We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, nice communal areas, perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Gate Hostel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Gate Hostel Inn
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, nice communal areas, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I loved staying at Golden Gate Inn. I stayed in a double room that had air conditioning - extremely affordable. It was very clean! The communal areas are awesome - tables, outdoor seating, sofa chairs, etc. There was no breakfast while we were there, so make sure and double check that you'll get it if it's important to you. The owners/workers were wonderful - very helpful when our luggage arrived late and in finding transportation for us back to the airport. The location is a bit difficult to find for your first time. Through Damascus Gate, when the road splits - take the one to the right. After a minute or two of walking, start looking up - they have one sign on the roof of the market. It's the second or third alley on the right up the stairs and then on the left. (If you have heavy luggage, you will have to get it up stairs) Ask for help if you get lost.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
10
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Safe, friendly and economical option for staying in Jerusalem. Allows you to stay in the middle of everything so you can absorb the unvarnished version of the Old City. Accommodations are simple but practical. Breakfast leaves a little to be desired but in the end it is adequate. It is NOT 50 meters from the Damascus Gate as advertised…it is more like 250 meters. Therefore, if you have bags to drag from the Damascus gate, be prepared for a challenging bout through this Quarter’s high energy, push-and-shove but yet delightfully colorful Muslim market. Inn is very difficult to find; marked by only one sign directly overhead the market pathway, about 50 meters north of the Hashimi Hotel which is well marked and worth a look.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

My experience with this hotel is the worst in my life. I am an avid traveler. It was unclean. The bathrooms were beyond unclean. The cot was so bad I could only sleep a few hours a night. The foreign men who smoked the pipes, that smell made it hard to breath. The wifi was good and that and the location was the only positive thing. It truly ruined my trip to stay in such an unclean place.

Room Tip: Please take my advise and pay more and stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovefoursAbilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Golden Gate Hostel is located inside Damascus Gate of the Old City in Jerusalem, Palestine. Thus, one has all the stores and excellent restaurants literally at the door steps. It is also minutes away from the Church of Holly Sepulchre, Via Dolorosa and entrance to the Western Wall and Temple Mount where visitors can visit the latter between 7:30-10:30 a.m. (at the time of our visit to Jerusalem in April 2013). Only Muslims worshippers can go inside the mosques. I was only too happy to wait in the long line to get through the metal detector and check point to see the magnificent structures. However, it is advisable to come as early as possible i.e. 7:30a.m.
The hotel staff is courteous and helpful.The hostel provides a hearty and delicious breakfast with fresh fruits, bread, and typical items of a healthy middle eastern breakfast e.g. tomatoes, cucumber, yogurt, cheese, etc. Wifi is free at the hostel common sitting room, as tea and coffee are all day long. The rooms where we stayed with other friends are basic, clean and comfortable with private bathrooms. At peak time for water usage, water pressure may be temporarily low for showering, one can try later and we did not have much trouble then. Rooms facing the market can be noisy at times, even late at night with market being cleaned, but one can enjoy day light and fresh air. Inside rooms are quieter for those who are sensitive to noise. Location, location and location are the best part of this hostel. I would return to stay there without hesitation.

Room Tip: Since one may have to share room (dormitory style), if possible, get a room with friends and family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oholdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hostel is strategically located inside the old city walls, not far from the Damascus Gate. From here it is possible to visit anywhere within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, if needed they let you drop your things if it is too early to check in and you like to have an early start excursion in the city. Free wireless, free caffe and tee in the lobby lounge anytime, TV and AC in all rooms. Nice budget accommodation, if you are not looking for extravagances and are looking for a place where to crash after browsing around Jerusalem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban,za
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

our stay in golden gate was very comfortable. the location was ideal for us as we visited aqsa mosque 5 times a day to pray. shops were at the door step (clothes, fresh meats, sweetmeats,supermarkets,fresh fruit and veg etc).
the manager abu abdullah is a great person. he allowed us full use of the kitchen and accomponied me to do a few purchases.
the rooms are basic and the breakfast as well.
value for money for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kochise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed in dorm room for 4 nights & loved it. Firstly location is fantastic. Right in middle of all the hustle bustle of old city. Max 10 min walk to the Aqsa Mosque. The staff were extremely welcoming & helped me a lot during my stay. Breakfast was plentiful. Free wifi in reception area where there's comfortable seating. It was nice to relax there in the evenings & make some new friends. Will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#47 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
The Sephardic House
#51 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#8 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#11 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#28 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hostel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hostel Inn

Property: Golden Gate Hostel Inn
Address: 10 Soug Khan al-Zeit | 52 Beit HaBad street, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing