We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice -- Almost”

Scala - Chef kitchen & bar
Ranked #293 of 729 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: US$11 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mammilla
Description: An exclusive restaurant in the heart of Jerusalem, combines complete elegance, and urban lifestyle with contemporary taste. A collaboration of the best local ingredients and international cooking techniques creates an original Mediterranean kitchen that will please every culinary lover. The menu consists of medium-sized dishes, perfect for sharing. The SCALA experience is completed by professional and friendly service. SCALA, is a kosher restaurant targeting a diverse clientele: tourists, diplomats, businessman and local food lovers.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Very Nice -- Almost”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal. Food was top notch but it was somewhat slow in coming. We were with a small group. The bread was warm and very good as were the accompaniments, the goose liver was cooked perfectly. However my lamb shank was pretty dry and was screaming for a sauce to go with it. I ordered a vodka on the rocks with one green olive - I said it very plainly and she repeated it back to me but I got a dish of black olives. Same thing happened to me at a different restaurant here. Come on - this is the land of olives - but they claimed they were out. Sorry folks, a dish of black olives is not the same!!! And you should know better!!! If you're out of green olives (how could you be?) offer a twist of something.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    19
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Good food - small portions - expensive”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were suggested to sit in armchairs by a low table, which did not seem either comfortable nor romantic for us. We were celebrating an anniversary and had told this when we booked. So we instead sat by a small cafe table (I dont think there was even a flower at the table).

The wait staff were helpful, very nice and gave us good suggestions. We had chicken, but we were very happy that we were not so hungry, because the portion was so small! After we had different deserts. The food is good, but we cannot say excellent. And like all reviews say, the meal was very expensive!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AroundTheWorld000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“slow food........”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

before i start--we won an eluna coupon to go to scala.when we presented the coupon,the waitress took away the original menus and gave us a different menu with many less choices--there were three appetizers,2 mains and 3 desserts.this was not stated on the coupon...and we will be in touch with eluna.
we came to celebrate our anniversary

the food was good plus...but the service was so slow. we waited--on the clock 35 minutes for the appetizers,30 minutes for the main course and 18 minnutes for dessert.the bill which was basically covered by the coupon only had to add the 2 glasses of wine we ordered--off coupon--took close to 20 minutes to finish.

the food was --good plus--but because of the limited selection--first course was a choice of salad, thin steak or beef carpacchio,the main course was either trout or steak-i was dissapointed.i had been looking forward to goose liver which was on the regular menu.

don't come here if you have any kind of time constraint--when we told the waitress that the service was so slow--they did comp us another glass of wine(the first one was finished way before the food arrived,since we waited so long)and she told us they were very busy--there were many empty tables.

there were also young kids being served next to us----i was surprised that at such a pricey restaurant they had high chairs----we had come for a quiet dinner...having little kids next to us was not part of my plan for the evening

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karyn1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Incredible dining experience”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great food, service second to none, best restaurant visited in Israel. Well worth a walk or cab ride to get to it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hicks3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly delicious yummies”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Right after we were set at the table, we knew we decided on the best possible choice in Jerusalem. Being here in December everything was calm and running in nice atmosphere. The service was friendly and professional as well. Food was made out of fine ingredients and wine was absolutely stunning. I can only recommend and definitely will visit this cozy restaurant again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaggieMcCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scala - Chef kitchen & bar also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Scala - Chef kitchen & bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing