We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful...but not functional” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mamilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mamilla Hotel
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful...but not functional”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

Beautiful hotel, but terribly designed. The bathroom is extremely dark, it is hard to put your makeup on. The shower has no door, so water gets all over the bathroom. There is no place to put your stuff in the bathroom...no room whatsoever. No desk. There are more functional hotels in Jerusalem...find one!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    276
    111
    55
    46
See reviews for
337
520
70
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

I have nothing but good words for this hotel. We arrived on Jerusalem Day, making it virtually impossible for us to enter the city by car. However, the super helpful staff managed to escort us through the road blocks into their garage.
The location is magnificent, with beautiful views on the Old City, especially during dawn. The staff is very friendly and the wines are wonderful. Great breakfasts as well.
In short: a gem in the heart of Jerusalem. Best choice.
No free Wifi Internet in the hotel, but this is normal for Israel except Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JdbE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

I visited the Mamilla with my wife over Easter/Passover weekend 2010. It was obviously a busy weekend in Jerusalem and my experience was probably negatively affected by the timing of our visit. Prior to arrival the hotel was very helpful in helping plan our trip. The hotel assigns a concierge to each guest who helps with reservations and information. The hotel has a very good location within a five minute walk of the gates of the Old Town of Jerusalem. The hotel is very modern and minimalist. The rooms are finished in a modern style. They were small and although they tried to make up for the size with some interesting features (frosted privacy glass), for the cost I expected more. The bathroom were open plan and could have used more storage space. The beds were relatively uncomfortable. The hotel has a roof terrace that has a good vista but a slightly obstructed view of the Old City. The staff were friendly and tried hard but there were definitely some issues with getting the correct information from the staff (for example on opening hours of the mall connected to the hotel or sending us to Old Town on the Saturday before Easter at 6.30am even though there was no access because of the Easter festivities). Breakfast was served in the restuarant on the ground floor but was very limited during the Sabbath. I guess that is to be expected but other hotel we visited in Israel seemed to deal with the situation better. One evening on the way to dinner the hotel called us a taxicab who ripped us off. When we brought the matter to the attention of the hotel, I never heard from the manager but was told that they brought the attention to the taxicab company but they didn't know which taxi took us to dinner. The irony is that we walked back from the Old Town to avoid getting a cab from the street. I don't know if I can blame the hotel but I think it could have been handled better. The value for money at the hotel was only ok but I am sure there are better times to try to get a deal in Jerusalem than over Easter weekend. All in all, the hotel is nice and new but has some issues to work out on the service side and the rooms leave something to be desired. Israel and Jerusalem were interesting but I don't think we would go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

This is a gret location hotel with poor management.From the begining, your reservation online has nothing to do with your requests. For example, for the Mamilla Hotel a king size bed is a two twin bed together. The front desk clerk argued with us, as well as the hotel manager, and kept us at the lobby for two hours until they made a solution. Beware of what you get for your money !!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dremotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Our stay was exceptional! We believe the Mamilla Hotel is the nicest, most luxurious hotel in Jerusalem; our room was wonderful! The staff was always pleasant and efficient and when our stay was unexpectedly extended, they had such a kind and caring attitude. We will never forget that kindness. The next time we are in Jerusalem, we will definitely choose your hotel again and will make sure all of our friends know about your fine establishment.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Gorgeous looking hotel, nice staff but on balance I would not recommend spending $350 a night at this hotel.
Room was good, well designed,funky bathroom. But connecting door let lots of noise through
Poor poor service (nice staff) but no one able to make a decision, and we couldn't even get the sun deck unlocked the first day, let alone order a drink or food there. No sun umbrellas on the sun deck, gym and spa still not finished (opened 8 months already -come on!!), mirror bar never open, the list goes on. Ultimately it is very expensive for what it delivers in my view.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claro25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

this hotel is 8 months old and is very poorly designed. the rooms are like caves and are impractical. there is no desks for writing, the washrooms have minimal space for ones toiletries, the cupboard space is minimal and the hanger rack is extremely high such that a rod is provided. the rooms facing the road are not soundproofed so traffic is heard and if you are a light sleeper you are in trouble. the staff have not been well trained as when I asked to change my room they twice showed me rooms on the same road side. The only person who has authority to rectify problems is the general manager who has no people skills and has no concept of customer satisfaction. if you have a choice do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelExcellence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
David Citadel Hotel
#13 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamilla Hotel

Property: Mamilla Hotel
Address: 11 Shlomo ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9418238, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mamilla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem's Finest Luxury Accommodations Mamilla Hotel, Jerusalem's newest and most fashionable hotel, will usher in a new experience of exceptional hospitality in Israel.This elegant luxury, lifestyle hotel featuring 194 rooms and suites will be the center of Jerusalem's rich cultural heritage and bustling daily life.Designed in collaboration with Alrov Luxury Hotels' vision and commitment to excellence and execution, and in partnership with world-renowned architects Moshe Safdie and Hall of Fame Piero Lissoni. The design combines sophistication and simplicity with exciting lighting, textures and colors inspiring the imagination and delivering a truly unforgettable experience.Mamilla Hotel brings world-class lifestyle hospitality to Jerusalem and Israel. Guests and visitors will enjoy superior design and accommodations together with exclusive dining and bar venues, a Holistic Well-being Spa & Gym, as well as events and banqueting spaces operating with leading technology, that blend sophistication and modern international style with ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, SG Tradimax LTD, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mamilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamilla Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing