We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Eucalyptus

The Eucalyptus
Ranked #6 of 728 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Authentic Biblical cuisine using wild herbs that celebrate innovation and ancient recipes. Located at the beginning of the New Artist Colony not far from the Old City, 5 minute walk from the Mamilla shopping corridor.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I was organizing a conference. We held the Banquet Dinner for 150 people in the Eucalyptus. Everyone told me after the dinner that it was one of the best meals they ever had. The atmosphere was great, the service very personal and the surrounding magnificent.

We went for the "flag" meal of the place - highly recommended.

Hearing Moshe's (the owner) description to the food's ingredients adds a special spice to the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    218
    80
    39
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL EVENING OUT”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I recently took a group of 40 to this restaurant for dinner and was pleasantly surprised by the high standards and quality on offer. It was a fantastic evening.
Dinner was al fresco in the garden and, because it was a chilly evening, management not only lit gas heaters but also supplied warm wraps for everyone.
The food was typical family-style mediterranean mezze which was tasty and filling. Dishes kept coming and we were all impressed with the variety offered and the efficiency of the waitrons.
Drinks were not included in the group package and I thought that quality was good and prices were reasonable.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the restaurant for a group function and will definitely take a group there in the futre.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Un One Word, perfect”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had dinner there with seven friends. We had a very professional and smiling welcome (sweet Esther) and excellent food. Certainly one of the better places in this extraordinary city.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank docpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Through work, I took a small group of partners from overseas (mostly Europe) that came to visit us to The Eucalyptus. Everyone enjoyed the delicious food and wine! The salads and soups were divine.
The service wasn't that great. I had to ask them a number of times to clear empty plates and serving dishes. In addition, they made a small mistake in the order.
Overall it was a great experience and the chef Moshe Basson is such a delight and made the evening that much nicer!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food was excellent but the service was slow”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We arrived close to their opening after sabbat. The service was incredibly bad but the food was very good. So if you like bad service but good food, this is the place for you. Just expect to hang around a couple of hours.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eucalyptus also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Eucalyptus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing