We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Mamilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mamilla Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I recently stayed at the Mamilla Hotel on my first trip to Jerusalem. The hotel is pricey, but I was traveling solo and decided to splurge a bit on myself. I had a wonderful, relaxing stay from the moment I arrived. Upon check-in, I was escorted to my room and given an overview on how all of the lighting, a.c. and tv controls work (there are custom settings for those who wish to observe Shabbat). The room was huge and had a first rate bathroom (all stone, glass and steel). Very clean room and comfortable bed. One day I noticed the white duvet had some dirt on it, and the housekeeping staff very promptly arrived with a clean duvet. The (kosher) breakfast was incredible! I was in Israel for 10 days, and the Mamilla breakfast was by far the best I experienced. I had 2 different waiters during my 5 day stay, and the second day I went to breakfast, they anticipated my request for cappuccino, and delivered my coffee before I even asked! Prior to arriving, the hotel will assign you a host (one of the concierges). Check with them beforehand and see if the hotel has any events scheduled during your stay. I arrived on a Friday afternoon, and was able to attend a free wine tasting the hotel was having in the bar (great opportunity to try some Israeli wines). Note: I was the only english speaking person at the tasing, so it was conducted in hebrew. The sommelier (who spoke fluent english) apologized profusely and would provide translations throughout the tasting. Honestly it wasn't a big deal to me... I was just happy to be there drinking wine. Definitely check out the rooftop terrace and restaurant. There are lounge chairs on the sundeck; on the other side of the roof is the bar/lounge, which offers stunning views of the Old City. You can order food and/or drinks there. If you have time, make sure to visit the Akasha spa, which is fabulous! Upon recommendation by one of the spa staff, I scheduled a hot seashell massage (amazing!). The Mamilla's location to the Old City is unbeatable. It's a 5 minute walk down the Mamilla Mall to Jaffa gate. I would definitely recommend the Mamilla to anyone, especially if you are visiting Jerusalem for the first time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chi_travelgirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mamilla hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your first time in Jerusalem. With so many places to visit in the city, we are happy to hear that you took the time to experience the wine tasting on Friday as well as Akasha. We will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our colleagues. The proactive service provided by our dining room staff is exactly one of the standards that we strive for. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mamilla hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

We absolutely loved Mamilla Hotel. The hotel is stunning and a perfect retreat after a long day of exploring the old city. The staff is helpful and friendly. We stayed in a standard room that was small but all we needed. The bed was comfy and the glass bathroom was beautiful, with a flip of a switch the glass would smoke over giving you privacy, impressive! The morning breakfast was in a stunning large dining room. The breakfast was good, nothing to rave about but salads and pastries were very nice. The hot options were lacking though. We tried the rooftop restaurant which was absolutely delicious as well as the cafe which was very good. The pizza was awesome and a much needed treat after all of the hummus and salads we've been eating the entire trip. The Mirror Bar in the hotel was a chic lounge to grab a cocktail, sit outside on the decks and take it all in. The spa, pool and gym are great, we took a yoga class in the Gym which was a lot of fun, and they offer a lot of classes (spin, kickboxing etc.) We were also impressed with the business center, wifi access in Israel stinks, so it was a pleasure checking our emails in the business center on Mac computers. The hotel is in an amazing location, within a short walk to the old city. The Mamilla shopping center is steps away consisting of great stores and restaurants. At the very end of the mall is the entrance to the Jaffa Gate to the old city, you really can't be in a better location. Overall, we had a fabulous experience and the Mamilla Hotel is unlike any hotel in Jerusalem. If we do return, it is the only place we will stay. Great in every way and totally worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mamilla hotel. Your positive comments encourage us to strive harder to provide the highest level of service possible. Thank you as well for your wonderful comments regarding Akasha, Mamilla Rooftop, Mamilla Café and the Mirror Bar. As for breakfast, we made sure to share your comments with our culinary team. We hope to continuously improve our product.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Mamilla is quite gorgeous and the first of its kind in Israel. The architecture, hotel and room design are all ground breaking for Israel, the service impeccable and the location cannot be beat. Our rooms, although a bit small, were modern, chic, well appointed and with all amenities. The hotel restaurants, especially the rooftop restaurant and bar with its views to the Jaffa Gate and Old City, were quite amazing. We truly loved this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor facing the Cafe. The rooms are a bit larger and you can get free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLehmanEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

It is pleasure to read such wonderful comments from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Very good. I travel alot . Very good one of the best in the world. Only thing enoying is the price of the internet.
Rooms are amazing and so the gym and breakfast.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Itain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you very much for wonderful comments regarding your stay at Mamilla hotel. Regarding your comments about the price of the internet service, we are looking at possible ways to address this. In the meantime, we provide free internet access to our guests at the business center where we have 4 large screened IMac computers. We also provide free Wi-Fi at Mamilla Café during its operating hours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My week-long experience at the Mamilla Hotel is a good news/bad news situation.

Good news: rooms are immaculate, cleaned twice a day, and VERY sleek looking. The breakfast buffet is bountiful, and if you are willing to wait, the coffee (whether expresso, cappucino, or filtered) is wonderful. Magnificent view (and meal) in the roof top restaurant. Sommalier Oz is extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Hotel security is good, doormen (and women) restrict entry - a good thing!

The bad news: the rooms are perfect for one person. Add another, and all moves must be choreographed. All cabinet/closet doors must remain closed, or passage is blocked. No hooks or bars in the combo shower/bath cube. If you are under 5' tall, the shower is a nightmare (overhead "rain" showerhead pours down cold water for several seconds, hand-held shower wand is too hot to hold, and spews directly into your eyes when put in the wall-mounted holder). Mattresses are VERY uncomfortable - king bed has a ridge down the center, where 2 mattresses have been pushed together. Breakfast in the dining room, while sumptuous, lacks helpful staff. Coffee (or hot tea) takes more than 15 minutes, as do simple requests like refills.

BOTTOM LINE: Interesting experience, but I won't stay there again. It's back to the David Citadel for me.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanseabass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your stay at Mamilla hotel. Thank you as well for the special mention of Oz – one of our sommeliers. He stands an example for all our staff. We appreciate your comments regarding our rooms as well. We acknowledge that Mamilla hotel's unique design is not for everyone. We are looking into your comments regarding the mattress as well as the service during breakfast. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future to show that we take your comments seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here only one night as the Inbal couldn't ensure that we could check in during Shabat...might have to wait until 10pm (after transatlantic flight). Wish we could have stayed here the duration of our trip! New York-sized room but crisp, modern, functional. Staff very helpful, the breakfast buffet sumptuous and beautifully presented. See that others were also blown away by the way cool bathrooms. (Note: the Inbal is your typical Hilton-level convention hotel and unless you are required to stay there for that reason, don't!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

It is always a pleasure to receive such wonderful comments from our guests. Your feedback encourages us to improve the way we service our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel last week with four friends who had never been to Israel before. I was desperate to stay there as I usually stay at the King David with my family but this hotel is not child friendly and this was a good chance to check it out.
The reception is extremely cool and my friends were all impressed as soon as we walked in, but their enthusiasm soon waned when we sat for an inordinately long time waiting for someone at reception to check us in.
The rooms were small but attractive. The view was over another building - they had put us on the less preferable side of the hotel. I was too tired to say anything and we weren't planning on spending much time at the hotel.
The bathroom with its magic glass walls was cool but the room itself was not user friendly - there was nowhere to hang anything or to put our clothes when we had taken them off to bath or shower.
The hallways and lift are very dark which is part of the style but I feel was a little too dark.
We all loved the breakfast area and the roof top bar was the most impressive part of the hotel and the views at night were breathtaking. Saying that, you don't need to stay at the hotel to visit the bar.
The best thing about staying at the Mamilla was the proximity to the old city. It was only 5 minutes closer than the King David but as we had to pop back to the hotel so often it was really helpful having it so close by.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilana613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Mamilla hotel. We apologize that it took too long to check you in. Your feedback helps us improve that aspect of our guests' stay. Thank you as well for the wonderful comments regarding breakfast and the Mamilla Rooftop. Regarding the room selection, Mamilla hotel has rooms from the 1st floor up to the 8th floor. Being a city hotel, we are surrounded by buildings in every direction. I understand that you were too tired to mention anything; however, our staff at the reception is very helpful in looking into alternatives. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
David Citadel Hotel
#9 of 102 in Jerusalem
2,068 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#12 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,507 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,054 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,788 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#5 of 102 in Jerusalem
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamilla Hotel

Address: 11 Shlomo ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9418238, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £256 - £709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mamilla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem's Finest Luxury Accommodations Mamilla Hotel, Jerusalem's newest and most fashionable hotel, will usher in a new experience of exceptional hospitality in Israel.This elegant luxury, lifestyle hotel featuring 194 rooms and suites will be the center of Jerusalem's rich cultural heritage and bustling daily life.Designed in collaboration with Alrov Luxury Hotels' vision and commitment to excellence and execution, and in partnership with world-renowned architects Moshe Safdie and Hall of Fame Piero Lissoni. The design combines sophistication and simplicity with exciting lighting, textures and colors inspiring the imagination and delivering a truly unforgettable experience.Mamilla Hotel brings world-class lifestyle hospitality to Jerusalem and Israel. Guests and visitors will enjoy superior design and accommodations together with exclusive dining and bar venues, a Holistic Well-being Spa & Gym, as well as events and banqueting spaces operating with leading technology, that blend sophistication and modern international style with ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mamilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamilla Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing