We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“suitable for families with little children”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose of Castel Residence
Ranked #39 of 57 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“suitable for families with little children”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in this place. First of all it is quite difficult to find. Very narrow street, which makes parking difficult. We received a nice and clean suite but no TV about which we were not notified before. Breakfast OK, nothing special. Service is nice. Small swimming pool is a real asset, especially if you are coming with children. The distance from Jerusalem is not far, but because of the many traffic jams, not convenient to go back in the afternoon for a rest and return again to Jerusalem. Again, I would not recommend the place if you want to spend all your time in Jerusalem. No TV in the room is really ridiculous nowadays.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabineIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Very pleasant and helpful Scandinavians run this small guest house. It is outside Jerusalem so a car is essential. We paid off-season prices which were reasonable for Jerusalem. The whole place is very attractive and well kept. Our bedroom was very pretty but had twin beds, one of which wasn't so comfortable. The room had a small fridge with everything needed to make coffee or tea and also some fresh fruit. Breakfast wasn't lavish but very fresh and totally adequate and the small dining room is very pleasant. Other reviewers have covered all the pros and cons.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Not too far from Jerusalem (you need a car!), you'll find this nice and different Zimmer run by people from Finland which spend a 3 month period in Israel (so part of the reviews about the people that run the place may not be so relevant). We were attended by a nice woman who showed the place around and told us about them a bit - she spoke well English, but no Hebrew at all. She didn't forgot to tell us again that drinking (alcohol) and smoking is forbidden in the whole area (inside and outside).
We got the big rooms (we were 2 couples), the "suites". They were very nice and really big, with a balcony and a sitting place, but they need some better maintenance, specially painting here and there. The beds were good and comfortable.
Breakfast at Saturday (Sabbath) morning was good, tasty and nice served. Different in comparison with other hotels/zimmers, not large quantities but as this place is not kosher, they can prepare it on the spot and not just warm it up.
They have a Sauna that looks nice, but we didn't use it because you have to request about an hour in advance in order to heat it, so we skip it. They also have a nice looking swimming pool but as it is not heated and can be used it only during the summer, we only took pictures of it.
They have only 1 room with a TV set, not very important and we didn't care, but you should know it.
The price for a "suite" is very expensive - over $170 per night!; the smaller or regular rooms, which they told us they weren't available, are a bit less - $130. For Israel, this is more or less average, but still... By the way, they prefer to be paid in cash (I was remembered by the lady more than twice and by a phone call before our arrival).
All in all, we had a nice stay, but I'm not 100% sure I will come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose_of_Castel, team member at Rose of Castel Residence, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your review on our small place in the Judean Mountains!
Through our hostel we want to bring a taste of Scandinavia to Israel, so that the people staying there can feel themselves warmly welcome, and experience the hospitality.
We are aware of the mentioned renovation needs and we are currently working on them. We appreciate your feedback and take it seriously.
Welcome again,
Rose of Castel –Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Friendly owners greeted me and showed me to a delightful room with ensuite. The location is ideal for a stay in the Jerusalem area. Managed by Scandinavians with great attention to detail. Lovely pool and gardens with a bbq (non kosher meals provided)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Movesnegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

Only stayed 2 nights but thoroughly enjoyed it. Had suite which was very roomy, bright and clean. Finnish ladies running the establishment were most friendly and hospitable.They even gave us a lift to the shopping centre to get a meal one evening.The breakfast is extremely good. Buses go from nearby down into the city, taxi can be called from local resident at reasonable price. Can thoroughly recommend Rose of Castel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Translocator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

I have been many times in Rose of Castel. The place is run by a group of Finnish people. It is located in a lovely area (Mevaseret Zion) very close to Jerusalem, either by car or by the bus (the bus stop is 3 min walk from the residence) which will leave you in the center (close to the Central Bus station).

The residence is peaceful and the atmosphere is friendly. The garden and swimming pool are very nice and I really enjoyed getting a cold swim after very hot days.

The breakfast is superb, and if you have the chance to stay on a Shabath, you will enjoy even a better one, acompanied with their beautiful cups.

There are 5 rooms, each one has its colour. The rooms are well equipped, with microwave oven, refrigerator and some items to prepare your own food. They do not have restaurant, so you will need to have your own food or visit villages in the nearby for lunch or dinner (they recommended some restaurants in En Kerem, really nice ones!).

Oh, and I forgot! They also have a finnish sauna, which you can reserve once per staying. I will be in Castel next time I visit Israel!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pegece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

At USD 80 a night for two weeknights before Passover, my fiancée and I were really pleased with the Rose of Castel Guesthouse. The inn-keeper, Helena, was a Finnish woman, who works as a nurse in Finland but was here on a rotation meant to preserve and operate the guesthouse. We booked directly with her through email. She speaks perfect English and was knowledgeable about the area. The residence caters to a European crowd (mostly other Finns).

Location
The guesthouse itself is situated on a hilly corner plot (about the size of a tennis court) in the residential neighborhood of Maoz Zion. Their website has great directions. Located about four minutes from the exit ramp of Highway 1, the residence is roughly 15 minutes by car to downtown Jerusalem (both new and old cities). Parking: There is a space for two cars, however one car ends up blocking the other. However, parking on the side streets of the town seemed available and secure. The town itself has a shopping mall on the other side of the highway as well as supermarkets on their side. You could take a five minute uphill walk to these stores. Most people in the town spoke fluent English.

Rooms
There are probably three or four rooms in total at the guesthouse. We stayed in the first one on the ground level. The room was small but included an en suite bathroom (with separated shower). The shower had instant hot water and good pressure. The room was clean and in a pastel/Victorian decor. Helena had provided us fresh fruits and a large bottle of mineral water in the mini-fridge. There was no TV. We tested the air conditioning and heating and can say that both worked. The bed was low to the ground and comfortably accommodated us both.

Amenities
The guesthouse has a pool (in the shape of Finland). The pool is not heated and there is no Jacuzzi (rather, a small child's pool). Helena will ask you what time you want breakfast served (anywhere from 8 to 10). Breakfast was informal but wonderful and included cheeses, cereal, pies, eggs, fish, bread, jams, juices, and other assorted items. There was definitely a Finnish flair to the offering. Like many of their guests, I felt like we were in Europe.

Conclusion

The quality of accommodation for the price is incredible. Provided you have a rental car, Rose of Castel is truly a gem. It was our favorite place to stay during our travels in Israel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
0.3 mi away
Caesar Premier Jerusalem
Caesar Premier Jerusalem
#5 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avital House
Avital House
#69 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jerusalem Gate Hotel
Jerusalem Gate Hotel
#79 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prima Palace
Hotel Prima Palace
#42 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose of Castel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose of Castel Residence

Property: Rose of Castel Residence
Address: 3 Zayit St., Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Guesthouse for short and long stays. Rose of Castel-Residence is a small and cozy guesthouse in Mevasseret Zion overlooking a tranquil nature park. Run by Finnish people, it offers accommodation in a Finnish atmosphere. The apartments are beautifully decorated; air-conditioned/heated, toilet and shower en-suite, kitchenette, refrigerator, microwave oven and facilities to prepare your own meals. They are suitable also for families. Breakfast is rich, in Scandinavian style, including homemade bread and bakery, Finnish jams and coffee; served in an atmospheric dining room viewing the garden. Our guests may pamper themselves in the sauna, refresh in the outdoor swimming pool or simply relax in the garden. The spacious lobby serves also as TV room, and has a children's corner,a small library and a piano. Outside the garden gate you'll find the ideal starting point for strolls, hikes or mountain-bike routes in the Nahal Sorek with its marked trails surrounded with nature (Bike storage provided). Other services available: laundry, wireless internet, coffee-house by order. All areas are non smoking and alcoholic beverages are not permitted. We welcome you to the Rose of Castel-Residence! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing