We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ritz Hotel
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

stayed at this hotel in april last year, only got round to doing a review now.
great hotel. clean, and all the people at the reception desk are very polite and friendly.
negatives: are hotel is a bit dated, room service is hard to get hold of, no kettle for tea in the morning. i would prefer to be closer to Al-Aqsa mosque. but only a 10 min walk there.
positives: fantastic breakfast buffet. lots and lots of items. roof-top terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aabs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    81
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
44
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel manager Mr Dahdal and restaurant manager Mr Jamal (spelling?) were very accomodating and helpful. Great personal service. They welcome us with drinks, assisted well with all of our needs. Great food! The location is perfect, walking distance to Old City Jerusalem. It was my 2nd time staying there and will definitely go back again. Had a bday party on our last day with excellent cake and champagne. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guccikona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, and love it, it is really 4 stars hotel in Israel
Staffs were friendly, clean room and bath room, comfortable bed,
Good location, close to old City maybe less than 10 mins walk,
breakfast was good,
Definitely if I travel to Jerusalem, i will stay there again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Hotel is located in the area of East Jerusalem (Arab area), very close to the Old City. Good location and quiet area.
The room are large and new. Free wi-fi in all the rooms, but the connection is slow.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brende_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in Jerusalem and if you do not choose the Ritz hotel, you are waisting your time.Good luck....because Reception, service, food, rates, cleanliness, everything is perfect. What else?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Hotel is close to the Old City--quick walk to Herod's Gate or the Damascus Gate, 5 minutes from the Garden Tomb. The room was good sized with comfortable beds (it sounded like everyone in our group of 30 had twin bed rooms), but the room and bathroom could have been cleaner. The shower didn't drain fast enough to keep it from flooding out into the bathroom floor and ants kept showing up on the desk and in the bathroom. The restaurant staff was excellent and cheerfully helpful. Since we didn't spend too much time in our rooms, this place was adequate from a hotel standpoint, but excellent from a location standpoint. The cleaners across the street is owned by the same people and provided quick, reasonably priced service, too. Don't expect a view, but do expect to be able to get into the Old City and feel safe/comfortable doing so from this base.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattis823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset england
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We arrived at Tel Aviv airport late evening, private transfer did not turn up, After many phone calls back to the UK help centre, 2hrs later we eventually got are transfer, it does take about 60min, So we were 3hrs late checking in and it was almost mid night. The driver hardly said a word on the transfer, even though he spoke good English. The only real comment he made was, as we approached the hotel, his words not ours, don't go out at night as its not safe, this is an Muslim area, Well great start to our holiday, just try and half scare us on arriving at the hotel, We checked in fine, but the restaurant was now closed, we asked if there was anywhere we could get some food local, the guy at reception pointed to a little shop just 100yds down the street, it was like a takeaway kebab shop, we got a great takeaway falafel sandwich which was really tasty, time for bed. We had a nice room on the 3rd floor, overlooking the street with a balcony. We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay here a lot. This hotel is situated in the Muslim area and only 10-15 min walk to the old city. The area is not scary at all, everyone was friendly and helpful. We think the driver warned us because he was from a different religion. The receptionists and waiters are all very nice, and very helpful, the area does look a bit run down, but don't be put off by it. There are many other hotels at the end of the street and it felt like a very safe area, lots of children walking to school in the mornings. The guy at reception spoke great English, and helped us booking the full day tour of the old city, new city and Bethlehem, cost about £75 English each, (Bein Harim Tourisim Services) wow what a tour, and well worth every penny. They pick you up from the hotel take you to a central point, then you join your group for the day, Quick trip round the new city, Garden of Gethsemane, Mt of olives, then a great walking tour of the old city, all four quarters and the Dolorosa, holy Sepulchre, western wall, Golden Dome etc. late afternoon back on the bus and over to Bethlehem, not scary at all crossing the border, We had a great guide in Bethlehem and had a great meal, across the road from the Church of the Nativity, Then mini bus back to the hotel, Wow what a trip and it gave us are bearings to go out on foot the next day, as almost everything in Jerusalem is within walking distance from the Ritz hotel. We then spent a full day touring round the old city on our own, great little coffee and pizza shops all over the place and very safe with all the tourist police and army guys dotted around the city. We had a fantastic time at the Ritz, nice roof top terrace to chill out with drink or 2 in the evening, Tip Take your own Drink, We always buy a couple of bottles of Voddy at the airport, then de-cant one in to a water bottle, then when in hotels just buy the coke or Pepsi, as many hotels in Muslim country's don't sell spirits. We would definitely use this hotel again if we end up back in Jerusalem. Good value for money. Breakfeast was ok nothing to shout about, just standard soft drinks, coffee, tea, fruit, toast, eggs etc. We did try the buffy one evening, well not that good, go out locally you get a better choice and better food for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike424u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#32 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#46 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Legacy Hotel
#49 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
#60 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Hotel

Property: Ritz Hotel
Address: 8 Ibn Khaldun, Jerusalem 9710204, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ritz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Hotel located in downtown East Jerusalem is one of the first hotels built in the sixties. It is nestled in the heart of the commercial district, an enjoyable stroll to the Old City of Jerusalem with magnificent holy and historical sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing