We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsavoury hotel”
Review of Rivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rivoli Hotel
Ranked #46 of 59 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We booked online via Booking.com (excellent service) as we had done all our other hotels through them, the hotel reported that we were noshows, I took this up with Booking.com but am still awaiting resolution. They overcharged us for an extra night on our credit card. Booking.com had to step in to get us a refund.Anyways the location is the only plus here, apart from that its awfully rundown, old frniture not cleaned and only use the bathtub if you want to fall down, it is half a tub and you need to shower at a very awkward angle. Breakfast is the same daily despite local breads and fruits being sold cheap just outside the hotel. Staff is not very friendly at all, always watching TV not bothering with guests, the safe is a joke, as they lock the stuff in there and keep the key! During our stay there was a large group on their way to Saudi Arabia, they had $200 dollars stolen from their room, they were kept waiting ages for the owner to resolve the issue and were very disappointed. It is pricey for what it is, but the convenience is the only plus factor.

Room Tip: National hotel is nearby, excellent but a bit more pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabiha54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel has only 2 good things (the location - for the ones who want to stay close to the Old Town gate (but in the very dirt and noisy part of Jerusalem and part of the personnel). The manager is a very rude person who offends the guests if they don't like the terrible conditions they are supposed to stay in. The rooms are clean (smells like cleaning products all over) but the furniture, the carpet, the blanket put on bed are terrible. We found a small dead bug on the sheets. We spent 1 nightmarish night in the hotel (because the manager refused to give us back the money), we paid in cash to the reception and he told me to "get my money from booking.com" and that I'm a liar, the room is nice and there is not any bug in his hotel. The next morning an employee of his, much more polite and customer oriented convinced him to give us the money back for the second day and we left the hotel immediately after.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domnitarugina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Like other reviews said, this hotel is in a great location. The closest gate is Herod's gate which is where the Via Dolorosa is. Also, the Garden Tomb is within walking distance, one of the most peaceful places in Jerusalem (plus FREE). The walk to Jaffa Gate, where many of the attractions are, is within 15 min walking (albeit uphill). Nearby there are a lot of smaller shops & restaurants for the locals so the prices are a bit cheaper than the rest of extremely-expensive Jerusalem though most close on Fridays because the hotel is in the Muslim quarter (Friday is their holy day). In the afternoon & early evening, a lot of food stalls pop up for cheap but yummy eating. There's also a broasted chicken eatery up Saladin St. with good filling takeaway portions for good prices. The Damascus Station for the light rail is less than 10 min walking away.

The owner of the hotel is super nice, saying hello every morning & always asking how our stay was and if we needed anything. Our room was basic but we don't need much & the TV had 3 English-speaking channels where we watched a lot of movies. The room has a air con/heater which kept us toasty through the night. Plus there are extra blankets in the closet if needed. The breakfast selection is quite extensive & filling. Our stay was very pleasant. The price is decent compared to other hotel prices. So, overall a good value.

There were only 2 downsides to our stay. 1) Our shower rod fell down when my husband went to hang up his towel but we managed to stick it back up 2) The wi-fi was sort of wonky, going on & off, but the wi-fi in the nearby lounge was strong and steady for the most part.

Room Tip: Room in the back will be quieter. Rooms near the lounge will have better wi-fi (plus it's close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crsgrl1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Being just a stone's throw from the Old Jerusalem, this hotel is an ideal one for visitors to the old city and other historical sites nearby, such as Bethlehem and Jericho. My room was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was excellent and the dining room was beautiful. The lack of an elevator was not much of a problem. Also, the manager was very helpful in arranging trips and getting me to the airport. However there were some negatives. Firstly, the air condition made the room too cold for me and I had to opt for open windows, especially at nights. Secondly, every time I took a bath the floor of the toilet got flooded. Lastly, the cost of laundering was too exorbitant. In spite of these negatives, I would still give this hotel a positive rating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a budget hotel so i was not expecting much. However, we were very badly bitten by bed bugs. First in room 290. Then the owner moved us to 289 and during that night we were bitten so badly that i needed to seek medical advice. I had at least 100 bad bites on my arms and body. Theo owner does not want to take any responsibility for this situation and suggested that i was bitten elsewhere. Well, this was the first place we stayed in on this holiday so it was not possible. After some persuasion he refunded us 50 dollars which i had to spend on medication to treat those bites. Stay away if you can or pray that you do not get a reaction to those bites. It can be very painful and irritating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Renata R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

As I was saying in my review of New Imperial at Jaffa Gate, we were diverted to this Hotel Rivoli in the Arab side by the Damascus Gate for $100 per night for three persons. Not Bad specially including Breakfast. This hotel is Infront of the Jerusalem Police station by the Herod's Gate. SO we really felt very safe. The room is nice, decent and has a very strong AC. The only drawback is there's no elevator, but we're just on the second floor. There's a nice big lounge with WiFI and computer. The Manager of this hotel made the difference because he was very accomodating, helpful and assisted us in our itinerary of the city. He even help us to secure a nice taxi to the Dead Sea and Jericho for 4 hrs back and forth for $200. meaning, the taxi driver took us to the Dead Sea and waited for us till we get done for 2 hrs, and then took us to Jericho, waited for us for 1 hr and then took us back to the hotel. On our flight day back to Budapest, he kept our luggage until 4 pm after our check out at 12pm so we can still ran around the city before our Sherut (shared Van taxi) took us to the TelAviv Airport. This Hotel is in the Arab side with many stores and restaurants lined up after the police station, so there's a lot of places to eat and shop. I will go back to this hotel should I return to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PalawanStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When we first got here I really wanted to start crying!! The room looked like something from the 1930's , very old décor, no mod cons but spacious, clean & everything you really need.

Location is right next to the old city, this is not the new shiny part of Jerusalem but the old arab bit so it's quite noisy & grubby outside. But there's lots of food shops right outside & it's right next to the old town which is where you really want to be.

Breakfast was really good!

Good value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 21998neptun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerusalem
Inbar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arad
131 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#50 of 101 in Jerusalem
240 reviews
Kaplan Hotel
#61 of 101 in Jerusalem
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 101 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
Royal Hotel Dead Sea
#15 of 17 in Ein Bokek
77 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#82 of 101 in Jerusalem
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Hotel

Address: 3 Salah e-Din | P.O Box 19599, Jerusalem 9711026, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range: £51 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rivoli Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing