We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... service leaves one wanting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Aqaba, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location... service leaves one wanting.”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The location is good due to its proximity to the Old City. The rooms are merely average. The breakfast is severly overpriced (22 USD) and there wasn't flecks of gold in the orange juice or anything.

I'm an American living in Jordan who traveled to the Leonardo via my private car. When I'm paying for a room at a hotel I expect the parking to be included. At the Leonardo you must pay 20 shekels for a few hours. Upon arrival the security attendant was busy on her mobile phone and unwilling to acknowledge me... actually she turned her back to me when I motioned for her to open the gate. Upon calling to her to open the gate she quickly opened it without any precautions (taking down license plate, checking trunk, asking if I was a guest). Since she didn't do her job I was awoken at 11:30pm by the front desk demanding that I speak with the Israeli bomb squad which had been attempting to break into my car since they had no clue whose car it was.

The manager sent a bottle of wine up to our room to make up for the inconvenience... which they delivered to the wrong room. Not too bright.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    457
    226
    82
    64
See reviews for
373
334
69
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the former east Jerusalem area. Staff is mixed Arab and Jewish. Very friendly and helpful, especially in the reception. Rooms are big and nice but not perfectly clean as I like them to be. Some stains and dust on the carpet. Room furnitures are 'used' and with scratches. Drawers not running smoothly. Big and confy bed. Tiolet is separated from bathroom. Just perfect.
Lobby restaurant service is slow.
Breakfast is very rich with a nice variety. Plenty of food. People with big eyes are filling their plates with mountains of food, half of which is going down the drain....
Overall good value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosh1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is a modern, well maintained, well managed hotel within easy walking distance of the Damascus Gate to the Old City. St. Georges Church is across the street and the light rail train to the city center or Jaffa Gate is also close by. So this location is ideal!

The hotel staff are professional and friendly. Especially the front desk, bar staff and the people working at breakfast. The breakfast buffet is 60 NIS which sounds a little pricey, but the quality is exceptional and it might be the best meal around. My only criticism is that with the abundant fresh fruit in Israel, they could improve by offering fresh squeezed orange and grapefruit juice.

The rooms are large, quiet and clean. The beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is clean, modern and stocked with the usual amenities. There is a coffee/tea service in the room.

There are 2 hotels located next door which gives some variety for restaurants and lounges within close walking distance. There is a large underground parking garage and the cost is very reasonable.

For the price, this hotel is my top choice for visiting the Old City, City Center or other locations around Jerusalem.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwebb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Very comfortable rooms ,an excellent position in center of Jerusalem , closed to a lot of attractions and specially an excellent team .The breakfast is very good.,very assorted ,all the products are very fresh and the food very tasty.
All the long of the day we received help and answers to all our question or request

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the Old City
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedvagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I spent 3 nights and four days on the 4-7th of February at the Leonardo Hotel in Jerusalem as part of an international convention of JA-YE Europe & Young Entrepreneurs Israel.
The guests were very pleased with all of the hotels services: the food was fantastic (a great variety and plentiful), the rooms were comfortable and the staff was very hospitable.
I would like to point out Gila from the hotel management who made a special effort to see to it that our convention was a success.
I highly recommend staying and hosting at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaC0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

spend a weekend at this hotel with some friends
the location is great it is located in front of what it used to be the no mans land frontier post before 1967 six days war so you can jump from east jerusalem to west jerusalem all the time
it's a walking distance from the old city (jaffa gate or nablus (schjem)gate)
lot of fine 1917-1948 buildings around (british,italian,german architecture)some reminding cambridge or italian villas on saturdays the hotel gives you one or two tourist guides who takes you to for a 2 hours free guided tour around the area(old city or rockefeller museum east jerusalem)
don't forget to visit the austrian hospice near via dolorosa station number 4 and deligth yourself with some strudell pie and coffe the austrian way (around 5 euro)
there is a small chapell at the place erected by the austrian emperor on his visit at the beginning of the 20 century
visit also the american colony also for a 5 o' clock tea (18$pp includes sandwiches and cakes)
visit the garden tomb on nablus road (10 minutes walk from the hotel)
saturdays you can visit MEA SHEARIM ultra jewish ortodox quarter , ladies please cover all your body with clothes
you have on the main road in front of the hotel the tram station wich will take to all other jerusalem visits places

Room Tip: higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We found a deal online that included a huge breakfast (gourmet brunch), new train ride to the shouk, a tour of the market and surrounding area, and Friday night dinner. Saturday another breakfast was included. Since it was the Shabbat, we paid a bit extra and stayed until Sat. Nt. We also took a walking tour (3 wondeful hours) that ended at the Wailing Wall and thoroughly enjoyed our guide even with my limited amount of Hebrew. He found all the little nooks and crannies and a fabulous view atop one of the buildings. Our room was on the top floor, nice view, comfie bed, and large bathroom. The only extra is parking($5 per day) and the Internet, which we didn't need so unsure of price. I would recommend it as it is a great central location and fair price. Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view and double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,005 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,327 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 9 Saint George | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9720918, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the city in which it is situated, Leonardo Classic Jerusalem is a unique meeting point of old and new, history and modern life. Leonardo Classic Jerusalem offers a special holiday in a unique environment, the one that combines the treasures of the ancient city with the luxury, progress and quality of modern life. In Leonardo Classic Jerusalem you can put your worries aside and enjoy a classic holiday. Free International Phone Calls -Exclusively ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing