We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad hotel ... Bad srevice bad dining room ... Not good at all”
Review of Mamilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mamilla Hotel
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Bad srevice and terrible dining room... I made a party for my son's birthday it was not good as I hoped ... The service was suck .. I don't like people to visit that hotel just looking good but inside so bad

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marryjohn133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Marryjohn133,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Mamilla hotel. We apologize that we were not able to provide you with a positively memorable party for your son’s birthday. We would greatly appreciate it if you could provide us with more details so that we may know how we failed to meet your expectations. I thank you in advance for your assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

First, the Good: A great location near the old city wall and the hotel is in the Mamilla Mall an attractive contemporary mostly outdoor shopping mall with attendant low end brand name shops, jewellery shops and cafes- great place for a late night stroll or a midday lunch. A five year old property, well maintained and with a beautiful contemporary look. Everyone was polite to a fault, cheerful and pleasant as you would expect in any fine hotel. (Breakfast was average to below average for a "5 star" hotel, excellent fresh orange juice and machine coffee, but with very poor fresh fruit selections and some odd bread products such as sticky coated rolls in the shape of a croissant).

The Bad: The standard room, not cheap was painfully small for a deluxe property. It was difficult to keep two open suitcases on the provided bench without knocking them over. There was no desk or convenient power outlet location for your computer or phone charger (or don't tell them, travel iron). There was no hotel services directory in the room. The only intuitive control in the room was for air conditioning. Light switches were in obscure places and took a day or two to figure out. The telephone was inoperative. The bathroom layout though very pretty was stupid and very very bad. There was little room to store towels, a large supply of which were ultimately placed on the room's only chair. The bathroom sink hid light switches one of which we found out a day after check in made the transparent bathroom module opaque (handy to know when a guest used the toilet). The sink was surrounded by narrow shelving and did not allow a counter space for shaving and dental supplies. There was a narrow accessory stand with shelves along side the sink, but not being flush with the wall made it easy to drop stuff behind it where it was not easy to retrieve. We finally found the two terry robes on top of a closet, but the two hooks supplied to hang them in a micro space behind the tub were difficult to reach. The tub drain would not secure no matter how much we tried. But the worst-the fixed large shower head was in a space between the sink and the tub. It was impossible to turn on the shower without being doused by whatever temperature water was in the system. Whomever designed this bathroom was an artist but a practical idiot. One bar of soap was supplied for the sink, shower and tub and not renewed. Body wash and shampoo was replenished sometimes, as was toilet paper, sometimes. One complimentary 1/2 liter bottle of Evian water was supplied for two people for a 4 night stay. On speaking to the duty manager on checkout, we were advised that one bottle of complimentary water and one bar of soap was the norm. And we were told the small room was fashioned after a European "boutique" hotel. I guess they have never stayed in a European or American "boutique" hotel that claims to be a deluxe property. I don't even think they stayed in a "5 star" hotel in Jerusalem owing to the supplies of toiletries and complimentary water. By corralling the housekeeping boys during the morning room make up or at turn down if we were around we were able to get more soap, water and toilet paper. (I am hesitant to mention this lest they get reprimanded.)
NOW FOR THE UGLY: On two occasions, when phoning about a service I was address as Mr. Ka...., but that was not my name, then they said, wait I'll check the computer, and they said that's right you are not Mr. Ka... but correctly identified me. On the morning of checkout I requested an 0815 wake up call. The call came we got up feeling awfully tired wondering why it wasn't that sunny, packed and dressed only to then check our watches a half hour later and to find the idiot called us at 0615 instead of 0815. There is no clock or automated wake up system in the room.
It gets worse. On checkout there were room charges for food and drinks made several hours before our initial check in as well as a few drink and refreshment charges made during our stay that I could not identify. They were removed by the duty manager. Although its hard to enlarge the rooms and re dsign the hotel, its not all that hard to properly manage a hotel. After 5 years, the kinks should be ironed out.

Room Tip: Pay more and see if they have a bigger room. I think its called an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Arthur H,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your comments are very important to us because they help us in improving our product.
We apologize that we were unable to provide you with an enjoyable stay.
We acknowledge that the contemporary design of our rooms may not appeal to everyone’s taste. However, we are constantly making small changes to our rooms to make them more comfortable for our guests.
With regards to the amenities, we replenish the bottle of water daily. We also make it our goal to replenish the l’Occitane products before our guests have to ask for them.
We made note of all the points that you mentioned and have communicated them to the appropriate leaders.
We hope that despite your recent stay that you will consider us again in the future for a much improved experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Start upon arrival, we received a room with a view of the hotel's dirty awning. When we asked to change the room because we refused to get such a view when we pay so much money for a night, we were told that there was no other room available. Only after we insisted, they suddenly found another room to show us. Again, they tried to give us a room with a view of a dirty awning, this time on the other side of the hotel. Of course we didn't agree to accept this room. After all this annoyance they finally found a room with a little more pleasant view.
We reserved massage in the hotel spa. Our treatment was the last one for that day. The massage itself was great, but before we left, while my husband went into the locker rooms to get a shower a lady from the reception that was in a hurry to lock the place & go home, shouted at him from the door to hurry & finish up because the place was closing. She screamed in a way which totally inappropriate in a spa that respects itself. We were in shock ... instead of ending in a relaxed mood we were hurried to leave…
The breakfast – The selection was poor and the quality was far from what was expected, especially in these high rates that the hotel asks his guests from. All staff that was responsible for the service of the food behind the counter used their bare hands in order to organize the food & in order to serve it, touching the food again & again. Not hygienic and repulsive… Unfortunately after we started eating I took a bite from a bun (roll) only to find a hair stacked inside. For me the meal ended at that moment. After that I couldn't even find one clean cup to drink sparkling water to get the nausea out so I had to drink directly from the bottle.
We refused to pay the full price of the room. After many conversations with managers in different levels, they agreed to give us a 50% off from the room price. Even that was too much for this big disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear F B,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We apologize that we fell short of your expectations. Your comments help us in improving product.
We make sure that your comments reach the appropriate team leaders.
We hope that you will decide to try us again in the future so that we may provide you with an excellent stay that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

One of the best locations in Jerusalem, with great rooms, restaurant options and world class spa and great indoor pool (almost Zen-like experience).

Most of all, the level of service was beyond expectations- we historically had become somewhat accustomed during previous Israeli hotel stays at other venues to efficient but impersonal service professionals. By contrast, Mamilla personal went out of their way to be of service, from George, the front desk manager to Maor and Ran at the Roof Top dinning room and numerious others.

We also want to thank our event planner, Shimon Gantz of Jerusalem Simcha, for recommending the hotel and for his overall guidance during our lenghtly visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Charles C,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
It is very important to us that every guest whether staying for one night of three weeks feel like this is their home.
It was an honor having you as our guest. We are very happy to read that you had a wonderfully memorable stay.
We look forward to your next visit to Jerusalem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent 4 nights in this hotel in April.
Hotel has very well decorated lobby , nice bistro,and perfect breakfast zone. Food was good.
Rooms are not big and a little bit tired. In the evening music in the yard was very loud and messed us to sleep sometimes.
The hotel has nice atmosphere,the stuff is polite and helpful.

Room Tip: upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear AnnaKiev,
Thank you for taking the time provide us with your feedback.
Please accept our apologies that the music disturbed your sleep. We will make sure to share this with the appropriate department.
With regards to the rooms, we are constantly refreshing our rooms.
We are happy to read that our staff was nice and that you found the food to be of good quality.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Obviously it's a nice hotel, the room was fine though there was no balcony (there are no rooms with balconies at all), most of the staff were nice and the breakfast was good.. The location is great.
We were very disappointed about the swimming pool cause the whole area was ridiculously cold, the life guard sits there wearing a coat (!!) and we were told there's no option to turn off the air-condition.. Other guests told us they got permission to go to the swimming pool at the David hotel, when we asked at the reception to go there too they refused..
If you want to use to a swimming pool I'd recommend to go to another hotel..

Stayed: August 2014
Thank C-van Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear C-van Y,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our stay.
We currently have an agreement with the David Citadel regarding their pool only for certain days. The weekend is not part of this agreement. Please accept our apologies for the confusion this may have caused.
Despite that, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the location and that our team was nice.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Always love staying here. The vibe is very cool. It was very quiet because of the war with a very low 20% occupancy rate. We received incredible service, the food was excellent and everyone was happy to see us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Scott B,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
We are always very happy to see our guests time and again. It is even more rewarding to know that our team provided incredible service and our culinary team prepared excellent food.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future under better circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
David Citadel Hotel
#13 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,102 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,520 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#8 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,080 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,815 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamilla Hotel

Address: 11 Shlomo ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9418238, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £252 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mamilla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem's Finest Luxury Accommodations Mamilla Hotel, Jerusalem's newest and most fashionable hotel, will usher in a new experience of exceptional hospitality in Israel.This elegant luxury, lifestyle hotel featuring 194 rooms and suites will be the center of Jerusalem's rich cultural heritage and bustling daily life.Designed in collaboration with Alrov Luxury Hotels' vision and commitment to excellence and execution, and in partnership with world-renowned architects Moshe Safdie and Hall of Fame Piero Lissoni. The design combines sophistication and simplicity with exciting lighting, textures and colors inspiring the imagination and delivering a truly unforgettable experience.Mamilla Hotel brings world-class lifestyle hospitality to Jerusalem and Israel. Guests and visitors will enjoy superior design and accommodations together with exclusive dining and bar venues, a Holistic Well-being Spa & Gym, as well as events and banqueting spaces operating with leading technology, that blend sophistication and modern international style with ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mamilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamilla Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing