We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Great Choice with misleading amenities”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #88 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Not a Great Choice with misleading amenities”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is its closeness to the old city, Rockefeller Museum, Garden Tomb and walkable to the Mount of Olives, City of David and west Jerusalem. There are also numerous Arabic shops and restaurants nearby. Otherwise, not much else is up to modern tourist standards (for westerners at least) and many of their listed features are misleading:

"Each room is furnished with a mini-bar, cable TV, IDD telephone, and Internet access."
- Does an empty mini-fridge classify as a mini-bar? Not to me.
- Cable TV was a grand total of TWO stations, RAI (Italian) plus a shopping channel - which after 11 pm SHOCKINGLY turns into a PORN movie ad channel (with the good parts blurred out); so that means basically NO in room TV (unless you understand Italian or like porn movie ads). When I complained about TV choice, they said the system is being worked on and we may have more channels later today (after 48 hours - no new channels); what a disaster and terribly misleading
- NO internet access of any kind possible except in the lobby ... another major misleading feature

"Other thoughtful amenities include a room safe, luggage rack, and writing desk & chair."
- no in room safe
- the luggage rack is used for the mini-fridge as its table, so that is useless
- the tiny desk had a tiny stool (no chair)

"To make your stay even more enjoyable, welcome drinks and fresh fruit plates are provided. Complimentary breakfast is served as well."
- absolutely no hint of welcome drinks or fresh fruit offered to me or any other guest; why do they make this up?

Other comments:
- the furnishings are 100 years out of date and very tacky/stale
- the towels are cardboard
- the soap is the tiniest sliver which is impossible to use for a shower (bring your own real soap)
- the halls, restaurant and public areas are need of maintenance and repairs all over the place (although not exactly falling down, I have seen much worse elsewhere)
- same goes for the rooms, being in terrible shape (paint peeling, electric sockets/switches falling apart, drapes torn, etc.)
- I was brought to my room by some husky, sloppy worker who acted as bell hop (which I didn't need or wanted) who spoke no English - a rather shocking and odd first impression; I little found out he also cleaned/made up the rooms so he was doing double duty
- breakfast was quite OK with pancakes, hard boiled eggs, mini hot dogs, fruit, watery juices, bread and jam, hot mlk, tea but no REAL coffee (just instant - gross!)
- large screen lobby TV with only 2 English channels (BBC News and a movie channel MAX) and numerous Arabic channels which the owners/employees like to watch
- the Bar/Coffee Shop looks pretty good from the door but never went inside - I didn't think they deserved my patronage
- cleanliness in the room was adequate
- value is poor with all these issues

Long and short - stay away. There are many alternatives both close and farther away from the old city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    39
    49
    29
    22
See reviews for
34
36
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Hallo, I stayed often in Jerusalem and know some of the hotels there.I really did not like the place and also the part where the hotel is. Better pay a bit more and stay in a nicer place. The breakfast is very basic. The rooms etc not nice. To me it is strange that they don´t give a better breakfast and don´t invest money in the hotel to make it nicer. There are worse places in Jerusalem, but for the price they charge: not worth it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The best thing about the hotel is its location. Less than 5 minutes walk to Damascus gate and near restaurants and shops and a fruit market. Our room was clean with a balcony, which was just perfect. It is situated in the Arab part of the city so it can be a bit noisy with some specific smell, but you can not avoid it in Jerusalem.
We did not find the staff very friendly and helpful. I asked them where I could get some wine and they said that in this part of the city only in their bar which was not true. We found a shop selling alcohol just 10 minutes walk from the hotel in Navrouz road, twice cheaper than in their bar. It spoilt the impression a bit. But all in all we enjoyed our stay and I would recomend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrinaPoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francescas, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

we stayed for vacation in Jerusalem for the weekwnd .
The staff is very kind , speak arabic , english , french , hebrow !!
The rooms are spaceous
The breakfast is excellent
I highly recommend this hotel for tourist coming to hotel to the old city

Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dominika p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I stayed at the Capitol Hotel this past August for about five nights. My stay there was wonderful. We had our rooms cleaned every day, great breakfast and the staff was very pleasant. The hotel may not be the most up-to-date but it's a good bang for your buck. Stay here.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank GermanHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillerod, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Even if the hotel has seen better days, - it is pretty worn out, - the experience was good.
The people taken care of the hotel are friendly and helpful.
The location is almost perfect - 5 min walk to the old city.
A bit of noise, but that MUST be the case in whole Jerusalem.
Muslims minarets, Christian bells, Arab car-horns, - never sleeps at the same time ..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel oct 2012, just for one night, thank goodness it was just one night. It was not as per the Internet pictures. Our room was dirty, sockets and switches hanging off the walls. The lamp was broken but somehow still managed to work. The bathroom whilst it had been cleaned had small insects crawling on the floor. The furniture was dated and dirty. There was nothing good I could say about this hotel except the reception staff greeted you with a smile. Not a good experience at all. My advice is do not rely on the pictures you will be disappointed! If you like to feel comfortable, clean and safe this is not the hotel for you, sorry!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yasmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#45 of 99 in Jerusalem
229 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#57 of 99 in Jerusalem
123 reviews
Holy Land Hotel
#62 of 99 in Jerusalem
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
648 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 99 in Jerusalem
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Property: Capitol Hotel
Address: 17 Salah Eddin St. | P.O.Box 19459, Jerusalem 9119302, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem’s consider a truly rewarding experience and visit Jerusalem and The Holy Land, and witness with your own senses the places where the monumental events of the Old & New Testament took place, a land not of rocky ruins, but great historical areas and archeological wonder. For a most convenient Central Location in the heart of East Jerusalem the Capitol Hotel is ideally located two minutes walk from the ancient and loved Walls & Gates of Jerusalem, The Mount Of Olives, Mount Zion and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing