We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, Service are terrific”
Review of Rooftop

Rooftop
Ranked #14 of 729 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Spectacular outdoor brasserie dining, with magnificent panoramic views that stretch across Jerusalem's majestic Old City. With a large and varied menu for dinner, the Rooftop features fresh natural ingredients infused in simple Italian cooking.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“View, Service are terrific”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had the opportunity to dine at the Rooftop Outdoor Lounge and Restaurant atop the Mamilla Hotel in Jerusalem. Drinks were great, the service was excellent (ask for Ron at the Bar), the food was good and the view is unsurpassed.

We highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdhsheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    142
    33
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Unforgettable Evening”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I sympathize with both sets of reviews on this site. Rooftop is an imperfect restaurant, but if you can get past its flaws, it also offers an absolutely unforgettable experience.

Our trip to Rooftop got off to a rocky start. The hostess claimed not to have my reservation; I had to pull out my iPhone and show her the emailed confirmation to get seated. The restaurant was entirely full, and the kitchen overwhelmed. For a restaurant with the ambitions of Rooftop, these are puzzling stumbles.

We were there, by chance, on the evening of Jerusalem Day. Rooftop had put together a special menu, replicating the signature dishes of a half-dozen of Jerusalem's hottest restaurants in its own kitchen. These were spectacular, and a real tribute to what that kitchen can accomplish when it sets its mind to it. The meal began with fresh begele, the elongated bread sold in pushcarts around the city. We splurged. For appetizers, we had the Shikshukit from Machneyuda, the grouper shwarma, and the bone marrow appetizer off the regular menu. All were superbly done, but the last of these was particularly spectacular. For our mains, we had lamb gnocchi in the style of Chakra, and slow-cooked short-rib done specially for the evening by Rooftop. (The gnocchi was the more distinctive dish; the short-rib was tender, but not particularly flavorful.) And for dessert? Strudels like those made by Kadosh Cafe. In all, it made for a remarkably varied meal, combining the highlights of very different styles of cuisine in a single sitting.

Once we were actually seated, the service improved markedly. Our waitress, Shlomit, was both solicitous and sympathetic, making up for the slow pace of the kitchen. She made the experience infinitely nicer. Besides, by then, we were in no particular hurry. Fireworks were exploding far to the south, and then a second show directly over the walls of the Old City. Why rush? There was no place on earth we rather would've been. When the wine we ordered wasn't in stock, the sommelier suggested a substitute from the same winery - charging us only for the substantially less-expensive wine we'd ordered. We sipped, talked, and savored the food.

There's no question that Rooftop could work on its service and consistency. But the view alone comes close to justifying the tab. And the trick seems to be to order adventurously off the menu. Why get the steak at a place like this, if you can have Iraqi-style sea bream? The more creative dishes are clearly superior. I hope that Rooftop will tweak its menu, incorporating more of the flavors of the city that it exhibited on Jerusalem Day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 02139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin, Israel
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, excellent service & a beautiful view of the Old City.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Rooftop Restaurant at the Jerusalem Mamilla Hotel has become one of my favorite restaurants. Located on the top (8th) floor of the gorgeous Mamilla Hotel (hence the name "Rooftop"), you can sit at a table right by the edge and take in a beautiful view of the Old City of Jerusalem, or relax with friends on a comfortable couch with big pillows in the center of the space.

The ambiance is fantastic - quiet, calm and relaxing. On warm nights, the breeze flows in and gives a wonderful feeling to guests. During cooler weather, the restaurant has decorative space heaters around the tables that add comfortable heat. Though families and children are welcome, the restaurant caters to more of a grown-up clientele.

The food is just excellent, with a nice selection of meat & fish dishes, such as steak, lamb chops, grilled fish, ribs and more. My husband who used to be a butcher & does not generally find good quality meat in Israel, commented that his cut of meat was of a high quality, texture & very flavorful. I ordered the Grill-Seared Sea Bream & was expecting a small piece of fish as many restaurants give, but I was pleasantly surprised to receive a large portion. They don't skimp on the accompaniments, either. The side dishes were plentiful and very beautifully presented.

On to the service. The wait staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, without being overbearing. Our waiter, Itamar, answered our questions and helped us with our choices when we weren't sure what we wanted (the menu had been changed since the last time we went) and was very pleasant.

Rooftop is an elegant restaurant with delicious food, fine service and gorgeous views. This is a great place to dine out if you're visiting Israel from abroad, or wish to take relatives for a night out on the town. Reservations are recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everything was just perfect”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went for sunset to see the old city change in colors as the sun goes down . We got a lovely table right on the edge, with the best view of Old Jerusalem.
It gets quit cold in Jerusalem at night even during summer so they have Pashminas on the ready and also big outside heaters everywhere .
We found the service amazing especially Sheba, shelia ( hopefully the management will know who I am talking about and give her some commendation) We found Israel customer service extremely hit and miss but with the rooftop you can tell they have been trained well and actually enjoy there job.
Food was beautiful , my husband and I ordered different dishes so we could have a taste of each others and every dish was great! The young Sommelier ( 22) was lovely and he was very passionate about Israeli wines( we never had one bad wine while we were in Israel) He went through quit a lot of wines and we decided on a local Jerusalem grape .( hey when in Rome right,)

We actually found the prices to be very reasonable considering all the factors mentioned above . Israel is very expensive in general and what we have spend money on dinner previous wasn't nearly as good as Rooftop was.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huelva, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Gripping views but average and pricey experience...”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

For its impressive location and gripping views of Jerusalem Old City I would really recommend to drop in this place for an evening drink, the best time to visit this place, just to see the sunset over Jerusalem walls.
But having dinner here it is not a wise decision, mainly for its pricey and plain food, something you certainly do not expect when you see the lavish appearance of the place and the number of ready-to-serve waiters... But that is the truth. There is no correspondace with the food taste and quality with its hefty prices and the hotel style.
Bear in mind that even a coffee or a soft drink is rather expensive here, about 20 NIS a coffee and abou the same for a Coke, but again, you are paying mainly for the views...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ElBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rooftop also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Rooftop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing