We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but there were some disappointing moments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good, but there were some disappointing moments”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hostel is well maintained and very clean. I chose this hostel because of its social environment; they offer a variety of social events such as chill out night, movie night, happy hour, etc. Plus they were able to help book tours in and around Jerusalem. So this is a great place to stay if it will be your first time in Jerusalem.
The staff were all generally very nice and ready to help out. However, they need to pay more attention to paying attention. When my friend and I booked in, we were given a card with our room number without a key, but it turned out that they gave us the wrong room, since we had booked the mixed dorms. We then finally got to our dorm room in the basement of the hostel. When we checked out, I was told to gather our sheets. No problem, so I did it, but when I came to the reception with two sets of bed sheets, I was told that I had to leave the blanket downstairs. The receptionist saw the look on my face and returned them for me.
I booked this hostel for two reasons; the day tour they offered of the old city of Jerusalem, which was fantastic and second, PUB CRAWL NIGHT, which was a major let down! We were supposed to leave at 9:30, but got pushed back to 10:30, then 11:30 and then finally we were given our money back and told that there wasn't enough people for the pub crawl. I think five people was enough! After getting all dolled up, nothing! They didn't even offer an alternative. It makes me wonder if this is a common occurrence.
Overall, it's a great place to stay if it's your first time in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: The dorm in the very back of the basement is right next to the garbage bin outside. So if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyechia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byron33, General Manager at Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear traveler.
I am glad you have enjoyed our social atmosphere and various tours & activities. We make great efforts in running them all on regular basis.
It is very rare that our famous pub crawl does not run, but unfortunately it happened during your stay. That evening the pub crawl leader could gather only 3 people to join so he cancelled as it's no fun having a wild night out in various places only with 3 people. Therefore we gave a full refund + free drink in our bar for people who registered. The alternative which we offered was going out together (not as a tour) to 2 selected bars.
I apologize once again for the inconvenience and hope that you will visit us again and give another chance to join the pub crawl. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,240
    559
    122
    29
    18
See reviews for
220
346
748
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect, I planned to stay 2 days but I stayed 5. From and thank to the hostel you can visit Jerusalem and many near and far point of interest. They have a very nice travel agency inside too...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danilo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I've traveled a lot over the past 5 years and I can honestly say hands down, that Abraham is the BEST hostel I've ever stayed at. There was not a thing that disappointed me during my stay there. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms had individual air conditioning and GREAT showers. The breakfast was better than any hotel I've ever visited. There were plenty of places to hang out (including a rooftop with a beautiful view of the city). The hostel social events were well planned. They even had a travel agent on staff to help set up tours in and around the city. I'm so happy I decided to stay there. I made incredible friends, and had a blast!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cari Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

One of the best hostels we have been to. An excellent tour desk, great bar/chill area, and super atmosphere. Location is nice, everything is within walking distance. These are the reasons for staying here! Our room was clean but very basic. Breakfast was okay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tord K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel caters for everyone and are always looking to be innovative.They have the tours the Shabbat dinners the Pub crawls Parties and Open mike evenings.Staff are professional on the ball and work hard.The rooms are clean always fresh linen and towels.The common area and bar brings people from around the Globe into a fantastic social setting.Relax in the T.V reading room or on the hammocks and play pool and games.Roof garden for beers and parties.Central to markets and shops.I love the chef Atef and miss Mila the Brazilian bar lady.Great hostel well done Manager Yaron and team miss you all from China.Sorry forgot to mention great breakfast and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jossmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hostel was excellent. Good location. The common room was a great place to hang out. Lovely hammocks, free wifi, lockers, pool, a place to make tea and coffee, a bar, books, musical instruments: these guys have thought of everything. There was a quieter room next to it to read, chill or watch tv. Excellent breakfast. Abraham Tours very good too. West Bank tour recommended. Only downer was being lambasted by another guest because I didn't share her views on Israel, so my advice is maybe avoid politics while staying there. Abraham Hostel is one of the best hostels.

Room Tip: I stayed in a female shared dorm for 6 and it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVJ1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice place for travelers. Convenient location of the hostel, a nice friendly atmosphere. If you are traveling alone - the best places to be found. The hostel offers its excursions. There is free Wi fi that works well throughout the property. Tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
644 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 99 in Jerusalem
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
990 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#27 of 99 in Jerusalem
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Hostel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Property: Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
Address: 67 Ha-Nevi'im | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 9470211, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Abraham Hostel Jerusalem 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abraham is known as the father of monotheism and was the first backpacker in the Middle East. He journeyed throughout the lands accepting hospitality from those whose homes he came to, and extending hospitality to anyone who passed near his tent. We wish to extend Abraham's Biblical hospitality to our time. We, the staff & owners of Abraham Hostels, created our dream hostel in Jerusalem to support travelers in the Middle East. The Abraham Hostel is located in Jerusalem's city center catering for independent travelers and small groups. Our location allows for easy walking access to all major sites such as the Old City or Mahane Yehuda Market. There are plenty of public transportation options right outside to various Jerusalem sites, as well as to the international airport and other cities in Israel and the West Bank. The hostel offers daily activities and tours in our ongoing effort to encourage travelers to make new friends and new experiences. Whether it's our hostel bar, traveler's information center or chill-out rooftop, we try to provide everything an independent traveler needs when travelling in the area. For those traveling outside Jerusalem there is a special discount when staying in Abraham Hostel Tel Aviv and the Fauzi Azar Inn in Nazreth, as well as special shuttle service between all three branches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abraham Hostel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing