We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently upgraded - needs more work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #54 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,771 helpful votes
“Recently upgraded - needs more work”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Hotel appears to be far out from the Old City but is actually a 10 minute walk from Damascus gate and there is a short cut to avoid the hill. The bus 75 also stops right outside and at NIS5 trip to the Old City - very reasonable and dont waste time or money on a taxi. Rooms have clearly recently been upgraded and are very clean and modern thought the movement sensor is annoying as if watching TV or reading all the power goes off after about 10 minutes and it is a pain to have to keep moving. (But a good ecologiocal trick by the hotel) the balconies are very small and not enough space to have a seat but I guess unnecessary as the views from side and rear are not at all impressive. The exterior desperatelt needs a face lift and the garden area of plastic seating which is unused is wasted that could be valuable space. also a shame that the hotel has no bar as there is nothing close by and they could capitilise and offer a great service. Breakfast is very good with side range of cakes, breads and pastries along with usual salads and cheeses ... coffee not too impressive!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    58
    10
    16
    5
See reviews for
24
48
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great elegant room and very comfortable beds. The front desk staff are very helpful and knowlegable and special thanks to Laila and Nasim. We will be back again as we feel that we have been treated like at home.

Small bathroom but well designed with super strong shower.

Breakfast to european taste with fruits and cakes was just perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noraJamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My sister and cousin stayed at the Commodore Hotel in September/October. We loved it there so much, the location was fantastic, the hotel was awesome, and most of all the staff were tremendous. We loved the receptionist Anetta, she was so lovely and always willing to help us. We had an amazing time in Israel and it was always good to go back to the hotel where the staff were exceptionally good to us. The beds were very comfortable and overall we loved the Commodore Hotel. Anetta YOU ROCK, YOUR THE BEST. Ruby, Katie & Sandra

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubymats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We were a group of three rooms that booked the Commodore on half board basis.

Out stay was just wonderful, excellent rooms with all amenities we would have needed including free WiFi and well designed bathrooms. Very tasty food and cool chef Mohamed.

Single room was a bit small however well decorated.
Family room was huge with balcony overlooking Jerusalem.

Thank you khader and Leila for all the help you provided in touring the city.

Highly recommend this little well designed hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sconners59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very Recommened!!! 1stly people, the staff are very courteous & the most helpful in any place I've traveled. Monty - the owner/manager was extremely kind to me & my husband as we landed on the early morning flight. Khadir - mostly at night at the front desk explained roads & directions (as we rented a car) like google maps & was always obliging & super helpful. The other 2 ladies at the desk - 1 of them Anita.. was also very polite & helpful.
Rooms - very newly done up & the most comfortable beds ever... u just fall asleep like a baby as your head touches the bed. Rooms have everything but a coffee maker (No hotels in Israel have them).
Location - To the left of the hotel is a bus 75 that takes you to Old city - Damascus Gate. To the Right - a bus 75 taking you to Mt. Of Olives.
Hotel - A grocery/ supermarket just outside of the hotel. All Very good breakfast laid out each day with all one would need (Cereal, fruit, salad, eggs, suasages, ham, coffee & toast) in all its a perfect place with amazing staff/ people & very safe too (with parking just outside)!
Free Wifi - & very good speed.... now what more can one ask for!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are newly done up & good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monalisa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Lovely little place in a good location I stayed for a night on my way to Bethlehem, the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Room was good, nice design and clean with all the ammenities, bathroom was also pleasant. Breakfast was really nice and the lady at the front desk rang me to make sure I didn't miss it. Could not recommend enough! There is a bus outside to Damascus gate and the AC was in full working order.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 303 which was great as I had a balcony with a nice view, could hear some traffic bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had a great stay at the Commodore Hotel. Do not be alarmed if a Jewish taxi driver is hesitant to take you to East Jerusalem from TLV Airport at 4am. Ours said that the hotel’s location “was like Gaza”, although that could not be farther from the truth. Check-in was easy upon arrival, and the clerk at the front desk gave us an additional discount because we are students. The rooms were spacious and clean – a standard three star hotel. Breakfast was fantastic each morning. There was a wide array of traditional Arab foods, and the service was excellent. The Arab bus 75 goes straight from the hotel to Damascus Gate. Taxis are a cheap option too. We did not feel safe walking to the Old City from this hotel at night. The English skills of the front desk staff were excellent, although the night staff could not speak Hebrew, only Arabic (which is strange considering it’s in Israel…). The hotel arranged a one day trip to Masada and the Dead Sea, which we very much enjoyed.

Our problem with this hotel came at check-out. When we tried to check out, the woman at the front desk abruptly demanded an additional 100 euros from us saying that we paid an incorrect price at check in. We argued for 10 minutes and showed her our receipts before she finally relented. We did feel very intimidated by the staff at this point. I don’t think that experience happens to most travelers, though.

I would recommend the hotel for its excellent value, but be sure to get all of your paperwork and receipts in order when you arrive.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luke5214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Kaplan Hotel
#59 of 101 in Jerusalem
145 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#57 of 101 in Jerusalem
125 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#56 of 101 in Jerusalem
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#35 of 101 in Jerusalem
659 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#79 of 101 in Jerusalem
163 reviews
Mount of Olives Hotel
#77 of 101 in Jerusalem
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 72 Derech E-Tur Shmuel Ben Adaya | AlSawana, Mt Olives, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened on 15th April 2011, the hotel features 45 luxury guest rooms with modern accommodation facilities in an unmatched boutique style interiors styled in contemporary flares with modern conveniences and modern style furniture including:- Electronic door locks- Air Condition- Telephone- 26" LCD TV with 16 satellite channels- Mini-bar- High speed internet. In addition, our skilled chef provides mix of local, oriental and western delicacies in our open buffet restaurant during lunch and dinner times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodore Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing