We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with a View”
Review of Mamilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mamilla Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Maple, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with a View”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a hotel that should not be missed as it is very close to the Old City with first rate architecture, staff and amenities. We stayed in a suite on the 6th floor, and found the room both attractive and comfortable with an adequate amount of space provided in the walk-in closet for our clothing, and very comfortable seats in the living area. The partition wall "slides" open or closed between the living area and bedroom, and the glass wall between the bedroom and washroom has a magical button to switch between transparent and translucent (i.e. private). The only complaint, if one were to consider it as such, is that the shower is open to the rest of the washroom, and water will spray onto the stone floor of the washroom, which could be a problem if you are not wearing shoes or boots as your socks will get wet if you need to access the water closet.

The shower soaps and shampoos are of the best quality, as are the towels, bed linens and furnishings of the suite.

The complimentary wine and snacks in the room were very good, the ambience in the breakfast room excellent, and service of the hotel staff first rate.

The spa and gym are world class, and should be used as often as possible as the gym is truly a memorable area.

The roof top terrace dining was disappointing, from the moment that our "reservation" was lost, to the poor table we were offered by the entrance, to the sub-standard service and to the poorly cooked food. Our "host" made us a reservation to eat at the terrace dining weeks before our visit, and confirmed the reservation to us upon check in to the hotel. The hostess at the front of the restaurant could not find our reservation on her computer screen, and kept asking if we had another name, which led me to suspect that our reservation had been given away to another party. The entrecote steak I ordered was adequate, but the steak my wife ordered was over-cooked and not acceptable. It sat on my wife's plate for close to an hour, uneaten, until what I believe to be the manager asked if everything was OK. Our server was not to be found from the time the meal was placed before us, with one exception where he asked me but did not ask my wife whether everything was acceptable - and walked away without waiting for a response. When I later politely explained to him privately what he should have done, as a waiter, I do not believe that he was interested in my opinion or advice - which is unfortunate as I have extensive experience and have eaten in some of the finest restaurants in world. In fairness to the dining room manager, we were not billed for the uneaten meal, and yet I would recommend against eating at the terrace restaurant unless one wants the view, and is willing to sacrifice the meal. The hotel has several other dining facilities, as does the Mamilla Mall and other luxury hotels in the immediate area.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any visitor looking for a first-rate place to stay when visiting Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a view, and pay the extra money for a suite as the rooms are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Martin G,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Mamilla hotel. We are very happy to read that you had an excellent stay. We greatly appreciate your endorsement and feedback. You feedback allows us to address areas that need our attention. With regards to your experience at the Rooftop, we made sure to share your feedback with the executive chef. We hope that during your next visit to Jerusalem you would give our Rooftop another try.
Thank you once again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    307
    118
    62
    50
See reviews for
376
584
83
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a comfortable and satisfying stay. The hotel is well appointed, clean, with ample facilities. This is not a warm and welcoming hotel: rather on the cool and slick side of things. The room was a good sized with plenty of amenities. The pull away sofa bed was very uncomfortable, while the the main bed was fantastic. If you like very intense shower heads, the rain forest shower is for you. Too harsh for us. Staff was helpful and generally friendly, though we had delays with our check-in. Breakfast was outstanding; table service was first class, while the hosts tended to be quite cold. Location is great to walk to Old Jerusalem. The only draw back for us was that the hotel felt like it could have been placed in any major city in the world without changing anything: very little felt local or particular to the surrounding culture.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericsf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear ericsf7,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mamilla hotel. We appreciate your thorough feedback. We use it to help us improve our product. We apologize for the delay in checking you in. We would welcome any additional information regarding you check in that may help us pinpoint the reason for the delay.
We hope that you will reconsider us for your next visit to Jerusalem and we will do our best to provide you with a much improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's been the 2nd time I stayed at Mamilla and it was just as I remembered.
The service was impeccable and the overall sense of a Best of Breed was everywhere.

The rooftop restaurant staff was ever so pleasent even at 23:00 when they were almost closing.
The room was clean and it's always great to get those L'Occitane shower accessories is very nice...

Mamilla is highly recommended for both location, service and overall experience

Room Tip: try and get floor 3+ it's better (-:
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyer_isr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Frequentflyer_isr,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your second stay at Mamilla hotel. We are truly honored to have your endorsement. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the rest of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great location but certain aspects of the hotel are less than desirable. Although we had a suite the configuration of the room made it feel small. The layout of the bathrooms is just not workable. It had an open shower that left the majority of the floor wet, and the vanity which is supposedly built for two, with a total lack of shelf space barely works for one.
When we checked in we were immediately upsold to a higher category room for an additional charge, which seems to be their modus operandi based on reading other reviews.
We found the front desk personnel generally helpful and friendly with the exception of a male concierge, that was overly arrogant and made you feel like he was doing you a favor by answering a question.
The breakfast buffet restaurant , although well stocked, is so large that it make you feel like you are staying at a convention hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZZZZ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear ZZZZ10,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We greatly appreciate your comments. We will make sure to communicate your feedback on the suite upwards.
We apologize if the offer to change your reservation to larger room felt like a modus operandi. We believe that if an opportunity exists that it is best to share this with our guests. If the offer was too aggressive, we apologize we will make sure to communicate this with the team.
As for the male concierge, please accept our apologies. We will make sure to address this issue with everyone.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed breakfast. There is a large variety of options, but they are well thought out.
We hope to be able to welcome you back as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Torn writing this review, as there is just a disconnect between the location and some of the hotel amenities, with the quality of the rooms
The good stuff-unbeatable location, near Mamilla shopping arcade and access to Old City-market, Western Wall, Church of Holy Sepulcher, and also do-able walk to Machane Yehuda, Nachlaot…
Also, truly lovely rooftop restaurant with gorgeous view of Old City, Dome of the Rock and the food quality and service was very good-worth dining here or going for drinks even if you don't stay at hotel
Also, wonderful breakfast buffet, and wait staff really tries
Bad news-the rooms are truly awful-while clean and nice linens,they are teeny tiny, no clock (!) and the bathroom-oh! The sink area MINESCULE,can't fit 2 people in bathroom vanity area at one time, no area to store stuff, bathroom separated from bedroom by transparent glass (while there is sign to say the clear glass can be switched to opaque, it took me a day to find the sign, and my friends another day to actually find the button that gives you a privacy function) An Israeli friend likened our room to a youth hostel-basically the hotel gives you an Ikea room in 4 Seasons shell. And as we were a group, I saw 6 rooms that were all the same, and a suite that was not much bigger.
If you can afford, David's Citadel, much much nicer and just across the street, but if you want the primo location at lesser price, just be forewarned. And it is a great location-if only…...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear sbh56,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We greatly appreciate your opinion and will make sure that this is communicated upwards. We are happy that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay with us – especially at the Rooftop and at our dining room for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel is 5 star but room we had was very small with hardly any hanging space in closet.Bath has good shower but it is the open concept with bath in enclosed area.So if you like taking a shower and your partner a bath,well then it is a but messy.Bed is king size and very comfortable with first grade linens.AC worked very well.There is no desk.Free quality internet.Housekeeping staff is just OK,they keep forgetting to leave us face clothes or water or room is not perfect.Lighting is poor at best,especially in bathroom.Breakfast restaurant is excellent as are the two rooftop restaurants we ate at.All food is very high quality and very well prepared.Location is excellent as it is very close to the Old City and you can easily walk to it.Reception staff and all other staff are very professional but housekeeping is just not up to par.For the price you can get much better value but if a smaller room is OK and if location is very crucial then it is to be considered

Room Tip: Ask fir biggest room they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Domrom,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We apologize that we were not able to provide the level of housekeeping service during your stay. We would appreciate any details that you could provide. We will make sure to convey your feedback regarding cleanliness to our colleagues in housekeeping.
On the other hand, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed the restaurants and the location. We hope to be able to welcome you back in in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Trendy, stylish and in a great location, this hotel catered to all our needs, including a fuss-free and quick change of room when we complained about the weak internet reception in the room we initially checked into. A complementary bottle of wine and box of dried fruit, fabulous breakfast and fantastically equipped gym and gym classes available for hotel guests in the Mamilla Mall puts the hotel right up there with the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Jill M,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Mamilla hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the issue with the room was resolved smoothly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,003 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,492 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,022 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,778 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamilla Hotel

Property: Mamilla Hotel
Address: 11 Shlomo ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9418238, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mamilla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem's Finest Luxury Accommodations Mamilla Hotel, Jerusalem's newest and most fashionable hotel, will usher in a new experience of exceptional hospitality in Israel.This elegant luxury, lifestyle hotel featuring 194 rooms and suites will be the center of Jerusalem's rich cultural heritage and bustling daily life.Designed in collaboration with Alrov Luxury Hotels' vision and commitment to excellence and execution, and in partnership with world-renowned architects Moshe Safdie and Hall of Fame Piero Lissoni. The design combines sophistication and simplicity with exciting lighting, textures and colors inspiring the imagination and delivering a truly unforgettable experience.Mamilla Hotel brings world-class lifestyle hospitality to Jerusalem and Israel. Guests and visitors will enjoy superior design and accommodations together with exclusive dining and bar venues, a Holistic Well-being Spa & Gym, as well as events and banqueting spaces operating with leading technology, that blend sophistication and modern international style with ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mamilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamilla Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing