We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mamilla”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mamilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mamilla Hotel
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mamilla”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the Mamilla hotel in Jerusalem. the location is great and there is a very nice street near the hotel , nice shopping. The hotel is cleen but the rooms are small and they are very expencive , to much. And we had a mistake with our rate. the resrvation was wrong

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andre k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    282
    112
    55
    48
See reviews for
347
529
71
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The location is perfect,and the hotel is beautiful. Otherwise it is a little lacking. The service is friendly but ineffective. At checking the host did not lift her head to greet us,continuing a conversation with a colleague. Then the restaurant and guide reservations we had made could not be found on the computer system. We were given ridiculous complicated directions to a restaurant that turned out to be down the block. The room lighting system was never explained on check in.The beds were also very uncomfortable. There was always a wait at front desk and concierge desk. It is just a little off which is a shame.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Mamilla Hotel we thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your feedback. Your comments are very valuable to us and we take them seriously.
We strive to provide exceptional hospitality experience and maintain a high level of services. We will make sure the appropriate changes will be implemented.

Your comments were passed on to the managers in charge of the matter in the intent to ensure that your next visit will be flawless.

It will be our pleasure to host you again;

Mamilla Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and were guests of Mamilla Hotel for one night earlier this month. The hotel was recommended by a friend who stayed there last year. We were greeted warmly at reception both by the check-in staff and the concierge, whom we wanted to confirm a dinner reservation request we made by e-mail earlier in the week. We had been told about the modern room layout and accommodations, so there were no surprises when guest services escorted us to our room (for those intimidated by a bathroom separated only by glass from the sleeping area, not to worry, a convenient flip of a switch and the glass becomes opaque - very high tech). Adding to the benefit of a stay at Mamilla Hotel is its location - literally turn left at the front entrance, walk down the stairs and you enter a modern shopping district which ends with another set of stairs at the Jaffa Gate entrance to the Old City - spectacular!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNick1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing your kind comments. Mamilla hotel strives to provide excellent service and your positive words are much of a value to our team.
It will be our pleasure to host you again.

Mamilla Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Excellent Hotel! My husband and I stayed here one night during our last trip. By far, this hotel has the best lobby, excellent service and great rooms. We chose the small studio room for two (great king bed) and it was perfect. Of course, it's not huge but plent of room for two large suitcases.

Mamilla Cafe had great wine and bread and dinner on the RoofTop restaurant was great. We had two pasta dishes that were good. Views from the RoofTop are wonderful but it was enclosed with clear tents to keep you warm. Would be even more fabulous in the summer. Hotel is kosher so coffee bar and breakfast is served but limited on Sabbath (but nearly all jerusalem hotels are kosher - no real issue).

You can valet or park next door at the mall if you want to save on money. There is a grocery store and tons of shops next door that stay open late for convenience.

Will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonisraeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Our sincere gratitude for the wonderful comments you wrote about your experience at the Mamilla hotel. It encourages us to continue improving ourselves in providing our guests with a unique experience.
It will be our pleasure to host you again.

Mamilla Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Steene
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

If you enjoy small dark rooms, believing the word "boutique" means anything other than some interior designer let loose, this is the place for you. If however you want to be able to have space in a room, think wet rooms only belong in hospitals, and homes for the elderly, this is not the place for you.
The KD, and David's Citadel are both in the same street, and offer bigger, brighter rooms, at a similar price.
Getting older has its advantages. Poor service is no longer taken lying down. The waiter shrugging the shoulders, or pretending not to understand, can and were promptly dealt with by George, the excellent On Duty Manager, but why do so many of you think these small rooms, with gimmicky glass between you and the toilet is acceptable. I want thick walls with a lock. I want a shower cubicle,not a "wet room" with shower heads that spray water everywhere, and I want staff who only need to pretend they care. So, sorry Mamilla Hotel, your position is great, but the rest is presentation over substance.
Oh, I forgot to mention, why is the bed so low, and then when you get down almost onto the floor so hard?

Room Tip: Pay for a suite. Room 428 is smaller than the airing cupboard at home, but Room 407, a suite, better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steeneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Mamilla Hotel we thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your feedback. Your comments are very valuable to us and we take them seriously.

We strive to provide exceptional hospitality experience and maintain a high level of services. We will make sure the appropriate changes will be implemented.
With that been said, we would like to clarify some information to avoid misunderstandings.

The light in the room has a dimmer and someone that is not familiar with the system, might think that there is only soft light in the room.
The bathroom opaque system as well as the low European style bed is part of the design and it is a matter of taste. As for the bathroom door, it has a lock.
The waiter truly did not understand the request probably due to a language barrier and I do apologize for any inconvenience.
It will be our pleasure to host you again.
Mamilla Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I wanted to love this place so badly. We were soooooo excited to be staying here.
I travelled with my family and we stayed in interconnecting rooms for one week in January.
Firstly, the position is outstanding- nothing compares.
Secondly, the staff are incredibly eager to help and have plenty of great suggestions.
All the public area's are modern, clean and extremely inviting (pool, bar, dining areas, breakfast and lobby.)
Yes, the rooms are small. However this made no difference (we do not travel light 4people/6suitcases+) as the room were spotless and beautiful.
In sum, my family loved everything about this hotel except for one major flaw that really ruined our stay.
The beds were as hard as a rock and the pillows were pathetic. It got to a stage that we "almost" moved hotels just for this reason. We ended up requesting extra doonas for all of us to lay ontop of. Hardly acceptable for a hotel of this quality and price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geyal, E-Commerce Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Mamilla Hotel we thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your feedback. Your comments are very valuable to us and we take them seriously.
We strive to provide exceptional hospitality experience and maintain a high level of services. We will make sure the appropriate changes will be implemented.

It will be our pleasure to host you again; your comments were passed on to the managers in charge of the matter in the intent to ensure that your next visit will be flawless.

Mamilla Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elstree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

easy to find and really is the closest place to old city. Don't be fooled by films depicting jerusalem in the middle ages - it is very hilly and the road system does have to go around a bit to get you 'in'. So even more excellent that Mamilla is near and on the same level as Jaffa gate.
The car park underneath is very convenient and safe. The rooms are very interesting and the decor is calming - excellent plumbing.
Breakfast not as good as in other 5* places and service just a little slow (should you really have to ask for drinks when there are more waiters than customers) - but really it is nitpicking.
The two restaurants on site do serve excellent food - and the prices will not startle like is some places.
The staff were very educated and respectful.
So it's expensive but it's good and close to the old city - with the modern mamilla mall to walk through to get there.
You always seem to pay for internet in Israel - I can see some from USA railling against the charge but its the way it is..

Room Tip: do not be put off by the 'studio' room. plenty big enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#10 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamilla Hotel

Property: Mamilla Hotel
Address: 11 Shlomo ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9418238, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mamilla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem's Finest Luxury Accommodations Mamilla Hotel, Jerusalem's newest and most fashionable hotel, will usher in a new experience of exceptional hospitality in Israel.This elegant luxury, lifestyle hotel featuring 194 rooms and suites will be the center of Jerusalem's rich cultural heritage and bustling daily life.Designed in collaboration with Alrov Luxury Hotels' vision and commitment to excellence and execution, and in partnership with world-renowned architects Moshe Safdie and Hall of Fame Piero Lissoni. The design combines sophistication and simplicity with exciting lighting, textures and colors inspiring the imagination and delivering a truly unforgettable experience.Mamilla Hotel brings world-class lifestyle hospitality to Jerusalem and Israel. Guests and visitors will enjoy superior design and accommodations together with exclusive dining and bar venues, a Holistic Well-being Spa & Gym, as well as events and banqueting spaces operating with leading technology, that blend sophistication and modern international style with ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, SG Tradimax LTD, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mamilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamilla Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing