We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is the only thing going for it....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Being 100 meters from Damascus Gate and the light rail means old Jerusalem is right there and easy to access if your going to spend a lot of time in there. But the hostel itself is noisy (it sits above a small fruit & veggie market), no mirror in the bathroom kind of inconvenience , a few people there complianed about booking one type of room but got something different, its ok but you walk away feeling you've been screwed! I'm not a fussy traveller but this place got under my nose. Prices are negotiable so best to book one or two nights then negotiate a better price once your there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place is the worst thing i ever tried. When we arrive they charge us over double Price of what we have booked it to. We haggle them down so we "only" have to pay 300 nis instead of 180 nis that we booked it to. (That is without breakfast, wifi, coffee ect.) The owner threaden us byt telling us that he will watch us.
The only good thing is the location. But i will never set my foot in that hostel again. So i highly recommend not to stay here, but take one of the hostels inside the old town instead

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were supoosed to spend two nights here in a double room but they made overbooking and all the explanations were lies... The staff tried to be nice and polite but in fact they invited us to look for another place to stay... If you insisted that Jerusalem was fully booked (Easter season) they only could offer a coach or if you were lucky a matress in the dinning-room floor. It was a very bad experience.
I cannot say if rooms are ok because I couldn't see them! But, there is free wi-fi in the hostel building where common areas are fine. The "sharing" bathrooms were dirty. The dinning-room where you can have free breakfast was fine with nice view.
The location, next to Damascus Gate is excellent to visit the Old Jerusalem. This might be the best of this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NuPlaSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I enetered the reception and asked about the price, when a man at the receptoin desk looked at me and said, that it's very expensive, too expensive for me, and they are fully booked.
I was normally dressed, clean and everything. Rude boor!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Blanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

One of those moneymaking enterprises, with happy owners because Jerusalem beds mean money. 85 Dollars for a tiny room is of course ridiculous... It wasn't even ready to receive guests: no hooks to hang something, no cupboard, no bed lights, and a cess pit for bathroom.
Avoid this place. There are better ones.

Room Tip: Find another hotel... But Jerusalem is expensive, so take your time to read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was there in March for 2 days ... and two days too long. We booked private rooms for 10 people but unfortunately only 4 of us went to them rooms .. the rest was moved to dormitories! First night I spent with my friend with double bed room. The room was dirty and very cold. We had some rainfalls in that time and during the night our room was flooded! The water was coming from the room next door and also leaking from the ceiling directly to our bed ! There was no refund for this horrible conditions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MAREK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Never ever again!
They say that the hostel is even worse but it is hard to believe because the hotel was really a crappy place
A room with a view of the pavement, very little space and no wardrobe and facilities such as hangers
The bathroom was dirty and moldy with a hole in the floor where water was supposed to drain
Do not go there choose a different place in Jerusalem

Room Tip: Sleep in the corridor it looks better than hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beata r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,208 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 100 in Jerusalem
735 reviews
Rob's Hostel
#45 of 75 in Jerusalem
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Jerusalem Hostel
#9 of 75 in Jerusalem
391 reviews
The Post Hostel
#4 of 75 in Jerusalem
298 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#41 of 75 in Jerusalem
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Address: 4-6 Ha'Nevi'im St | Damascus gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: £24 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — New Palm Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Palm Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Palm Hotel And Hostel
New Palm Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing