We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous ultra modern hotel!!”
Review of Mamilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mamilla Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The Mamilla is a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location. The rooms are ultra modern with a large glass enclosed bathroom area. While this is visually stunning, it encroaches on the bedroom space. We had no problem with this but other people told us that it was a major issue for them.
The breakfast buffet was very good while the Friday night dinner buffet was incredible. The service staff in the dining room could definitely use improvement.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
There are newer reviews for Mamilla Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2010

From check-in to check-out, the Mamilla Hotel made this our most memorable experience in Israel. I was celebrating my 75th birthday, and as soon as we checked in, we were warmly greeted and received amenities above and beyond. The lobby was inviting and the entire staff made us feel so comfortable. When the Host took us to our room, we were further impressed. The room with its high tech features was so enjoyable as well as comfortable. We have every intention of returning in 3 years to celebrate my wife's special birthday.
In addition, the restaurants were great, good food and delightful ambiance ( Rooftop). The location of the hotel was perfect.
We would also like thank Emanuel R. Shapira for his warm exemplary service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

If you are more interested in looks than quality or functionality this is the hotel for you. We stayed over Shabbat - this hotel does not understand the needs of a Shomer Shabbat customer. We arrived 7pm on Thursday night and our room was not ready. We experienced room shaking noise from music from somewhere on Thursday night - this was of little interest to the hotel staff or management either at the time or subsequently. The food and beverage manager is a star amongst a hotel full of disinterested and incompetent others.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
Thank JSManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

i stayed for 4 nights with my teenage son. Hotel is lovely, similar in style to a W Hotel. hallways are extremely dark, rooms are small but everything has been done to make them seem bigger than they are and it works. breakfast was very good, a dozen different salads, cheeses, yogurts, quiches, etc. Sitting outside for breakfast was beautiful. Roofdeck is great but they only have around a dozen chairs and the first time we went, no chairs were available. The second time we went the door to the roof was locked for some reason so we couldnt get outside. Pool is in the basement for some reason and it was extremely dark and dreary down there so we didnt use it, Gym is big and very nice. Hotel offers a wine tasting on saturday afternoons which was great. The winery, Mirror bar and lounge are all nice spaces to sit, but the lounge is only for hotel guests and only guests staying in suites can eat there for free (team coffee, desserts). They chrage roughly $20/day for internet access and it didnt work in all areas of the hotel.
The location is great, as it is connected to the new mamilla mall and a 5 minute walk from the Old City and about 8 minutes from Ben Yehuda.
The downside to all this - the service. Unfortunately they have still not trained their staff to smile. Check-in I waited 15 minutes (at 9am after a 10-hour flight)- with 3 staff members just sitting and chatting while i stood waiting. making meal reservations for shabbat took 3 attempts, as each person i asked had no idea what the procedure was and gave me wrong information. We are spoiled by usually staying at Four Seasons properties and this hotel has nowhere near that level of service. We had lunch one day next door at the David Citadel and that is probably where we will stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Room boutique design, modern decor. Well arranged and cool.
Great location.
Service, from the entrance lobby to the front desk to the bar, breakfast and roof terrace is dreadful.
Really a pity and something the management can and need to address.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

THE VERY GOOD: Unbeatable location -- the adjoining outdoor shopping promenade that takes you right to the Old City is fantastic (the hotel has a private entrance/exit to the promenade), while a few blocks up in the other direction is Ben Yehuda Street and wonderful cafes, bars and restaurants. The hotel architecture and décor is out of this world -- modern boutique-y, but also very spacious and open. Food at both the mezzanine level restaurant and roof-top restaurants was very good (one night we saw President and Mrs. Shimon Peres dining there). An expansive and very tasty breakfast downstairs every morning. Wine bar and the Mirror bar are exceptional in terms of décor and offerings…it’s a slice of high-end Europe/New York hipness in Jerusalem. The wine sommelier was an extremely friendly and knowledgeable young man, as was the other younger girl who worked in the wine bar as well. Upon checking in the manager (I believe) took us directly to our room while giving us a great run-down of the hotel and the area - very nice touch. Security was highly visible and thorough in bag-checks, but very friendly and unobtrusive at the same time. One security lady – I believe her name was Estie – was exceptional in terms of friendliness and helpfulness and always had a ‘good morning’ or ‘good evening’ for my kids and me. Only the pool was open when we were there but we saw the spa under construction and it looks like it's going to be world-class.

THE WEIRD: Very strange rooms – too modern and boutique-y by a half. Low-to-the floor bed of only average comfort, and the pull-out my kids slept on belonged in a torture chamber. Weird light-switch placements, and sliding doors that blocked the TV whenever they were open. Overall we loved the bathroom, except for the lack of shelf space for toiletries. Great walk-in closet, though…perhaps the centerpiece (along with the shower) of the room.

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT: A new hotel always needs to get through their growing pains. But for both the price of the rooms and the type of reputation the Mamilla wants to build for itself, I would have expected a higher and more consistent level of customer service from the staff (especially since the hotel had already been open for 13 or so months by the time we arrived). With a few exceptions (the above-mentioned Estie and her security team, the sommelier and the other girl who manned the wine bar, the manager who first took us to our room and subsequently was always inquiring about how are stay is), overall I was underwhelmed. Asking for coffee in the dining room early in the morning was sometimes like asking for world peace. Most of the restaurant (both mezzanine and roof-top) and bar staff seemed to be hired for their good looks, rather than their service abilities. The woman in the business lounge was constantly talking on the phone, rather than offereing me a drink (it wasn't self serve). Trying to get a restaurant recommendation and directions from the front desk staff was no walk in the park either, although I’m prepared to give them a break as the hotel was very busy during our stay and they seemed to be undermanned for all of the activity that was going on.

That said, this is Israel after all, and overall the service was still above what I have experienced at other Israeli hotels in the past.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowjob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We had a great stay at the Mamila Hotel this past weekend. After touring all day in Old Jerusalem, our hotel was a refuge of quiet, elegance and modernity. Check out the roof top bar --- both at sunset and nighttime. Great views of the city and lights. For dinner, we walked a short few blocks up into a quaint part of town and had a great meal --- all suggested by the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivninCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
David Citadel Hotel
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,046 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,498 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,040 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,783 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamilla Hotel

Address: 11 Shlomo ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9418238, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £245 - £618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mamilla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem's Finest Luxury Accommodations Mamilla Hotel, Jerusalem's newest and most fashionable hotel, will usher in a new experience of exceptional hospitality in Israel.This elegant luxury, lifestyle hotel featuring 194 rooms and suites will be the center of Jerusalem's rich cultural heritage and bustling daily life.Designed in collaboration with Alrov Luxury Hotels' vision and commitment to excellence and execution, and in partnership with world-renowned architects Moshe Safdie and Hall of Fame Piero Lissoni. The design combines sophistication and simplicity with exciting lighting, textures and colors inspiring the imagination and delivering a truly unforgettable experience.Mamilla Hotel brings world-class lifestyle hospitality to Jerusalem and Israel. Guests and visitors will enjoy superior design and accommodations together with exclusive dining and bar venues, a Holistic Well-being Spa & Gym, as well as events and banqueting spaces operating with leading technology, that blend sophistication and modern international style with ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mamilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamilla Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing