We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dining experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Machneyuda

Machneyuda
Ranked #5 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Detroit
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Loved the whole ambiance! Great meal..innovative presentations...even the check came in a purse! Had a delicious fish dish and the chef's mother's soaked semolina cake with tahini ice realm which was amazing! Loved the whole dining experience there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    202
    99
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“sophisticated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

A well known and may be locally famous restaurant. It seems like we were lucky to find a vacant table yesterday evening without reservation (two persons). The place is dark ( so it's not easy/pleasant to read the menu card) and quite noisy(so having a nice ,calm conversation is a challenge) but on the other hand there is the food! Not the usual courses one can usely find in Israel.Original and varied dishes and of course tasteful. However there is no added value at all bringing the risoto in a big and deep pot. Being different is not the main goal of a restaurant, I presume, but considering all the minuses vs the one and only plus,the food, the result is positive,the last bemol being the price :it is really tasteful and not less really expensive.Is it worthwile?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Didier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Amazing place! I highly recommend going for both the food, drinks, atmosphere and service. We had a blast and LOVED with the music played and the chefs and waiters would encourage dancing and singing. What an amazing hidden gem!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
248 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“one word- WOW WOW WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This restaurant is a chef-restaurant, usually one would imagine a large and quiet restaurant with very quiet waiters assisting the service. Well, in this case, it was quite the opposite situation. The Restaurant is small, located near Machaney Yehuda market and during all our stay there was a very load music. The waiters were very helpful assisting us (with a lot of jokes and shouting) and the food- just heaven!!!
We made a reservation a month before.
We ordered a double chef tastes (and this means that no one beside the chefs who prepared it just now will know what inside..) we got eight different types, each dish taste even better than before. The pick was the black risotto with Salmon. This was definitely the best dish i ever eaten in my life.
So if you like such a good food, try this one...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hezkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Israel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great vibe,service,atmosphere,and food in all of Israel!,,,,the octopus and calamari where exquisite. The polenta is so great you will beg for more. Loved the sea bass too. This chef should be up for an award. Hope he opens up in NY.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Machneyuda also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Machneyuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing