We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I booked a bed in a dorm there after reading the good reviews and wasn't disappointed at all.
First the location is perfect, halfway between the Old City(10 min walk) and the central bus station (idem).
Second the staff is really great.All of them are very nice and helpful and the reception is open 24h which is very useful.
There is a big kitchen and a huge common area where people can meet, have a drink, play music etc... The atmosphere is very nice, relaxed, and the hostel organizes daily activities such as quizz night or open mic night so you can stay there and have fun. But ut's not a party hostel, meaning you get to sleep without people shouting and drinking everywhere. There are people from all age groups.
Finally the dorms themselves are fine, there is hot water whenever you need it, and the breakfast is included which is great.
I really recommend this hostel for a short or long-term stay in Jerusalem

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ot1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,455 - 1,461 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

+
Clean and decent room with affordable price
Atmosphere- comfortable, young, energetic and sociable
Location- very close to light rail station and bus station heading for jaffa gate (by tram 3stops to Damascus gate it takes within 10 minutes)
Common area is very cozy, light amd wide enough.
Free wifi

-
Bathroom is a little bit small and hot shower needs some time
Every facilities is somewhat older and get worn out than picture. So it is not bad but I was slightly disappointed. The bulb in my bath room was gone and my door knob almost come off.
Location- Not in Old Town. It takes only 10minutes by tram however it takes at least 20-25minutes on foot. On sabbath there is no transportation at all! And the way from old city is uphill. (especially from damascus gate) 


Overall
As a hostel, this hostel is very nice. It has clean and cozy room and attractive mood. But don't expect too much seeing the photos. 
Location can be both positive and negative. 
It is not far from old city and sleep quietly without mosque sound. Also it is very close to Ben Yehuda and Hillel street which has a lot of cafe and restaurant
It is not difficult to reach old city, still it is not in old city. Especially on sabbath its location is critical. 
Rating 4 is reasonable for this hostel, however, painful memory that we struggled through uphill road with our big luggage because we arrived in jerusalem on sabbath is the reason for one minus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great place to start exploring Israel. Very friendly and helpful staff and great atmosphere with lots of interesting fellow guests. Open atmosphere. Do go on the free daily old city tour, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerZ_rich_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Excellent facilities, this hostel was by far over any expectation! Major highlight is the huge lounge with colorful and happy décor where all travelers can sit and relax, use the free wi-fi, enjoy cheap beers at the bar or a great freshly squeezed orange juice of the famous Israeli oranges. Tea and coffee are available for free all the time in the common kitchen, also part of the great lounge, where regular cooking lessons are taught in a family environment. Rooms are spotless, sheets and duvets high quality and lift is also available. Breakfast is free and includes fresh cottage and cream cheese, fresh vegetables in addition to regular toast with butter and jam. Cereal, fresh milk and fruits also available. Laundry and computer services make this place a complete home away from home! Another highlight are the tours, there is always a staff member in the reception area to explain and suggest what you can do and see – special thanks to Sofia! Yaron, Gal great job guys… keep it up!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalyTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

No doubt: all I can say about Abraham Hostel Jerusalem is positive (staff, building, situation, services...). A place to get back again and again :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

A really good, modern hostel/budget hotel.

Stayed in a basic and comfy private room, heard the dorms were nice too.

Massive common room/dining room/bar. Wide mix of ages/backgrounds staying there.

Great location 15 mins walk from old city and close to bars/restaurants/market in new town.

Travel centre has all the tours you need and a really good 'stay 5 nights get free Dead Sea tour' offer when we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Neat and clean, incredibly well run, great staff, fantastic vibe, and perfect location! We had a family sized room with private bath - perfect for a family on the go. Plenty of hot water (use the timer), the heat was good (assume in summer months the AC would work as well). Great hang out room - the kids (two teens) loved it. The breakfast was perfectly fine, plentiful but bare bones. Every one washes their own dishes and often the water is cold - this could be an issue. Also the staff is excellent - hard working, very knowledgeable. If you want to stay cheaply in Jerusalem - no easy feat - this is the place to do it!

Room Tip: Ask for a back room - these are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDig_EBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#40 of 102 in Jerusalem
682 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
619 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#34 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,156 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#12 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Hostel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Address: 67 Ha-Nevi'im | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 9470211, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: £17 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abraham Hostel Jerusalem 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abraham is known as the father of monotheism and was the first backpacker in the Middle East. He journeyed throughout the lands accepting hospitality from those whose homes he came to, and extending hospitality to anyone who passed near his tent. We wish to extend Abraham's Biblical hospitality to our time. We, the staff & owners of Abraham Hostels, created our dream hostel in Jerusalem to support travelers in the Middle East. The Abraham Hostel is located in Jerusalem's city center catering for independent travelers and small groups. Our location allows for easy walking access to all major sites such as the Old City or Mahane Yehuda Market. There are plenty of public transportation options right outside to various Jerusalem sites, as well as to the international airport and other cities in Israel and the West Bank. The hostel offers daily activities and tours in our ongoing effort to encourage travelers to make new friends and new experiences. Whether it's our hostel bar, traveler's information center or chill-out rooftop, we try to provide everything an independent traveler needs when travelling in the area. For those traveling outside Jerusalem there is a special discount when staying in Abraham Hostel Tel Aviv and the Fauzi Azar Inn in Nazreth, as well as special shuttle service between all three branches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abraham Hostel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing