We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely guest house near Jerusalem in beautiful Mevaserret Zion”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose of Castel Residence
Ranked #45 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Negril, Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Homely guest house near Jerusalem in beautiful Mevaserret Zion”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Friendly owners greeted me and showed me to a delightful room with ensuite. The location is ideal for a stay in the Jerusalem area. Managed by Scandinavians with great attention to detail. Lovely pool and gardens with a bbq (non kosher meals provided)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Movesnegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Only stayed 2 nights but thoroughly enjoyed it. Had suite which was very roomy, bright and clean. Finnish ladies running the establishment were most friendly and hospitable.They even gave us a lift to the shopping centre to get a meal one evening.The breakfast is extremely good. Buses go from nearby down into the city, taxi can be called from local resident at reasonable price. Can thoroughly recommend Rose of Castel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Translocator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

I have been many times in Rose of Castel. The place is run by a group of Finnish people. It is located in a lovely area (Mevaseret Zion) very close to Jerusalem, either by car or by the bus (the bus stop is 3 min walk from the residence) which will leave you in the center (close to the Central Bus station).

The residence is peaceful and the atmosphere is friendly. The garden and swimming pool are very nice and I really enjoyed getting a cold swim after very hot days.

The breakfast is superb, and if you have the chance to stay on a Shabath, you will enjoy even a better one, acompanied with their beautiful cups.

There are 5 rooms, each one has its colour. The rooms are well equipped, with microwave oven, refrigerator and some items to prepare your own food. They do not have restaurant, so you will need to have your own food or visit villages in the nearby for lunch or dinner (they recommended some restaurants in En Kerem, really nice ones!).

Oh, and I forgot! They also have a finnish sauna, which you can reserve once per staying. I will be in Castel next time I visit Israel!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pegece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

At USD 80 a night for two weeknights before Passover, my fiancée and I were really pleased with the Rose of Castel Guesthouse. The inn-keeper, Helena, was a Finnish woman, who works as a nurse in Finland but was here on a rotation meant to preserve and operate the guesthouse. We booked directly with her through email. She speaks perfect English and was knowledgeable about the area. The residence caters to a European crowd (mostly other Finns).

Location
The guesthouse itself is situated on a hilly corner plot (about the size of a tennis court) in the residential neighborhood of Maoz Zion. Their website has great directions. Located about four minutes from the exit ramp of Highway 1, the residence is roughly 15 minutes by car to downtown Jerusalem (both new and old cities). Parking: There is a space for two cars, however one car ends up blocking the other. However, parking on the side streets of the town seemed available and secure. The town itself has a shopping mall on the other side of the highway as well as supermarkets on their side. You could take a five minute uphill walk to these stores. Most people in the town spoke fluent English.

Rooms
There are probably three or four rooms in total at the guesthouse. We stayed in the first one on the ground level. The room was small but included an en suite bathroom (with separated shower). The shower had instant hot water and good pressure. The room was clean and in a pastel/Victorian decor. Helena had provided us fresh fruits and a large bottle of mineral water in the mini-fridge. There was no TV. We tested the air conditioning and heating and can say that both worked. The bed was low to the ground and comfortably accommodated us both.

Amenities
The guesthouse has a pool (in the shape of Finland). The pool is not heated and there is no Jacuzzi (rather, a small child's pool). Helena will ask you what time you want breakfast served (anywhere from 8 to 10). Breakfast was informal but wonderful and included cheeses, cereal, pies, eggs, fish, bread, jams, juices, and other assorted items. There was definitely a Finnish flair to the offering. Like many of their guests, I felt like we were in Europe.

Conclusion

The quality of accommodation for the price is incredible. Provided you have a rental car, Rose of Castel is truly a gem. It was our favorite place to stay during our travels in Israel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Caesar Premier Jerusalem
#13 of 101 in Jerusalem
661 reviews
Avital House
#72 of 101 in Jerusalem
22 reviews
Mount Zion Hotel
#19 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,777 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
406 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#27 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose of Castel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose of Castel Residence

Property: Rose of Castel Residence
Address: 3 Ha-Zayit, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Guesthouse for short and long stays. Rose of Castel-Residence is a small and cozy guesthouse in Mevasseret Zion overlooking a tranquil nature park. Run by Finnish people, it offers accommodation in a Finnish atmosphere. The apartments are beautifully decorated; air-conditioned/heated, toilet and shower en-suite, kitchenette, refrigerator, microwave oven and facilities to prepare your own meals. They are suitable also for families. Breakfast is rich, in Scandinavian style, including homemade bread and bakery, Finnish jams and coffee; served in an atmospheric dining room viewing the garden. Our guests may pamper themselves in the sauna, refresh in the outdoor swimming pool or simply relax in the garden. The spacious lobby serves also as TV room, and has a children's corner,a small library and a piano. Outside the garden gate you'll find the ideal starting point for strolls, hikes or mountain-bike routes in the Nahal Sorek with its marked trails surrounded with nature (Bike storage provided). Other services available: laundry, wireless internet, coffee-house by order. All areas are non smoking and alcoholic beverages are not permitted. We welcome you to the Rose of Castel-Residence! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing