We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to the old city, that is all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a Palestinian ran hostel. The bottom floor is a produce market but the upper floors a bit cleaner. The room was three single size beds smashed together with a shower room that had a clogged drain. It did have a somewhat clean appearance. The free breakfast was not bad, hard boiled eggs, humus, salsa and bread. The free coffee was instant and not even Nescafé. If you can get this room for under 100 a night, it would be worth it split up by a few people.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank GDGandTBiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

As a frequent traveller, this hostel is the worst so far. From the very first moment you walk into the reception you could tell what kind of hostel it is. The room was dark and filthy. The blanket and the mattress seemed never washed. I was put into a room with a guy who snored terribly. None of us in the room could sleep even we have turned the music loudly. We went to the reception to remind them about our case but they did nothing even though that night the hostel was not full. They could have moved that guy to another empty room so that others could sleep.
Anyway the location is good, it is very close to the Madascus gate which is convenient to access to the old town of Jerusalem

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Being 100 meters from Damascus Gate and the light rail means old Jerusalem is right there and easy to access if your going to spend a lot of time in there. But the hostel itself is noisy (it sits above a small fruit & veggie market), no mirror in the bathroom kind of inconvenience , a few people there complianed about booking one type of room but got something different, its ok but you walk away feeling you've been screwed! I'm not a fussy traveller but this place got under my nose. Prices are negotiable so best to book one or two nights then negotiate a better price once your there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place is the worst thing i ever tried. When we arrive they charge us over double Price of what we have booked it to. We haggle them down so we "only" have to pay 300 nis instead of 180 nis that we booked it to. (That is without breakfast, wifi, coffee ect.) The owner threaden us byt telling us that he will watch us.
The only good thing is the location. But i will never set my foot in that hostel again. So i highly recommend not to stay here, but take one of the hostels inside the old town instead

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were supoosed to spend two nights here in a double room but they made overbooking and all the explanations were lies... The staff tried to be nice and polite but in fact they invited us to look for another place to stay... If you insisted that Jerusalem was fully booked (Easter season) they only could offer a coach or if you were lucky a matress in the dinning-room floor. It was a very bad experience.
I cannot say if rooms are ok because I couldn't see them! But, there is free wi-fi in the hostel building where common areas are fine. The "sharing" bathrooms were dirty. The dinning-room where you can have free breakfast was fine with nice view.
The location, next to Damascus Gate is excellent to visit the Old Jerusalem. This might be the best of this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NuPlaSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I enetered the reception and asked about the price, when a man at the receptoin desk looked at me and said, that it's very expensive, too expensive for me, and they are fully booked.
I was normally dressed, clean and everything. Rude boor!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Blanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

One of those moneymaking enterprises, with happy owners because Jerusalem beds mean money. 85 Dollars for a tiny room is of course ridiculous... It wasn't even ready to receive guests: no hooks to hang something, no cupboard, no bed lights, and a cess pit for bathroom.
Avoid this place. There are better ones.

Room Tip: Find another hotel... But Jerusalem is expensive, so take your time to read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
ג 'ראח
Mount of Olives Hotel
Mount of Olives Hotel
#80 of 100 in Jerusalem
114 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#53 of 100 in Jerusalem
321 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#39 of 100 in Jerusalem
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rob's Hostel
#42 of 71 in Jerusalem
10 reviews
The Post Hostel
#4 of 71 in Jerusalem
283 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#40 of 71 in Jerusalem
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Address: 4-6 Ha'Nevi'im St | Damascus gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: £24 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — New Palm Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Palm Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Palm Hotel Jerusalem
New Palm Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing