We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what you see is what you get”
Review of Hamarakiya

Hamarakiya
Ranked #135 of 729 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“what you see is what you get”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This little place is clearly what it seems: a nice, relaxing, alternative, inexpensive vegan-friendly place. It has no ambition to be a proper "restaurant", as you will guess from the small menu of soups written down on a nice blackboard and from the informal ambience.
Was there with a large (and noisy) crowd of italian friends during a holiday - we occupied almost half of the place; everybody was very friendly. We had some hummus and dip cheese as an appetizer, then a soup (Jerusalem is cold at night even in spring!); everything was tasty. The bill was honest (around 60 shekels per head including wine).
I can see why the guys at lonely planet advised the place so strongly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCarlomagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“all about soup”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

we wanted something different and the guys at our hostel citadel hostel recommended this place and for the surprise it was just great. good job

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Jerusalem!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I used to live in Jerusalem and have ate there many times. Every soup I've tasted was excellent, the price in very low, the service in friendly and the atmosphere is worm and homey. The best option in a cold winter day or night! You won't regret!!

Helpful?
Thank Noa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alassio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you like casual dinner, this is your place”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

In this restaurant it is impossible to match two forks, or spoons or seats, or whatever. Everything seems collected around by a crazy genious but the result is a very warm and friendly atmosphere. Mostly young people but there is a place for everybody, as far as you are prepared to have a dinner on an old sewer machine table (I have seen one on this in my grandmother house). Food is very good - I personally tried hunnus and eggplants with cheese but I see other people eating greetly huge bowls of soup. Service is friendly and the bill will be very low. Do not forget to have a look at the chandelier.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Massimo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have eaten here twice in two weeks and found that the soups I ordered were excellent. Fresh and tasty. It's a good choice for lunch or for a very casual dinner with friends.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dillon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamarakiya also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hamarakiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing