We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grate place ... Grate opening ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I really do like the opening cocktail party which been more than perfect the food was very good and the waiters was helpful spicily bashar I meet him a lot in deferent places and he always make the serves better than good , I really like the ballroom it's really beautiful , and the location is certainly in the best place of Jerusalem where you can reach everywhere easily ...Best washes for this grate hotel

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank J112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Jerusalem, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear J112233,
We are thrilled you joined us to celebrate the opening of Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem. Our Palace Ballroom is indeed becoming the preferred choice for glamorous and unforgettable occasions. We especially appreciate your singling out one of our professional staff and noting the True Waldorf Service received, our singular brand standard.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Guy Klaiman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

It's a new hotel, so I will try not to rate them too harshly. I did not stay at the Waldorf but came here for a shabbat dinner in the ballroom. First, let me say that the public areas are gorgeous. The lobby, the restaurants, the location, it's spectacular! However, my group and I were guinea pigs for the hotel's first big event in the dining room. It was a disaster on all levels. The staff was untrained, the service was slow and the food, uneven. We were 10 at each table. The staff was so unprofessional that there was no rhyme or reason to their service. Two couples at our table still had their appetizers in front of them while two other couples sailed through appetizer, salad and main course!
We had to speculate what some of the dishes were because we really had no clue! One waiter dropped a full big tray with dirty dishes on a woman's head and never bothered to apologize! But I should count our table lucky, at least we received some food. As far as I could tell, a table near us never received any! As i said, the hotel has a long way to go!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 880gigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Jerusalem, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear 880gigi,
We appreciate your sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor. We apologize that you felt our service standard fell short of your expectations. We have had several successful events in the Ballroom both prior to and since the event you refer to. Our international staff undergoes regular, updated training and your comments have been taken seriously and are being reviewed by the appropriate departments.
We have the responsibility to provide True Waldorf Service to each of our guests and we will continue to ensure we do so. We hope to see you again soon at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem.
Sincerely,
Guy Klaiman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just left Jerusalem after a 5 night stay at the waldorf Astoria Jerusalem .there is nothing better than checking in to a new room that has not been used yet. It's not the biggest room but it was beautiful, along with a beautiful marble bathroom with tv in the mirror.
The bed and sheets were amazing and comfortable and after a long flight made for a great sleep
All staff were very nice and helpful. The concierge were terrific with suggestions for restaurants and tours.the buffet breakfast was large and extensive. We looked forward to it every morning .
Although there are some issues in a new property, this is still the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be great here. Very quiet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Jerusalem, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Lori R,
We appreciate your sharing your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem. As you noted, the hotel is a tranquil oasis and our luxuriously appointed guest rooms enable our international travelers to rest in great comfort. Starting the day with the gourmet selections at the grand buffet in the Palace restaurant is indeed a treat and a favorite of all our guests. Thank you for singling out our concierge service who works diligently to assist our guests and enhance their memorable visit with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Guy Klaiman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The remodel and the rooms are very nice. For this being a Hilton hotel. Simply the worst I've experienced in 50 years. Even if you are at Hilton honors member really should consider another hotel. At these prices service is poor to say the least. We're used to staying in hotels of this quality with excellent service.
I'm not sure where these other people writing these reviews stayed.
I own a chain restaurants and know what customer service is. It does not exist here. I can't particularly set one example as there are so many. They need to do a whole new staff training. Send these employees to another Hilton that knows what customer services. The staff is not friendly at all to American standards. I'm generous giving it two.

Stayed: June 2014
6  Thank Coconutsowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Jerusalem, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Coconutsowner,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. Please know we take your comments seriously and have discussed them with the various applicable departments. Our international professional staff repeatedly undergoes training to reinforce the brand standard of providing True Waldorf Service. Feedback like yours is important for us to review where we need to improve ourselves, to ensure we provide luxury service and to consistently meet our guests' expectations.
We hope you will give us another chance and return to Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem.
Sincerely,
Guy Klaiman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the new Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem in June with family in 3 rooms. I will rate this on several criteria. 1) Rooms - 5 Star beautiful rooms with great linens, clean and awesome bathrooms. 2) Service - 5 Star service from the concierge to the doorman (Barry). They were always attentive and helpful and made an effort to get to know us after a 5 day stay. 3) Food - 5 Star Israeli Breakfast that is worth the money (if you are at the Waldorf you should be able to afford it). Dinner was fine, but service a little slow. 4) Valet - they crashed our rental van into a pole, but the hotel was very supportive and helpful in resolving the replacement of our rental. Mistakes happen and we tried to focus on the vacation and the hotel guest relations manager, Miri, was very fair in handling the situation. Overall, this is a great new hotel for Jerusalem, very sophisticated and while they still have some minor kinks to work out, you wont be disappointed with the accommodations nor the location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank gbernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Jerusalem, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear G Bernstein,
We are happy you enjoyed your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem. We are appreciative of your singling out some of our professional staff. True Waldorf Service is what our guests expect upon their arrival and we are constantly working with our staff to upgrade our service and offerings. From our gourmet restaurants to our beautifully restored building and deluxe accommodations to our stellar location, Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem takes pride in being the new choice for luxury seeking travelers.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Guy Klaiman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I visited but did not stay at this hotel in April. It has a magnificent setting but the staff seemed to be a "bit" condescending in there attitude. We were challenged when we walked about looking at the place, and I had to remind the staff that the hotel had advertised in the New York Times/Ha-Aretz newspapers inviting people to visit, so we did.
Best and most warm welcome we received was from the manager of the Hilton Tel Aviv who was working at the hotel that day. If all the other staff could "lower their noses" a bit then I am sure that it will be a wonderful hotel.
Example of condescending answer when asked if there were plans for an executive lounge "No, at Waldorf Astoria all our guests are executives". Hmm, they have a lounge at WA Rome!!!
We had tea and a snack in the restaurant, and the waitress was really good, so there is some hope.
Will stay next time we are in Israel just for the experience.
(We stayed in five hotels on this occasion and will report on each separately, they were: Cranim, Carmel Forest, Dan Carmel-Haifa, Isrotel Dead Sea and Hilton Tel Aviv)

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Jerusalem, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Paul N,
We appreciate your sharing your recent visit at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem. We take your comments very seriously and have addressed them with the appropriate departments. Please know that we do not have an executive lounge which is not uncommon in Waldorf Astoria. Each of our guests is offered the services of a personal concierge that is attentive before, during and after their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Guy Klaiman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Jerusalem Waldorf Astoria. Very new, clean and elegant. Other hotels nearby offer better views but none of them are as elegant and seem as clean. Hotel did not give us an acceptable room when we checked in but made it up to us the next day and provided us with lovely accommodations. Hotel is still experiencing baby steps but seems on track to be the stellar hotel of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank A-ABH90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Jerusalem, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Andrew T,
We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem.

Since our opening, we are fast becoming the preferred choice for discerning luxury travelers. Our 226 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with the finest amenities are spread over nine floors with many overlooking the spectacular city and park. We are happy you were satisfied with your new room selection.

We continue to work diligently and constantly update the training of our professional team to ensure our guests receive True Waldorf Service at all times during their visit with us. Thank you for reminding us that we must always strive to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem.

Sincerely,
Guy Klaiman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,559 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#13 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,515 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#5 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,803 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,072 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#9 of 101 in Jerusalem
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem

Address: 26-28 Gershon Agron | Adjacent to Independence Park; Mamilla district, Jerusalem 9419008, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £316 - £596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem is set within a uniquely preserved ottoman facade. The meticulous restoration and ambitious construction have created an exceptional new luxury hotel which sits majestically at a crossroads between the charms of the walled Old City and the modern bustle of Jerusalem. The luxurious boutique spa, gyms, pools and saunas will open in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing