We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Black Jerusalem

Black Jerusalem
Ranked #41 of 716 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Down Town West Jerusalem
Description: This is a chain of restaurants throughout Israel They're basically a Kosher gourmet burger joint. They have fancy burgers (lamb burger, spinach and nuts, garlic confit, etc...) and good appetizers and desserts.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Not only do they offer menus in Hebrew & English but also bring an iPad to your table so you can see the dishes you want to order, with a smile and good service and tasty food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GetBusyLivinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    42
    17
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed with cold and poor food and service”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We eat in this restaurant usually once a month and always encounter problems but last night was our worst experience.

We arrived at 1900 and the restaurant was not very busy so there was no excuse for the poor quality of the food and the service.

We ordered a starter of sweet potato chips.

They were obviously made earlier because they were cold.

And If they were made on the spot.. then the waiter might have simply forgot to bring them to us since the waiter needs to go upstairs to bring down the food which can easily cause the hot food to cool off... It came with sweet and sour chili sauce

The delicious tatar sauce that usually comes with the chips was missing and when we asked the waiter why... he brought us thina instead of the tatar sauce.



My wife ordered a poppey burger on whole wheat roll and requested from the waiter that since she is diabetic she only wanted half of the roll with her burger on it and the other half should be left off the grill and given to her to take home with no contact with meat or the grill. simply ..a room temperature half of a whole wheat roll.

Instead the waiter brought both halves cooked on the grill with meat fat on them. When my wife complained that she did not request this. They took back the grilled half of a whole wheat roll and then they brought her a hard old half of a whole wheat roll to take home. .It turned out to be un eatable.

I ordered the poppey burger as well and requested it very well done... when it arrived it was totally red inside...rare...it was as if I never requested well done.

..They took it back and by then my wife was finished with her meal. When mine finally arrived it was still somewhat rare inside but at that point I could no longer complain.

Each time we have ordered a well done burger in this restaurant it needs to be returned as it is always rare and red inside. They never get it right the first time.

The music and screens are very very loud and do not add to a romantic atmosphere... You can barely hear yourself speak.

The staff means well and even asks how everything is... but out of embarrassment I could not say..awful or terrible.

Usually when you ask for the check you get hand wipes and tooth picks but this time they never arrived and it took for ever to get the check and I had to ask for a tooth pick as none were visible for customers to take.

We always thought that Black Bar n Burger was the best burger place around... but after last night... forget it! We were very disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newyorkavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“more than simply fast food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This chef's restaurant has a large choice of tasty high quality hamburgers and other meat and vegetarians plates, beautifully served by a friendly staff.
It's worth a visit, (but only if the upper floor is open!).
Not far from the Old City of Jerusalem and near the Mamilla Mall

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
337 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Ok burger at an ok price.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We found Black burger after another restaurant was not open for dinner yet and someone passing by recommended it. The meat was fresh and cooked well and the egg on top was delicious. It is a kosher restaurant which meant no cheese, but the egg made up for that. The fries were good and alcoholic drinks were reasonably priced for the area. But I would be amazed if there wasn't better burgers close by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GDGandTBiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hamburgers are large and thick and cooked to perfection! Black's offer a great variety of sandwiches but the hamburgers are worth the trip. The waiters were very helpful to us as we don't know how to speak Hebrew.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Jerusalem also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Black Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing