We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“all about soup”
Review of Hamarakiya

Hamarakiya
Ranked #136 of 705 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Soups, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“all about soup”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

we wanted something different and the guys at our hostel citadel hostel recommended this place and for the surprise it was just great. good job

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Jerusalem!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I used to live in Jerusalem and have ate there many times. Every soup I've tasted was excellent, the price in very low, the service in friendly and the atmosphere is worm and homey. The best option in a cold winter day or night! You won't regret!!

Helpful?
Thank Noa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alassio, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you like casual dinner, this is your place”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

In this restaurant it is impossible to match two forks, or spoons or seats, or whatever. Everything seems collected around by a crazy genious but the result is a very warm and friendly atmosphere. Mostly young people but there is a place for everybody, as far as you are prepared to have a dinner on an old sewer machine table (I have seen one on this in my grandmother house). Food is very good - I personally tried hunnus and eggplants with cheese but I see other people eating greetly huge bowls of soup. Service is friendly and the bill will be very low. Do not forget to have a look at the chandelier.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Massimo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have eaten here twice in two weeks and found that the soups I ordered were excellent. Fresh and tasty. It's a good choice for lunch or for a very casual dinner with friends.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dillon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for Soup!”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Nice cosy little restaurant that serves great soup! Not sure if they serve other things but soup is what they are known for. Very busy when we went and get the feeling it's like that most nights. Only downside was the service was pretty slow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeMeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamarakiya also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hamarakiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing