We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best!”
Review of Mamilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mamilla Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's been the 2nd time I stayed at Mamilla and it was just as I remembered.
The service was impeccable and the overall sense of a Best of Breed was everywhere.

The rooftop restaurant staff was ever so pleasent even at 23:00 when they were almost closing.
The room was clean and it's always great to get those L'Occitane shower accessories is very nice...

Mamilla is highly recommended for both location, service and overall experience

Room Tip: try and get floor 3+ it's better (-:
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFlyer_isr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Frequentflyer_isr,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your second stay at Mamilla hotel. We are truly honored to have your endorsement. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the rest of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great location but certain aspects of the hotel are less than desirable. Although we had a suite the configuration of the room made it feel small. The layout of the bathrooms is just not workable. It had an open shower that left the majority of the floor wet, and the vanity which is supposedly built for two, with a total lack of shelf space barely works for one.
When we checked in we were immediately upsold to a higher category room for an additional charge, which seems to be their modus operandi based on reading other reviews.
We found the front desk personnel generally helpful and friendly with the exception of a male concierge, that was overly arrogant and made you feel like he was doing you a favor by answering a question.
The breakfast buffet restaurant , although well stocked, is so large that it make you feel like you are staying at a convention hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZZZZ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear ZZZZ10,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We greatly appreciate your comments. We will make sure to communicate your feedback on the suite upwards.
We apologize if the offer to change your reservation to larger room felt like a modus operandi. We believe that if an opportunity exists that it is best to share this with our guests. If the offer was too aggressive, we apologize we will make sure to communicate this with the team.
As for the male concierge, please accept our apologies. We will make sure to address this issue with everyone.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed breakfast. There is a large variety of options, but they are well thought out.
We hope to be able to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Torn writing this review, as there is just a disconnect between the location and some of the hotel amenities, with the quality of the rooms
The good stuff-unbeatable location, near Mamilla shopping arcade and access to Old City-market, Western Wall, Church of Holy Sepulcher, and also do-able walk to Machane Yehuda, Nachlaot…
Also, truly lovely rooftop restaurant with gorgeous view of Old City, Dome of the Rock and the food quality and service was very good-worth dining here or going for drinks even if you don't stay at hotel
Also, wonderful breakfast buffet, and wait staff really tries
Bad news-the rooms are truly awful-while clean and nice linens,they are teeny tiny, no clock (!) and the bathroom-oh! The sink area MINESCULE,can't fit 2 people in bathroom vanity area at one time, no area to store stuff, bathroom separated from bedroom by transparent glass (while there is sign to say the clear glass can be switched to opaque, it took me a day to find the sign, and my friends another day to actually find the button that gives you a privacy function) An Israeli friend likened our room to a youth hostel-basically the hotel gives you an Ikea room in 4 Seasons shell. And as we were a group, I saw 6 rooms that were all the same, and a suite that was not much bigger.
If you can afford, David's Citadel, much much nicer and just across the street, but if you want the primo location at lesser price, just be forewarned. And it is a great location-if only…...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear sbh56,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We greatly appreciate your opinion and will make sure that this is communicated upwards. We are happy that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay with us – especially at the Rooftop and at our dining room for breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel is 5 star but room we had was very small with hardly any hanging space in closet.Bath has good shower but it is the open concept with bath in enclosed area.So if you like taking a shower and your partner a bath,well then it is a but messy.Bed is king size and very comfortable with first grade linens.AC worked very well.There is no desk.Free quality internet.Housekeeping staff is just OK,they keep forgetting to leave us face clothes or water or room is not perfect.Lighting is poor at best,especially in bathroom.Breakfast restaurant is excellent as are the two rooftop restaurants we ate at.All food is very high quality and very well prepared.Location is excellent as it is very close to the Old City and you can easily walk to it.Reception staff and all other staff are very professional but housekeeping is just not up to par.For the price you can get much better value but if a smaller room is OK and if location is very crucial then it is to be considered

Room Tip: Ask fir biggest room they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Domrom,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We apologize that we were not able to provide the level of housekeeping service during your stay. We would appreciate any details that you could provide. We will make sure to convey your feedback regarding cleanliness to our colleagues in housekeeping.
On the other hand, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed the restaurants and the location. We hope to be able to welcome you back in in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Trendy, stylish and in a great location, this hotel catered to all our needs, including a fuss-free and quick change of room when we complained about the weak internet reception in the room we initially checked into. A complementary bottle of wine and box of dried fruit, fabulous breakfast and fantastically equipped gym and gym classes available for hotel guests in the Mamilla Mall puts the hotel right up there with the best.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Jill M,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Mamilla hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the issue with the room was resolved smoothly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I reserved a room at the Mamilla in April using the Mamilla's website, while traveling in the Middle East. The information on the web site indicated that for the price listed for three nights' stay, I had until the night (24 hours) before my arrival to cancel or change my reservation. It said nothing of a non-refundable rate. I never got an actual reservation confirmation email, but there was a sign-in process to access the reservation. However, a few days after I made the reservation and about 3 weeks prior to the planned date of arrival, my plans had changed and I had to cancel my stay.

I received a cancellation notice by email this time, and it stated, "Your reservation has been cancelled in accordance with the non-refundable reservation conditions" which amounted to a three nights' stay of $1606.00!!
Considering this was a big surprise, I assumed initially it was an error. I also did not have the ability to actually deal with the issue immediately as I was traveling through the Middle East on a medical mission, and computers and telephones were not always available, but when I arrived home in the USA, I disputed the charge on my AMEX card.
The hotel, however, refused to budge, and the amount remains in limbo.
What a sham!!
I spoke with the hotel on several occasions and although I pointed out that the website said nothing of a non-refundable deposit for the full price of the stay at the time of booking, the hotel would not consider refunding the money, even though I had canceled weeks in advance.

I assured them that i would never have paid a non-refundable deposit for the entire stay in any event, even if the web site had indicated it as such, knowing, as an experienced traveler, that plans change.
The interesting thing, is that when i went back on the website once back in the USA and investigated booking a hotel stay, there were non-refundable rates on there, and the prices were fairly close to the rates for a refundable room. So why book a non-refundable rate at all?

This is a real joke, and lousy customer service. I cannot imagine how the hotel treats its staying clientele. I would not recommend this place. It's relatively expensive, and although it is close to the Jaffa gate, and right at the Mamilla mall for shopping, there are other options worth considering that are in the same general location like the David Citadel, the King David, and a new Omni, I believe that is being built.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
6  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear SRG2327,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with booking a room through our website has resulted in a dispute with Mamilla hotel. Our online team strives to ensure that the booking process done on Mamilla hotel's site is smooth and user friendly. We ask you to contact us directly to resolve this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

All I can say about this hotel is WOW!!! From the moment we checked it I knew we were in safe hands from the fabulous staff at check in offering drinks the moment we walked in to the swift check in and upgrade we were made to feel very welcome.
The room on the 7th floor was sensational with the quirky bathroom with a smoke glass button when in use to the complimentary wine and snacks and a small but pleasant balcony to soak up the Jerusalem atmosphere I didn't want to leave.
The breakfast room which included a beautiful outdoor area made it a great start to a busy day touring the wonderful city and the mirror bar in the evening was a great place to go and chill out and unwind of an evening. The rooftop dining is a complete must!! Again magical surroundings together with fantastic food and wine I have to say it was well worth it. Hadas our server was so sweet and was a pleasure to meet. We stumbled across the lovely coffee bar in the day which is great for a sneaky wine or a coffee to escape the fast pace of Jerusalem or a late lunch/afternoon snack.
Thank you Mamilla for a wonderful stay.
Cant wait to come back and spend more time in your wonderful hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Karen H,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Mamilla hotel. We are very happy to read that you had a magical stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed the design, the service and the location. Thank you for recognizing Hadas. We will make sure to share your kind words with her. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
David Citadel Hotel
#9 of 102 in Jerusalem
2,067 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#12 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,507 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,788 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#5 of 102 in Jerusalem
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamilla Hotel

Address: 11 Shlomo ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9418238, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £256 - £712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mamilla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem's Finest Luxury Accommodations Mamilla Hotel, Jerusalem's newest and most fashionable hotel, will usher in a new experience of exceptional hospitality in Israel.This elegant luxury, lifestyle hotel featuring 194 rooms and suites will be the center of Jerusalem's rich cultural heritage and bustling daily life.Designed in collaboration with Alrov Luxury Hotels' vision and commitment to excellence and execution, and in partnership with world-renowned architects Moshe Safdie and Hall of Fame Piero Lissoni. The design combines sophistication and simplicity with exciting lighting, textures and colors inspiring the imagination and delivering a truly unforgettable experience.Mamilla Hotel brings world-class lifestyle hospitality to Jerusalem and Israel. Guests and visitors will enjoy superior design and accommodations together with exclusive dining and bar venues, a Holistic Well-being Spa & Gym, as well as events and banqueting spaces operating with leading technology, that blend sophistication and modern international style with ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mamilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamilla Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing