We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretending to be 4 star” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretending to be 4 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is run by the rudest, most unhelpful hotel staff I have ever witnessed. Inefficiency and ignorance do not do the staff here justice. The hotel is of a poor standard in general with the pool area being particularly rough. The rooms have been refurbished but really done on the cheap with unfilled holes in the walls, blocked sinks and baths and no plugs for the wash basin or bath.

The sabbath or 'Shabbat' is on a Friday but I warn you don't try to get hot food from the bar on a Thursday evening after 6.30 because Shabbat starts here the evening before. We tried to get some hot food at around 6.35 and were told that there was no food after 7.00pm??? We said that it was only 6.35 and were told that the cooker couldn't be hot after 7.00pm so it needed to be switched off. Talk about being prepared. We had to then go to the main restaurant where the buffet is very expensive but this was okay to have hot food as it had been prepared before the day before Shabbat! Crazy....

This hotel forces the Jewish faith onto others, wrong.

The whole sorry visit was topped off when we checked out and were about to leave the hotel when my wife and I were barged aside in a doorway by a member of staff with a black bin liner.

I've read all the great reviews on is hotel and have to come to the conclusion that they're written by ringers who work for the hotel group or people who are used to staying in hostels!

Do yourself a favour and do not book this hotel. It's a 2 star at best and is in a no man's land.

Room Tip: Don't book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fattal_Hotel_Chain, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I was very disappointed and saddened to have read your review on Tripadvisor. I would like to send my sincere apologies for your unpleasant visit. However, I would like to address some of your concerns that you have bought to my attention. In regards to the unavailability of food from the bar prior to Shabbat, I must inform you that I have no say in when the burners are shut off. It is a mandatory rule for all hotels throughout Jerusalem for the burners to be switched off at a certain time, set by strict Rabbinical's who oversee the kosher standards of the hotel. While on the topic of the religious standards of our hotel, I must address that we under no circumstance force Judaism or any religion unto any one of our guests. While we do have regulations that are in accordance to the Jewish religion, we do not expect our guests to follow them. Each guest is in liberty to enjoy their stay as they wish. Nevertheless, I apologize that you have felt that way. In addition, it is very falsified to believe that other than our guest write the reviews on Tripadvisor. . Therefore, only guests are able to write the reviews and the only ones who have been writing the reviews.
Once again, I would like to send my apologies for the way in which you have concluded your visit. I would very much like and enjoy to have you return and stay at our hotel, as I am to do all I can to improve the quality of our hotel.
I will be happy to host you and your family again please feel free to contact me.
Sincerely,
Yael Hazan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    432
    212
    79
    59
See reviews for
355
310
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you want to visit jerusalem leonardo jerusalem is the hotel to stay and to enjoy your visit.we arrive to the hotel and got a nice room on the 8th floor what s view of east jerusalem we had our meals at the hotel and it was yummy we want the whole world to know that this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel itself was fine. We enjoyed many aspects of the hotel, including the top notch breakfast and dinner buffet, the swimming pool, and the proximity to the Old City and the light rail. Our room was relatively clean, with tile and hardwood floors, which always makes me feel better. The thing that turned me off was an obvious white stain on the blue couch.

Two downsides of the hotels are:
1) They hand out slips of paper with a wifi password that only works for 1 hour. They also limit you to 1 hour of wifi per day. None of the hotels we stayed at in the rest of Israel had this policy, even other Leonardo hotels. For some reason, if you have an Android, you can access Google services (Gmail, Maps) in the lobby without the password, but none of the other sites are accessible.
2) One of the managers offered our group extra wifi time in return for a tripadvisor review. We turned it down because that seemed rather shady. Maybe something to consider if you see a lot of glowing reviews.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadadrenaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our group of 4 stayed at the hotel as a part of a tour group. The hotel has been remodeled and is comfortable, welcoming, and clean. We enjoyed the meals provided for breakfast and dinner and the staff are helpful and friendly. They offer free long-distance phone calls to any country, but free wifi in 1 hour increments only and you must ask for the code. It is within walking distance of the Damascus Gate of the Old City and public transportation is nearby. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was splendid. I enjoyed my stay very much. This isnt our first time here and we love it everytime we come here . The service was very well and there is a big variety of food which made dinner even better!the food was great

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

One of a row of 3 huge tourist hotels -- the kind with big buses always waiting their turn at the entrance -- on a small street near the edge of the Arab section of Jerusalem, and I liked this one better than its neighbor, the Grand Court. Excellent, bountiful Israeli breakfast -- if you don't know what that means, combine the best breakfast buffet you've ever visited with a lunch buffet/salad bar (fresh fruits and veggies, several different kinds of fish, vats of yogurts and hummuses) -- and if you order a meal in the lobby bar, it comes very fresh from the dinner buffet, so even if you order the same menu item several times, it will have variations depending on what's on offer downstairs. Has an outdoor pool, spacious lobby areas, and its own synagogue. Access to Jerusalem's light rail line and excellent city bus service is within very close walking distance, and once you get your bearings, the Damascus Gate to the Old City is easy to reach on foot. Hallways on the sleeping-room floors are pretty shabby, but the rooms themselves are large and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Outside noise can be a problem if your room is on a lower floor and facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamer1564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Irritating lifts that had a mind of their own
Powercut - though not hotel's fault
Broken shower nob - took 2 days and several reminders to get fixed
Kettle that didnt want to turn off, over heated and cracked mirror in end
Annoying 1hrs free wifi only and meant endless trips to reception to get the keycode.
Gym with bizarre opening hours - 3-7pm.

After that, we had a very large corner room that had amazing space for a cot, pushchair and a lively 10 month old to crawl around in. Good sized bathroom. Separate toilet. Great comfy bed.

Good breakfast with selection of cake, bread, cereals, salad, fruits, eggs, fish and cheese. Good waiter service and attentative staff.

Small pool area and shaded over by 3pm. There again you dont come to Jerusalem for sunbatbing for 2 weeks.

We knew the hotel and area as stayed previously next door at the Grand Court. Arab area to the rear of hotel and religious area across the road/tram line. 20 min walk to old city and Ben Yuhuda shopping area. We walked everywhere including new Old Train station area and Mahane Yehuda market.

Hotel was clean, spacious and busy with lots of tour groups coming/going during our 4 day stay there.

Would we stay here again. Depends on what we were doing and planning on visiting. Some areas like Old City and Mamillia are walkable others not.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LizzzzyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#24 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 9 Saint George | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9720918, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the city in which it is situated, Leonardo Classic Jerusalem is a unique meeting point of old and new, history and modern life. Leonardo Classic Jerusalem offers a special holiday in a unique environment, the one that combines the treasures of the ancient city with the luxury, progress and quality of modern life. In Leonardo Classic Jerusalem you can put your worries aside and enjoy a classic holiday. Free International Phone Calls -Exclusively ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing