We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget stay in Jerusalem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barkai Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barkai Studios
Ranked #16 of 57 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great budget stay in Jerusalem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Lots of B&B owners say it, but this place really is just a short distance from the Old City (right by the Damascus Gate). The place is comfortable and clean, and Ruth is a kind and friendly hostess with good advice. Please remember that this is a budget B&B, not a hotel -- there is no breakfast served, and towels/sheets will not be changed every day. We stayed in the "garden" room, and found it very pleasant.

The place warrants four-and-a-half stars, but given the choice between four and five I rounded down to four, because we found ourselves wanting to use wifi but unable much of the time (the signal from her router is weak, and when we could catch it at all it was only a bar or two, and for that we often had to sit on the patio outside of the room). This is a small thing, yes, but it is a small thing that can make a real difference. If you will need net access, please ask Ruth about the state -- she is a very responsive hostess, and I would not be surprised if after this comment is written she figures out how to boost the signal from her router.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dio1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
24
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

during november 2012 i stay with my wife in jerusalem. we choose to stay in barkai stodios.
it was awonderfull 10 days. the rooms are nice and cleen. the area is old and full with nice old jerusalem-houses. it is realy easy by walking to get to the old city and to all sites and also to the jerusalem inner train. there is always hot water, internet and ruth is akind lady that can help you choose good sites and explain where to go and how to plan. we left back to hongkong with good memories.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I was a single woman traveling alone, and so my highest priorities were for a safe place in a good location. Barkai Studios met my needs. I walked in the neighborhood day or night and felt perfectly safe. The studio is located in a charming neighborhood about a 6 or 7-minute walk from Damascus Gate. There are small grocery stores nearby, as well as bus stops and a convenient Jerusalem Light Rail stop. Ruth is available to answer questions, assist with phone calls and she provides maps and directions. I stayed in Studio A for three weeks and would stay there again if I returned to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaGrad1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Not only is this place the perfect location to visit the Old City as well as other parts of Jerusalem using the nearby trams, the studio B that we stayed for the 8 nights was just the best place for us during our Holy Land visit! We find this place very functional and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped with amenities such as saran wraps and aluminum foils so we could make our own sandwiches during our day tours. Coffee, tea, a jar of local jam, butter and fresh milk for the coffee were provided. Even though there is no air-conditioning, the electrics fans worked well to keep us cool. We used this place as our base and traveled out on day tours during the week. While visiting the Old City for the full day, we would take a break at noon, pick up some food and come back for our rest and nap before we ventured out again later in the afternoon! Indeed this is not a hotel, and that's what made our stay at this interesting neighborhood so much fun! Most likely it is the adventuresome tourists who would come to appreciate a place like this! Rutie went out of her way to make sure we would get to the airport on time to catch our 6:40AM flight. We enjoyed visiting with her and she is most helpful and a very hospitable lady. She brought us fresh bread on our arrival! We went back to the same bakery almost every day during our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

In June 2012 my wife, our grandson and I stayed in one of the studios of Rut Barkai. We thoroughly enjoyed the house - constructed around 1870 in one of the oldest neighborhoods of West-Jerusalem -, the studio which provided us well with all we needed, the garden - shady and hidden with old trees, birds, flowers and pieces of ceramic artwork done by Rut Barkai, the vicinity - small alleys with strolling cats, some people from time to time and sphardic music from out of the open windows of a school - and the friendly and well informed hospitality of our host. Distance to Damascus Gate/New Gate and to Jaffa Street are equally short. A place we would like to come back to as soon as ever possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Ulrich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Barkai apartments, near the old city, are a true gem. Ruth, the host, is filled with interesting suggestions, and is well connected to the local art community. I highly recommend these apartments.

Room Tip: the garden apartment and studio B are my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royaloakmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Budget-priced, clean & comfortable accomodations in Ruth's house in fantastic location within close walking distance to the Old City in one direction & Jaffa Street in the other. Located in the Morasha/Musrara neighborhood on a charming stone alleyway, very quiet & peaceful. Ruth is a ceramic artist and a wonderful person, who is very helpful and generous with her time. I would rate this as an excellent place to stay if you want to experience real life in Jerusalem away from the bustle of hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank samuelkrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#10 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#16 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#22 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#7 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barkai Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkai Studios

Property: Barkai Studios
Address: 9 Khulda ha-Nevi'a, Jerusalem 9511009, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three beautiful studio apartments, suitable for up to 4 people. Great location in beautiful, quiet, historic Musrara neighborhood, 5 minute walk to the old city and the holly places and a ten minute walk to city center and its shopping districts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing