We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capitol near Old Jerusalem”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #88 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Lunde, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Capitol near Old Jerusalem”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is an old hotel, but has everything needed for a trip to Jerusalem. It lies in East Jerusalem, and it's easy to come to all the holy places you want to see in Jerusalem. Only 5-10 minutes walk, and you're straight into the Old Jerusalem. The rooms are avarage, with air condition and okay bathrooms. The beds are the best I've slept in at a hotel of this catagory. I slept well every night, and I have a lot of pain so I normally don't sleep well, but here I did. The breakfast is just what you need for a good start of the day - a little bit international, and a little bit Arabic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    39
    49
    29
    22
See reviews for
34
36
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
1,280 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A video is worth a thousand words.

http://youtu.be/K1n2iFRW9_0

This hotel is a filthy dump. When I checked in the bathroom floor was covered in water. The bellman saw it and ignored it. I flushed the toilet and sewage water gushed out of the toilet base. The toilet should have been replaced 30 years ago. It was covered in slime and completely corroded through. When I brought this to the manager's attention he insisted that I should leave the room for 20 minutes while they replaced the toilet. I suggested they move me to another room, but he refused saying "No more rooms." I left for 90 minutes and came back to find someone still chopping away at the slimy toilet. The manager said 10 more minutes. 45 minutes later I came back and they said "Okay, we'll move you to another room."

This hotel is dangerous and filthy. They were willing to rent me a room with the toilet shown in the video.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It was OK for that price but it could be better.
First I asked for a quiet room but was given the room on the first floor in the beginning of the corridor. I could hear everything.
It was a bit dirty but the linen was clean - it was good.
Yes, everything was very very old. Water pressure was awful and the tabs were not cleaned for ages but everything worked and I was able to have shower.
Breakfast was fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Location is just amazing and, to be honest, I got the most important things - clean bed, hot breakfast, shower and good service. I am going to Jerusalem in December again and I will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I'm not going to sugar coat it. The rooms are serviceable but do not qualify as nice. It's very old an shows it. It's clear that it was fairly nice a long time ago, so it has all the amenities. The staff was very nice and helpful — the manager even help me with a dispute over a taxi fare. They set up a the next taxi with minimal fuss. The dinning room is nice for the area. The food is standard Middle Eastern fare — bland but good in it's own way. It's a good price and a great location right next to the old city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jery P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Where to begin....this hotel is older and not in very good condition. I have stayed in older hotels before but they were clean. The room was very small and the furniture was very dated - think 70s velvet. There was a television but there was no remote...which turned out to be a good thing since it didn't work anyway. The bathroom was dirty - the bottom of the shower curtain was black with mold/mildew and the water coming out of the shower was like someone pouring water over your head. There was also construction of kind taking place down the hall so their was furniture everywhere, tons of paint fumes and cigarette smoke from the workers wafted down into the room. Three separate cab drivers asked how we ended up there. There are much better options, cleaner and safer, in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roxy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Staff is friendly and helpful. the location great, close to the herod's gate. But the rooms are not clean, bathroom are old, chalk all over the tap and the bath. A lot of bleach and a good scrub would do much good. Breakfast is basic compared with other places.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Desert, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel I would not recommended to anyone they have bad service and when u want to pay extra person they would not let you at all...I would defently not stay at this hotel ever again!!!..when u want your money back they would not give it back to its a good location but the service and everything else is bad...not staying at this hotel ever again. ...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilefun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#45 of 99 in Jerusalem
229 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#57 of 99 in Jerusalem
123 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#77 of 99 in Jerusalem
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
648 reviews
Holy Land Hotel
#62 of 99 in Jerusalem
143 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Property: Capitol Hotel
Address: 17 Salah Eddin St. | P.O.Box 19459, Jerusalem 9119302, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem’s consider a truly rewarding experience and visit Jerusalem and The Holy Land, and witness with your own senses the places where the monumental events of the Old & New Testament took place, a land not of rocky ruins, but great historical areas and archeological wonder. For a most convenient Central Location in the heart of East Jerusalem the Capitol Hotel is ideally located two minutes walk from the ancient and loved Walls & Gates of Jerusalem, The Mount Of Olives, Mount Zion and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing