We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #48 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Lovely little place in a good location I stayed for a night on my way to Bethlehem, the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Room was good, nice design and clean with all the ammenities, bathroom was also pleasant. Breakfast was really nice and the lady at the front desk rang me to make sure I didn't miss it. Could not recommend enough! There is a bus outside to Damascus gate and the AC was in full working order.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 303 which was great as I had a balcony with a nice view, could hear some traffic bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    58
    10
    16
    5
See reviews for
22
47
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had a great stay at the Commodore Hotel. Do not be alarmed if a Jewish taxi driver is hesitant to take you to East Jerusalem from TLV Airport at 4am. Ours said that the hotel’s location “was like Gaza”, although that could not be farther from the truth. Check-in was easy upon arrival, and the clerk at the front desk gave us an additional discount because we are students. The rooms were spacious and clean – a standard three star hotel. Breakfast was fantastic each morning. There was a wide array of traditional Arab foods, and the service was excellent. The Arab bus 75 goes straight from the hotel to Damascus Gate. Taxis are a cheap option too. We did not feel safe walking to the Old City from this hotel at night. The English skills of the front desk staff were excellent, although the night staff could not speak Hebrew, only Arabic (which is strange considering it’s in Israel…). The hotel arranged a one day trip to Masada and the Dead Sea, which we very much enjoyed.

Our problem with this hotel came at check-out. When we tried to check out, the woman at the front desk abruptly demanded an additional 100 euros from us saying that we paid an incorrect price at check in. We argued for 10 minutes and showed her our receipts before she finally relented. We did feel very intimidated by the staff at this point. I don’t think that experience happens to most travelers, though.

I would recommend the hotel for its excellent value, but be sure to get all of your paperwork and receipts in order when you arrive.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luke5214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed in mid May 2012 with my family. The family room we took was very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the Mormon center with a nice view of jerusalem. Beds are comfortable with super white sheets. The recently renovated well thought of setup room has all amenities we needed such as fridge, hairdryer, safe and of course WiFi. When we first checked in and opened the room, amazingly the whole room lit up automatically for us which my son real liked as a real welcome.
Breakfast is very good and staff were helpful. About 1.5 km away from old city (not far) however be prepared for a steep hill. Bus 75 can be used just outside the hotel incase you prefer not to walk.
Will go there definitely for our next visit to Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the south side face the Mormon center with a view of Jerusalem and Agusta Victoria. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

on mount of olives in a moslim neigbourhood near the mormon organisation, 20 minutes walk from Lion's agte or Herods gate, or direct connection with bus 75.
The hotel offers a good price/quality ratio. The rooms are reasonably big, the AC is working +/- well, the staff is very friendly.
The breakfast is a little bit poor, parking spots are along the busy and noisy street, beware if you have a long car.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjeang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed there for a week and the staff were extremely friendly which made my stay very pleasant. Room service was excellent.I would definitely recommend this place and will be staying there next time I go.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeyad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We (couple) went at the end of January and stayed for two nights. We haggled a bit and got some money off as it was low-season and basically the only ones staying there. It's a nice area to stay in if you're interested in the Arab part of town and also close to the sites on Jabal el Zeytoun. The Old City is approximately 20 minutes away (walking slowly) and we took a taxi to get to the West (about 10 minutes but very expensive heh).

The rooms were extremely clean and modern and when we realised the balcony door didn't look they immediately gave us a new (and better) room. Everybody was extremely friendly and helpful (I don't think there is anything they don't know about Jerusalem) and although I spoke to them in Arabic mostly their English is good too.

The owner is very helpful and makes sure you're comfortable and took us to Gethsemane and sorted us with umbrellas on the rainiest day of my life.

Nearby are two small shops for water and snacks. The breakfast buffet is big and served early and keeps you full for quite a few hours. Also, there is a bus right outside the hotel from Damascus Gate up to Jabal el Zeytoun.

All in all, an excellent hotel (especially for couples) and it made our stay in Jerusalem extra special.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unatucar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#55 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#75 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#37 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 72 Derech E-Tur Shmuel Ben Adaya | AlSawana, Mt Olives, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened on 15th April 2011, the hotel features 45 luxury guest rooms with modern accommodation facilities in an unmatched boutique style interiors styled in contemporary flares with modern conveniences and modern style furniture including:- Electronic door locks- Air Condition- Telephone- 26" LCD TV with 16 satellite channels- Mini-bar- High speed internet. In addition, our skilled chef provides mix of local, oriental and western delicacies in our open buffet restaurant during lunch and dinner times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing