We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #19 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The breakfast tasted very good. There are lots of choices to choose from which made it even better. The dinning room was very big and beautiful and I hope to come here again! And thank you Yael the guest relations manager for making my stay more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yael h, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. We are pleased to have read that you enjoyed our hotel, especially our breakfast. We hope to be of service on your next stay to our city.

Best wishes,
Yael - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 2,157 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

July 11th - 12th. Areas of the hotel need to be refurbished. We had to ask to have our room changed because the carpet was so dirty I would not take my shoes off. We were given a better room but the hotel needs to be refurbished. It took 3 times to get a door lock to work but even that we had to have the maintenance crew come up and work on the door. The bathroom had calking that had a moldy, brown, old grout that needs to be taken care of. The down stairs ladies room is old and needs maintenance to the walls, the floors, the bottom of the doors of the stalls. The hotel needs to be refurbished. I did not find the location to have any advantages.

The food was excellent.

The staff was very helpful when red alerts occurred.

The front desk staff has professional and courteous even during the hectic check-in and check-out time.

The pool area is very nice.

I thought it was expensive for what we received. We paid $330 for one nite and check out after Shabbot.

My expectations of a Fattal hotel were much higher.

Room Tip: If not happy, ask for a different room. We stayed on the lower floors and the rooms were not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yael h, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the the time in writing a review regarding our hotel. We were pleased to have read that you enjoyed our food and that our staff was courteous. We take your feedback very seriously. Therefore, we have forwaded your review to the relevant managers who will take it upon themselves to oversee the improvement of our hotel. We were happy to be of service and we hope to be of service again soon.

Best wishes,
Yael - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I had to write about leonardo jerusalem to let evryone about the great time we had first the location is next door to old city the train is across the street the room we got was large and the meals so good we had the best time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yael h, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words written in your review. We were glad to have read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit to our city.

Best wishes,
Yael - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Leonardo hotel is one of the best hotel I've been. That include the service the rooms the food and the most of all the great touch I got from!! ¡¡!!!!!!!! the staff. I will defently will be back
And I can I forget the great food so yummy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yael h, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. We were glad that you enjoyed our service and food. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Yael - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were basically fairly satisfied with our 2 x three nights at the Leonardo Jerusalem, although the hotel was larger and more "tour-group-oriented" than we would usually choose.

Our rooms, in particular 801, were pleasant enough, with balcony and a nice view, though the furnishing was curiously ascetic and "Spartan" for a high-end junior suite on the designated Business Floor. Room 862, another junior suite, again on the top floor, was very large and even more strikingly "empty". An entire yoga class could comfortably have worked out on the floor of the room, since there was no furniture to get in the way. A/C was OK, but soundproofing left a little to be desired. For such large and expensive rooms, the number of electrical outlets was rather small: charging phones, tablets, and cameras would have been tricky without the extension socket we brought with us.

Neither room exactly oozed cosiness, and the obstinate refusal to provide free WiFi except in annoying one-hour segments would have infuriated any real 'business floor' guests even more than it infuriated us. On our second stay, we did mysteriously get WiFi login and password slips of paper that allowed the luxury of 24 hours connection instead of just one hour. Even so, the norm in a hotel at these prices should now be free and unfettered WiFi access, without having to trot down to reception at regular intervals to bother the staff and beg for more time. I see that I am not by any means the first to complain about this.

The advertised minibar was not stocked: this did not bother us unduly, and we appreciated having a fridge, but some might wonder at the hotel's own room description on its website. Equally, as guests of one of the junior suites we were certainly not informed on arrival of the "VIP Amenities" (whatever they were) and complimentary coffee and cake in the lobby, as specified (again) on the hotel's website. Furthermore, the website suggests the spacious bathroom has bath/shower and WC, whereas the WC was in both cases rather inconveniently located in a separate room. Maybe some people prefer this. We were rather surprised at the lack of a bidet shower, but maybe these wonders of modern plumbing have not come to Israel yet.

Buffet breakfasts were good and well laid out, with an omelette chef on hand, except on Shabbat. The presence of many large coach-tour groups and - at the weekend - what looked like extended family parties meant that one needed a little luck in choosing when to eat: the dining room could get crowded at times.

Public areas are large, but once again not terribly cosy. I suppose it is a little unfair to want boutique hotel aesthetics in a big barn of a place with several hundred rooms, but it is all part of a larger problem here: where the Leonardo Jerusalem falls down rather dramatically in our view is on a certain lack of warmth and welcoming attitude.

It appears as if the staff culture, perhaps ordered at a corporate level from higher up in the Fattal hotel chain, is to be clinically cost-efficient without being cordial or friendly. All too often there was a lack of flexibility - as if the hotel staff were following a strict set of pre-ordained rules and regulations in the house manual and were given no choice in how to deal with clients. Trying to secure an extra hour for late check-out at the end of our first stay, when we were returning to the hotel a matter of 24 hours later, was an exercise that required consultation with three members of staff and left us feeling we had requested something quite outrageous. This is not a very customer-friendly way of doing things.

I can only assume that part of the trouble on the customer service front is a lack of loyal returning guests: most people around us seemed to be holidaymakers in a group on a short package stay seeing the essential Jerusalem sights, and if the guest is not likely to come back, there is less incentive to make him or her feel really welcome and appreciated. I do notice that a great many TA reviewers of the Leonardo are of the "1 Review" variety, and the words "tour" and "group" figure extensively in their reports. One might ask if these people actually have much independent choice in where they stay.

There were exceptions to the rule, of course: our online reservations were handled very well (special hat-tip to Anat Safer in Central Reservations) and certain members of the breakfast room staff were very friendly (the cappuccino lady was a real sweetie), but the overall impression, I'm sorry to say, was that "the guests are an unfortunate nuisance that comes with being in the hotel business", rather than “we offer tender loving care” (the official Fattal hospitality philosophy and mission statement).

This may sound like a harsh comment, but it is the reason we would probably consider a smaller, less "rigid" hotel next time, even if the facilities at the Leonardo (a nice enough pool [though opening hours were once again written in stone], the convenient East Jerusalem location relatively close to the Old City and Damascus Gate, the size of the room, etc, etc.) ticked most of our boxes.

In summary: a hotel guest should always feel WELCOMED as a guest, and not seen as just an individual with a working credit card. A few friendly smiles and some customer service charm training would help a lot!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms/suites facing east (even numbers, mostly) have balconies and (in many cases) a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Otyikondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yael h, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review regarding our hotel. We were pleased to have read you enjoyed the amenities that our hotel has to offer. We value your feedback and take it closely to our attention. We forwarded your feedback to the relevant managers who will take the necessary actions to improve ourselves. We will make sure our service is improved in order to make the guests feel more welcome. We were pleased to be of service and hope to do so again.

Best wishes,
Yael - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The check in staff were very quick, the rooms were quite small,  if you need ac, they offer only ac for 20f nothing more, we called to complain, they said that's what we give nothing colder.

The shower was very good, toilet is plain and simple like in a public bathroom.

We were woken up by noise from above rooms, from suitcases to pulling furniture, expensive WiFi and doesn't even work so fine, we even requested a refund.

Location is great if yoy want to be next to the old city, besides when there are Arab riots. 

I was promised a king bed received a queen, complained, was told I can't measure, well, I know what a king bed is.

The lobby is huge and nice, although the small pool closes at 6.

Very nice buffet breakfast, open only till 10, I wonder why.

The staff was not that eager to help.

You can park in the hotel garage.

I wouldn't return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank wein426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yael h, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review regarding our hotel. We are pleased to have read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We highly value your feedback and strongly take it to our attention. We forwarded your feedback to the relevant managers who will take it upon them to take the necessary actions in order to better ourselves. We were more than honored to be of service and we hope to be of service again.

Best wishes,
Yael - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is one of the larger hotels that we have stayed in, the lobby area is huge! Many tour bus groups stay here, and we were lucky that there weren't too many during our visit. As a single family traveling, we would have felt lost in the masses. Our room was comfortable, spacious and clean, even though we didn't have much of a view from our 5th floor room. The blackout curtains and air conditioner worked really well and we all slept comfortably during our stay. We appreciated having a separate toilet room and a nice bathtub in our bathroom. The wifi is free for only 1 hour per person per day, so I decided to buy a pass while my husband collected the free passes. I had technical trouble with the wifi I purchased and ended up in the lobby on the phone with tech services for half an hour in the middle of the night. It was sorted out, but it would just be nice if they offered free wifi without the fuss. We enjoyed the pool every day during our stay, although the opening hours can be restrictive for some early/late swimmers. I am guessing to reduce noise and be respectful for guests who are sleeping. The cafe/bar in the lobby was a nice place to take a break and sit and relax with some coffee and lovely cake. The breakfast buffet was nice and had a large selection and variety of food. Although the hotel is located in quite an isolated cluster of hotels, the tram was a quick 5 walk and the old city was also short distance away. Most of the staff were less than enthusiastic and not very welcoming. The only warmth we felt during our stay were from the servers during breakfast who were kind and offered great service. Overall, it was a satisfactory hotel stay where all our needs were met, but nothing extraordinary.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rkung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yael h, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We were pleased to have read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We were happy to be of service. We bought your feedback to our attention and we will use it to better ourselves. We are sure that your next stay with us will be extraordinary.

Best wishes,
Yael - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#32 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,174 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,075 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 9 Saint George | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9720918, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £107 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the city in which it is situated, Leonardo Classic Jerusalem is a unique meeting point of old and new, history and modern life. Leonardo Classic Jerusalem offers a special holiday in a unique environment, the one that combines the treasures of the ancient city with the luxury, progress and quality of modern life. In Leonardo Classic Jerusalem you can put your worries aside and enjoy a classic holiday. Free International Phone Calls -Exclusively ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing