We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the budget stays!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Gate Hostel Inn
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I've been in and out of Golden Gate over the last few weeks. They are most accommodating! There are no hassles with storing my bag while I'm out of town a couple of days. They welcome me back with warm hospitality.
It was a little hard to find on my first visit because I expected to see "streets" in the Old City. Hint: Think crowded walkways when you are looking for Beit al HaBad street. Better yet, take a copy of the map from their website http://www.goldengate4.com/ and ask people with your map in hand.
Free wi-fi. Close to ATM and restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff. They can connect you with Mike's Center for tours, electronics help, etc without charging extra fees.
Golden Gate is remarkably quiet considering it's in the Old City. I'll continue to use it as my "go to" hotel/hostel/inn!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great location in the heart of the old city, within walking distance to all places. Great clean rooms with warm water, all rooms have Ac. The hotel staff are very friendly. The free breakfast is a treat, fresh fruit and local dishes. If i was to go back i would choose this hotel again.
the hotel has a great balcony which has wifi, a great place to hang out and relax at night.

Room Tip: would highly recommend this for families, couples or on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sameer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I loved staying at Golden Gate Inn. I stayed in a double room that had air conditioning - extremely affordable. It was very clean! The communal areas are awesome - tables, outdoor seating, sofa chairs, etc. There was no breakfast while we were there, so make sure and double check that you'll get it if it's important to you. The owners/workers were wonderful - very helpful when our luggage arrived late and in finding transportation for us back to the airport. The location is a bit difficult to find for your first time. Through Damascus Gate, when the road splits - take the one to the right. After a minute or two of walking, start looking up - they have one sign on the roof of the market. It's the second or third alley on the right up the stairs and then on the left. (If you have heavy luggage, you will have to get it up stairs) Ask for help if you get lost.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Safe, friendly and economical option for staying in Jerusalem. Allows you to stay in the middle of everything so you can absorb the unvarnished version of the Old City. Accommodations are simple but practical. Breakfast leaves a little to be desired but in the end it is adequate. It is NOT 50 meters from the Damascus Gate as advertised…it is more like 250 meters. Therefore, if you have bags to drag from the Damascus gate, be prepared for a challenging bout through this Quarter’s high energy, push-and-shove but yet delightfully colorful Muslim market. Inn is very difficult to find; marked by only one sign directly overhead the market pathway, about 50 meters north of the Hashimi Hotel which is well marked and worth a look.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My experience with this hotel is the worst in my life. I am an avid traveler. It was unclean. The bathrooms were beyond unclean. The cot was so bad I could only sleep a few hours a night. The foreign men who smoked the pipes, that smell made it hard to breath. The wifi was good and that and the location was the only positive thing. It truly ruined my trip to stay in such an unclean place.

Room Tip: Please take my advise and pay more and stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovefoursAbilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Golden Gate Hostel is located inside Damascus Gate of the Old City in Jerusalem, Palestine. Thus, one has all the stores and excellent restaurants literally at the door steps. It is also minutes away from the Church of Holly Sepulchre, Via Dolorosa and entrance to the Western Wall and Temple Mount where visitors can visit the latter between 7:30-10:30 a.m. (at the time of our visit to Jerusalem in April 2013). Only Muslims worshippers can go inside the mosques. I was only too happy to wait in the long line to get through the metal detector and check point to see the magnificent structures. However, it is advisable to come as early as possible i.e. 7:30a.m.
The hotel staff is courteous and helpful.The hostel provides a hearty and delicious breakfast with fresh fruits, bread, and typical items of a healthy middle eastern breakfast e.g. tomatoes, cucumber, yogurt, cheese, etc. Wifi is free at the hostel common sitting room, as tea and coffee are all day long. The rooms where we stayed with other friends are basic, clean and comfortable with private bathrooms. At peak time for water usage, water pressure may be temporarily low for showering, one can try later and we did not have much trouble then. Rooms facing the market can be noisy at times, even late at night with market being cleaned, but one can enjoy day light and fresh air. Inside rooms are quieter for those who are sensitive to noise. Location, location and location are the best part of this hostel. I would return to stay there without hesitation.

Room Tip: Since one may have to share room (dormitory style), if possible, get a room with friends and family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oholdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hostel is strategically located inside the old city walls, not far from the Damascus Gate. From here it is possible to visit anywhere within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, if needed they let you drop your things if it is too early to check in and you like to have an early start excursion in the city. Free wireless, free caffe and tee in the lobby lounge anytime, TV and AC in all rooms. Nice budget accommodation, if you are not looking for extravagances and are looking for a place where to crash after browsing around Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#55 of 102 in Jerusalem
304 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#50 of 102 in Jerusalem
232 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#16 of 102 in Jerusalem
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Sephardic House
#53 of 102 in Jerusalem
145 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 102 in Jerusalem
681 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Hashimi Hotel
Hashimi Hotel
#6 of 60 in Jerusalem
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hostel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hostel Inn

Address: 10 Soug Khan al-Zeit | 52 Beit HaBad street, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing