We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant area and nice airy apartment”
Review of The Colony Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colony Suites
Tasmania
Level Contributor
750 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
“Pleasant area and nice airy apartment”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a week stay in the "Blue" apartment which is unit #6. Note that the address is 3/6 Hananya St which means unit 6 at street number 3 (the opposite of Australian addresses!) which caused a little confusion as we arrived.

Positives
- very clean
- great location near restaurants and supermarket
- large and airy
- well equipped kitchen plus washing machine

Negatives
- Kosher kitchen; we naively thought this just meant no pork and different utensils for meat and dairy. It actually means no meat at all... We did fine with eggs and fish, but if you want to self-cater meat then this won't work for you
- Broken blind and phone line didn't work
- Small TV (but many channels)

Overall, we would give 4.5 stars and would definitely stay again.

One funny thing was electricity - you pay separately; we were worried about this, but in the end the bill was NIS22; we used the washer twice and cooked many times. Perhaps the owners could just add a couple of dollars to the room rate rather than charging a separate cost?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonySuites, Owner at The Colony Suites, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment. I am glad you liked the location and found your stay pleasant. We checked the phone line and the cord was loose. New guests will now enjoy the channels on the larger screen that we installed and the missing piece for the blind has finally arrived! We charge electricity as an extra to bring our guests' awareness to their consumption, in the past we had people stay with us for a month, and leave the Air Con on for an entire week while they left to another city. The bill was astronomical for us.
You were very considerate guests and we would be happy to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
13
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We had a 2-bedroom apartment in the German Colony. It was in a great location, just a few blocks off the main street, so lots of shops and restaurants in easy walking distance. We had rented a car and it was easy to find free parking close by. The apartment rooms were clean and of good size and we took advantage of the kitchen and washing machine. The site manager, Linda, was very helpful. She came over to help us when we had a problem figuring out the safe and made calls on our behalf to secure us a taxi at a reasonable price to take us to Tel Aviv at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed in The Colony for 5 days in November and had a great time. The apartment is spacious and very well maintained. It is very close to Emek Refaim which is a lively area which has lots of restaurants and shops. It's about a half hour walk to the Old City but a quick taxi ride away. The apartment was very reasonably priced compared to the very expensive hotels in Jerusalem and you have the added bonus of being able to be completely self sufficient. Linda is also a pleasure to deal with and always responded very quickly to requests or questions. Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

One of the things we often have trouble finding at an affordable price is an apartment that is comfortable for our family of four with two kids who don't want to share a bed. The Colony Suites Blue Apartment is a great solution to that problem. The apartment is on a side street right off the main street of German Colony (Efek Rafaim). This means you are close to the restaurants and shops but we never had any trouble with noise. The bedroom has a comfortable bed while the living room has two fold out beds, a chair that turns into s single and a couch that turns into a double. The kitchen is basic but when we are traveling we are not interested in cooking, just being able to make tea in the morning (and there was plenty of tea provided, thanks Linda) and the like. Having a washing machine was a great bonus. You are minutes from the old city by bus and can even walk. We had a car and Linda arranged a parking space for us which was great. Linda was not around the day we arrived but arranged for the apartment owner to meet us. We called on our way into Jerusalem and he was there when we arrived. Check in was simple and quick as was check out.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kona
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The manager Linda was very professional and looked after us from the time when arranged the booking over the internet, on the day we arrived from the airport,during our stay and on the day we departed.She does not live on the property which is a block of about 5 apartments but is nearby and responds quickly.
The apartment is very conveniently located and you can walk to the Old City and local points of interest easily. It is clean and functional which is what we like and is better value than a hotel room.
We totally endorse the comments made in the other reviews that have been posted.

The Surprise was the beautiful walking/recreation track and area only 100 metres away which was the old railway line which has been converted into a bike track, walking track, meeting place for families and offers a pleasant change from the concrete traditional street scape.

Suggestions: Take some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as it can be a little noisy when the restaurants close sometimes, get a local coupon book for the restaurants nearby and you will generally save 10%, walk the local area first up and discover the beautiful areas.A car parking space may be available if you hire a car if you ask Linda.

Overall we felt very comfortable and secure during our 3 week stay and will rent the same room again when we next return to Jerusalem.

Enjoy your stay........you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Blue Room Apartment on the second floor had a nice sunny aspect to the street while the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The apartment was in excellent condition and very fully equipped. Location was terrific-- close proximity to Emek Rephaim, with parking generally available. Management was very quick in response to any requests

Room Tip: just decide if the second bedroom is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 960elliottp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Very clean and well maintained apartment in a great location for exploring Jerusalem. There are tons of places to eat nearby (including a couple open on Shabbat) andits walkable to the old City and a short cab ride to city center. Has air conditioning and a washing machine too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amhale611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,742 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,938 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Suites

Property: The Colony Suites
Address: Emek Refaim | German Colony, Jerusalem 91083, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Suites are stylish, self-contained holiday apartments for short term accommodation in the heart of the German colony Jerusalem. Suitable for singles and families ranging from a brief visit to a longer stay. Comfortable and elegant, the apartments are designed for maximum comfort. Nestled between the old and new parts of the capital, the German Colony is the most charming area in Jerusalem. Built by the German Templars in the 1870's, the area is known for its unique architecture and cafe culture. The colony is close to the major tourist sites (walking distance to the old city) and the host of several local attractions. There is no better location than Colony Suites, around the corner from the post-office, bank, supermarket, chemist, cafes and public pool and gym. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing