We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, cheap, but in the right place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rivoli Hotel
Ranked #35 of 56 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic, cheap, but in the right place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very basic hotel. Very cheap compared to other hotels in the old city. Has free WIFI. They have a basic breakfast. 5 min walk to the Damascus Gate. Many shops near by. I've stayed there many times, not the Hilton but if your on a budget then I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusufdouer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    33
    38
    10
    12
See reviews for
25
25
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you are seeing Jerusalem on a tight budget, the Rivoli may fit the bill. Yes, it is fairly basic though it does have wi-fi which is more effective you get to the lounge. The positioning is good, near to Herod's Gate for easy access into the Old City, with the Police Station and Post Office just across the road.
Lounge and dining areas are up the stairs on the first floor, with more rooms on the second floor. breakfast and evening meal are both buffet-style and perfectly adequate. Tea and coffee is via the tea-bag or powder and hot water from the urn. Water and juice is served with the meal. Alcohol of off-limits, so give your liver a rest.
Rooms are dated with no views worth speaking of at the back, whereas the front views are busy and some evenings a little noisy. Resort to the seasoned travellers friend....earplugs. The room we were in did not have a hairdryer, so a travel version is recommended.
Other have commented on the shower and it does take a little getting used to, but it wets and cleans you.
In short, it ain't the Ritz and it does not pretend to be. We found the owner and his family very helpful. Relax and enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyretiree63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The rooms are basic, en suite but with a very odd shower set up, air con, no fridge, rooms at back are nice and quiet but with no view, although I don't think the front would be noisy. Older staff were great, younger ones OK. Breakfast was pretty basic and the coffee awful, large TV lounge, although I didn't see guests using accept during breakfast. In the Arab part of town so cheaper, for the most part the local restaurants close early and don't serve alcohol, but the staff can point you in the right direction if you want a tipple.
Over all if you don't mind dated, this is good for the price, right next to Herods Gate. Beds were very comfortable and WiFi reached our room - just.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
1,138 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I never give 1s. This place is absolutely horrible.

Hot water only 5 hours per day.
Horrible security. Keys left on front desk for anyone to pick up.
While rooms are being cleaned all doors left wide open for hours.
Locked in at night. Front door locked from the inside. Burn to death in a fire.
Overbooked on 1st night. Put me at an even worse place called Capitol Hotel.
Staff sleeps on the couch in the guest TV lounge (only place where internet works).
Power plugs in the room have burn marks.

Hotel is like staying in post-USSR Belarus, North Korea, or Cuba.

Room Tip: No room in this hotel is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We booked online via Booking.com (excellent service) as we had done all our other hotels through them, the hotel reported that we were noshows, I took this up with Booking.com but am still awaiting resolution. They overcharged us for an extra night on our credit card. Booking.com had to step in to get us a refund.Anyways the location is the only plus here, apart from that its awfully rundown, old frniture not cleaned and only use the bathtub if you want to fall down, it is half a tub and you need to shower at a very awkward angle. Breakfast is the same daily despite local breads and fruits being sold cheap just outside the hotel. Staff is not very friendly at all, always watching TV not bothering with guests, the safe is a joke, as they lock the stuff in there and keep the key! During our stay there was a large group on their way to Saudi Arabia, they had $200 dollars stolen from their room, they were kept waiting ages for the owner to resolve the issue and were very disappointed. It is pricey for what it is, but the convenience is the only plus factor.

Room Tip: National hotel is nearby, excellent but a bit more pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabiha54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel has only 2 good things (the location - for the ones who want to stay close to the Old Town gate (but in the very dirt and noisy part of Jerusalem and part of the personnel). The manager is a very rude person who offends the guests if they don't like the terrible conditions they are supposed to stay in. The rooms are clean (smells like cleaning products all over) but the furniture, the carpet, the blanket put on bed are terrible. We found a small dead bug on the sheets. We spent 1 nightmarish night in the hotel (because the manager refused to give us back the money), we paid in cash to the reception and he told me to "get my money from booking.com" and that I'm a liar, the room is nice and there is not any bug in his hotel. The next morning an employee of his, much more polite and customer oriented convinced him to give us the money back for the second day and we left the hotel immediately after.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank domnitarugina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Like other reviews said, this hotel is in a great location. The closest gate is Herod's gate which is where the Via Dolorosa is. Also, the Garden Tomb is within walking distance, one of the most peaceful places in Jerusalem (plus FREE). The walk to Jaffa Gate, where many of the attractions are, is within 15 min walking (albeit uphill). Nearby there are a lot of smaller shops & restaurants for the locals so the prices are a bit cheaper than the rest of extremely-expensive Jerusalem though most close on Fridays because the hotel is in the Muslim quarter (Friday is their holy day). In the afternoon & early evening, a lot of food stalls pop up for cheap but yummy eating. There's also a broasted chicken eatery up Saladin St. with good filling takeaway portions for good prices. The Damascus Station for the light rail is less than 10 min walking away.

The owner of the hotel is super nice, saying hello every morning & always asking how our stay was and if we needed anything. Our room was basic but we don't need much & the TV had 3 English-speaking channels where we watched a lot of movies. The room has a air con/heater which kept us toasty through the night. Plus there are extra blankets in the closet if needed. The breakfast selection is quite extensive & filling. Our stay was very pleasant. The price is decent compared to other hotel prices. So, overall a good value.

There were only 2 downsides to our stay. 1) Our shower rod fell down when my husband went to hang up his towel but we managed to stick it back up 2) The wi-fi was sort of wonky, going on & off, but the wi-fi in the nearby lounge was strong and steady for the most part.

Room Tip: Room in the back will be quieter. Rooms near the lounge will have better wi-fi (plus it's close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crsgrl1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerusalem
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#76 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#32 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#85 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Mount of Olives Hotel
#72 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Oasis Negev
#9 of 9 in Arad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Hotel

Property: Rivoli Hotel
Address: 3 Salah e-Din | P.O Box 19599, Jerusalem 9711026, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rivoli Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing