We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a disappointment for the start of my trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“what a disappointment for the start of my trip”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The room and faciity was fine. The location was very close and in walking distance of Herod's Gate and the Damascus Gate to the Old City. At night, it was safe to walk ,but only in a group. The buffet for breakfast was fine,though the same food each day,but for breakfast, I didnt mind. The dinner buffet was so bad, I stopped eating with my tour group. The food was the same night after night. It seemed to be "recycled" from one evening to the next. Ex: baked fish one night, then the next night, it was the same baked fish but in a yellow sauce or tired,overcooked cauliflower one night,then smothered in white creamy sauce the next night. Everything from the salads, entrees,and desserts were the same night after night. Also, the quality of the food was bland and flavorless,in comparison to other hotels and restaurants in the city. The entree choices were few compared to a vast array of entrees at other hotel buffets.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and I wish i could rate it higher, but the food made for an undesirable stay and I was ready to leave before it was time. I wished I could have stayed elsewhere because Jerusalem was the highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josiestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    95
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
42
56
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I would have so wanted to give this hotel a better rating, mainly because of their good customer service. However, I did not get much sleep there. There was no switch on the lights near the doorway, and they can only be turned off if I take out the keycard -- but that would mean I would have no electricity at all. The hotel also experienced brief periods of brownouts in the afternoons, and apparently there was no generator.

The hotel has free wifi, which was very convenient and helpful.

The twin beds were on the small side, although i heard that is usually the case in Jerusalem.

The rooftop pool had a nice city view. Unfortunately, it was still under construction when we were there.

Since we were on half-board basis, we had dinner every night. The food was practically the same, with slight variations. But there was one night when the fish was great. The salad choices were plentiful, if you are into that. The sandwich portions in the bar were huge, although it was a bit expensive, and one has to remember that the prices are in U.S. dollars.

The location is in East Jerusalem in a mostly quiet neighborhood -- except during calls for prayers by the mosques. Good thing those weren't too early in the morning. The hotel is near the bus station near the Garden Tomb, and near a gate of Old Jerusalem. It is also near the tram stop, although one can walk to the Old City if he chooses to.

But as I said earlier, what I really liked was their customer service. The staff in the front desk and the waiters are very friendly, and always greeted with a smile. If you request for their complimentary water (I don't know whether this is given to all room types though), the waiters brought them to the room on trays. We even got a complimentary fruit basket. All in all, if they solve their problem with the lights, I will not hesitate in staying with them again and giving them a better rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeystj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

St George Landmark is a new hotel in East Jerusalem, in a "neutral" neighbourhood close to where those who does not want to take a stand in the conflict or prefer not to join in the religious hustle and bustle can feel more comfortable than elsewhere. Close to Damascus Gate and the bus station, it is has an ideal location for walks in the old town and for trips outside of Jerusalem for instance to Ramallah.
St George opened recently and the roof top pool is still under construction - should be ready in mid May 2012. That pool will be quite epic with its view over the old city. The hotel is nicely furnished and comfortable, but beware of the noisy street on the side where the balconies are, try to get a room high up if you want a balcony. The bar and the small garden is nice and quiet but the breakfast restaurant down stairs is quite boring. For a small additional fee you can order breakfast in bed which can be an option. The top floor Lebanese restaurant is one of the best places to eat in East Jerusalem.
With this being said, we come to the obstacles staying in this place. As the hotel is new, the staff is still learning. At some times it feels you are in their training program: everyone knows what to do, but the timing is crazy.
-I woke up at 7.15 by the knock on the door - house keeping. The next night I put the do-not-disturb sign out, but the knock was still there - only more quiet!
-When the waiter is taking my order, his cell rings - and he picks up his call!
-As I am standing in the reception waiting to check out, someone takes my bags and puts them in the wrong cab. I was lucky to see it...
Despite these incidents (and some more) I still want to recommend St George Landmark. I am sure they will get professional as everyone is very ambitious, friendly and wants the place to be what it should be - a 1960-ies restored Landmark.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maria_lantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Recent stay at the newly rebuilt St. George Landmark Hotel was wonderful. The staff is very accommodating and helpful, the rooms/bathrooms clean, spacious, comfortable. The rooftop pool is to open soon and offers a spectacular view of the city! Easily walkable and safe to the Old City and Garden Tomb. The newly opened Lebanese Restaurant rooftop is fabulous with each dish a delight! An outdoor seating area adjacent to the spacious lounge is a nice accommodation. Free WiFi certainly a plus!!

Room Tip: Corner mini suites very spacious with seating, desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was newly opened and was experiencing a few 'teething problems'. However, any difficulties were dealt with promptly and with great courtesy. The bedroom was comfortable.

The food was good and varied.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelineLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is in the final stages of refurbishment but, even so you can see that it will be a great addition to the 'old town' of Jerusalem. There will be an infinity pool on the roof with stunning views, an Italian style roof-top restaurant as well as the hotels main restaurant. The rooms are modern, with ample space and comfortable furnishings. As stated in the title it is a great base from which to tour the historic and religious sights of Jerusalem.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#52 of 99 in Jerusalem
183 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#44 of 99 in Jerusalem
225 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#54 of 99 in Jerusalem
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
644 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#45 of 99 in Jerusalem
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel Jerusalem

Property: St. George Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 6 Amr Ibn Al Aas st., Jerusalem 91544, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George Hotel Jerusalem is located in the heart of Jerusalem city, offering guests a contemporary stay in the center of the historical city of Jerusalem. The St George Hotel is the only choice for international and local visitors, with unparalleled service business and dining facilities, besides the top floor pool overlooking the city of Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. George Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing