We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at Home 7,000 Miles Away”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #87 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I recently traveled to Jerusalem and all over Israel and stayed at this hotel three different times. Their motto is "Service is not our job, it is our way of life", and they live it through and through.

STAFF- Very friendly, very welcoming, and very helpful. Everyone I interacted with spoke English. Montaser, who worked overnight, greeted us every morning and every evening as we came and left the hotel. He was very informative about the area and really made us feel like we were the most important guests in the hotel. Mohamad was incredibly kind and always anticipated our needs. The two girls at the front desk, Areen and Hilimat, were always so pleasant and accommodating.

PROPERTY- We stayed in three different rooms three times. Two faced the front of the hotel and looked out over Jerusalem. All three rooms were clean and had plenty of space for 5 large suitcases, items from shopping, and for my wife and daughter (mind you, I am 6'3").

LOCATION- The hotel is a five minute walk from Damascus Gate. There is a candy shop/ grocery store on the corner of the road that heads towards the Old City. Parking can be next to the hotel but there is cheaper parking up the street from the hotel. The hotel is located off of the main street so noise is not a problem. It is in a safe area with a police station less than a block away.

This will be the hotel I stay at every time I come to Jerusalem. A hotel where you leave feeling rested, satisfied, free of worry, and having made new friends is what makes a hotel 5 stars in my book, and the Capitol Hotel Jerusalem delivered just that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Find the closest "shwarma" stand. Best shwarma sandwich I...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stkuehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Capitol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We travelled in march 2012.
We originally were supposed to stay in an apartment but that was horrible so got in a taxi and was advised to stay here.
Excellent customer service and very friendly staff who speak good english.
Breakfast was very nice but limited which is understandable.
Location is excellent, 5 min walk from old city which is the main reason we traveleld so was very happy with that.
The rooms were very spacious- we stayed as family of 5, the only issue was it got quite cold at night but we were given extra blankets for this.
The hotel is opposite atm machine, banks and eating places so if you are hungry you only have to walk 2 minutes and you are there.
Overall excellent hotel and would be happy to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMJASIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

In a small crescent just behind the main East Jerusalem shopping street of Salah Addin, the Capitol Hotel is in a great location, only five minutes from the Old City, but out of the hustle and bustle. The entrance hall is particularly welcoming and a good place to meet and chat to fellow travellers. The quality of the rooms and bathrooms is variable as refurbishment happens slowly, but this is more than made up for by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, who were simply excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gwithian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Capitol has one oif the best staff i have ever come across. We arrived 12hrs late due to border issues and they kept our dinner warm until pass 1am the morning. The rooms are bit small and the bathroom is not as modern, but it serves it's purpose as a bathroom :)
The food was different as i could not eat anymore olives, tomotoes and cucumber. Less than 5min walk to Masjied Al Aqsa. I love the fact there is a candy shop on the corner.

Room Tip: Kindly note there is no swimming pool and no kids entertainment. No tv in the rooms. Take a room tha...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ateekah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Only 5mn from the Old City, but still in a quiet neighbourood. Rooms (at least mine) would urgely necessit a large refreshment. Wifi didn't work perfectly (I was at the 3rd floor), but the hall at the entrance is so nice that I spent most of my "Internet time" there. Breakfast is average and staff is helpfull. Not a first choice, but for that price in that city, choices are very rare.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph_Paris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The hotel is old and in need of refurbishment but the location is great as is close to Herod gate. the people were friendly. The decor needs upgrading but considering the price it is good value given how expensive other accommodation is.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwifamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We arrived early evening on Valentine's day 2013. The shuttle bus dropped us miles from the hotel we then struggled to find it !! . When we arrived at our original hotel The Metrople we had booked and paid for through Expedia. We were informed our room had water damage due to renovation and we were being moved to The Capital !!!! So we dragged our bags up the hill to our new hotel which we were reliablely informed was of a very good standard ????

upon arrival the nightmare began the receptionist tried to sell us every trip under the sun which quite frankly we were not in the mood for ,we were then shown to our room , as we got out of the lift the ceiling was falling in ,the electric sockets were hanging off the wall , the room was something from a 1970s sit com , fawlty towers.!!!! My advise avoid at all costs .

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kay n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Metropole Hotel
Jerusalem Metropole Hotel
#91 of 101 in Jerusalem
38 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#49 of 101 in Jerusalem
231 reviews
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
#71 of 101 in Jerusalem
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#59 of 101 in Jerusalem
126 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
674 reviews
Holy Land Hotel
#61 of 101 in Jerusalem
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Address: 17 Salah Eddin St. | P.O.Box 19459, Jerusalem 9119302, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £60 - £878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem’s consider a truly rewarding experience and visit Jerusalem and The Holy Land, and witness with your own senses the places where the monumental events of the Old & New Testament took place, a land not of rocky ruins, but great historical areas and archeological wonder. For a most convenient Central Location in the heart of East Jerusalem the Capitol Hotel is ideally located two minutes walk from the ancient and loved Walls & Gates of Jerusalem, The Mount Of Olives, Mount Zion and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing