but that tour was well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mathom36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Sandeman's free tours ever!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We've taken numerous Sandeman's tours (London, Paris, Barcelona, Copenhagen, etc.) but the Jerusalem Free Tour was one of the best -- the other one is in Jaffa (Tel Aviv). Naomi was great, very knowledgeable, and fun to listen to! We took a follow-on tour of the Mount of Olives with her colleague Yariv (which was awesome as well!)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Jerusalem also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing