We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin

Mandarin
Ranked #569 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Use google genius! Restaurant does not have its own site.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

No frills place, looks very dated, but their chicken curry was so amazing we had it twice in a week.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myrtle_Beech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    11
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese food ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The food here is about the worst that I've tasted anywhere... its very heavily salted and everything has some kind of awful flavor that I don't know how to describe.
The waitress was very nice, that is about the only positive thing I can say about the place... they also automatically add a tip to the bill.. I know that sometimes happens with a group of people but it was just the two of us.
If you want a place that is open on Shabbat try Sakura or Baroods which are close by.. the food in those places is so much better..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RutiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Most Authentic Chinese Food in the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Have visited Mandarin dozens of times over the years. Most authentic Chinese food and experience in the city (we are regular patrons of China town in Chicago and Boston, and recently spent 3 months traveling in China). Not kosher. Late hours are great, and centrally located. Usually filled with tour groups from various Asian countries, and can be loud at times, but worth it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EvanMJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very tasty and open on the Sabbath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I had been walking around Jerusalem on the Sabbath and the Mandarin was one of only about two restaurants open in the area for lunch. Both liking Chinese food we went in. To find the restaurant door, which was not obvious, you have to go round the left of the building. Once up the stairs, the restaurant itself is open, airy (on a very hot day) and spacious with all the tables set up for guests. It is well decorated, more flavour of China than many UK ones I have visited. We were the only people there and the waitress came over with the menus almost as soon as we had sat down. There was a good variety of food and drinks, but we settled for Chinese tea in view of the weather - it was very refreshing. I ordered Lemon Chicken, which I really enjoy, and my wife had beef noodles. The Beef was well cooked and tasty, as were the noodles. The Lemon Chicken, one of the largest and most lemony portions I have had, was accompanied by some green salad. The portions were so large that we did not do justice to anything else on the menu, but left very satisfied. If it is the Sabbath, you like Chinese and you are in the area of Jaffa/Yofa Street, then I would recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Sensitive Owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

After a few days in Jerusalem, we were craving for Chinese noodles or any Chinese food. again this restaurant was recommended by our Tour Agent, who obviously may have not known a real Chinese meal! We came at 1 pm, only to be told that they were fully booked, then we returned after 2 pm, the restaurant was completely empty. We ask the waiter about the crispy duck and he said that it is very crispy, so we did order a one crispy duck, spicy eggplant, and noodles. when the crispy duck came it was covered in flour, indeed crispy but tasted so bad the spicy eggplant was spicy enough but the eggplant was again covered in flour and you can hardly taste the eggplant . The noodle was just ok. we didn't touch the crispy duck, so when we asked for the bill, the waiter noticed that we didn't eat the duck, and i just said that the taste was not what we expected. He spoke to the the restaurant manager or owner, and they decided not to make us pay for the duck. I thought that was very considerate an sensitive of him. we left and thank the waiter, and never again ! we have informed the Tour agent on the quality of food .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Mandarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing