We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic menu, incrediable renovation, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic menu, incrediable renovation, poor service”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Five of us, two tour guides decided to have dinner there based on a great review by a food critic in the local newspaper. Restaurant was definitely under staffed and one menu was available for 5 guests!. I asked for two additional menus and we were politely asked to share as they were short of menus. We sat on the roof and when the sun came down basically we were sitting in the dark, barely able to see what we were eating. We asked for candle light, anything but none came. Around us were electric lamps for light and heating and only at the insistence of guests at an adjoining table were we able to get one, only problem was that they were not functioning properly and kept having to be reset due to some electrical malfunction. The food was excellent, decent prices and the decor was first class but they definitely have some staff problems to deal with in order to give them a high review.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeZias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Many thanks for taking your time to post your experience at the Turquoise restaurant. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you experienced. Kindly be informed that we shared your feedback with our team in order to improve our services and ensure that remedy actions are being taken without delay.
We sincerely hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    94
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
42
55
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After three days in a sub-par Tel Aviv hotel, the St. George was a welcomed change. Unlike some other reviewers we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I purposely noted the names of two of the female receptionists so that I could compliment them by name, unfortunately I lost my notes somewhere between Jerusalem and Sacramento. Both helped us several times, including arranging transport to Bethlehem and making changes to upcoming reservations at different hotels. We didn't eat at the restaurant but found the staff at both bars to be just as friendly.

The room was nice. Nothing special, but clean and spacious.

The rooftop pool is the highlight of the hotel. I can't imagine there any other pool in the world that commands such an amazing/historical view.

Another plus was the location in East Jerusalem. It's in an Arab nieghborhood less than a 5 minute walk to the Damascus Gate. On the way you pass through a lively market area and the Arab bus station.

I don't foresee ever returning to Jerusalem, but if I do, I'll stay here again.

*the American Colony Hotel is less than 10 minutes away by foot. It was too expensive for our budget but tis worth checking out for a quick drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts of your stay at our hotel. We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Customer care is our highest priority and it is gratifying to receive such praise from our customers.
We do hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are in Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The good:

Great location just a few minutes stroll from the Old City, the pool, friendly and helpful staff, the Lebanese restaurant on the roof was great.

The bad:

We had staff walk into our room on two separate occasions unannounced, both times we were not decent. After the second time we complained and the housekeeping manager came to our room to clarify what happened. He apologised and said he'd look into it but I did not feel we had closure or assurance that it wouldn't happen again. Breakfast was not terrible but far from great. While the staff are friendly and have good intentions on the whole the hospitality feels a little unpolished and has room for improvement.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzkakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your experience at our hotel with us. We sincerely apologize for the disturbance you had from our staff. We have also noted your feedback with regards to our restaurant facilities and we have shared it with our team in order to improve the the mentioned points.
We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

As short as possible. The staff needs to learn how to deal with the guests. Location is good 5 min walk from bab al3amood. Even though the hotel is owned and run by Arabs. But they still treat Arabs as if they are second class guests. And if you speak to the staff in another language they will not understand you. Food is so bad that I had to walk down the road and buy a sandwich from a street vendor, and skip going to the dinner I payed for at the hotel. The waiters turn off hot plates and dim the lights at the Resturant when they feel like they want to go home after dinner. It is not a 5 star hotel. I will give it a 3 star. Poor poor Managment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I had a lovely time while staying at at the St. George Landmark hotel in Jerusalem.

Valet parking is offered at no extra cost. Rooms are clean. Late check out was permitted so no need to rush on Sat morning. Breakfast is very good and is offered on the rooftop which has an amazing view of the old city of Jerusalem.

But the highlight of my stay was by far the amazing view you enjoy ALL DAY LONG while lazing around in their rooftop pool.

I would definitely stay there again in my future visit to Jerusalem.

Liat, Israel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor which is highly appreciated. It was of great pleasure being of service to you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time at our pool. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The St George Landmark provided the perfect base to explore the old city of Jerusalem and the convenience of having Damascus Gate near by with access to all the transportation options including the light rail.
Damascus gate was less than a 10 min walk from the hotel. The hotel has beautiful lounges and terraces and great views of the city. Breakfast was really good and the omelette station was wonderful. The staff during breakfast was very friendly and the front desk staff were very helpful, giving us tips and directions when needed. The hotel was recently renovated and nicely done but as a family of four we needed two rooms connected. I found the hotel to be a great value and clean. The actual rooms did not have a view but the terrace was close when needed. My only comment is that the maintenance and cleaning staff need to keep the standard up and I hope they do. The rooms were nicely renovated and I hope the maintenance keeps them like that.
The one comment I would share to tourists is that this hotel is in East Jerusalem but provides the perfect location to explore both sides. The street around the corner is Salah Eddin St, a well known commercial street in east Jerusalem with lots of shops. You notice a huge difference in the cleanliness of the streets between East and West Jerusalem. This is a political statement since the city services are not extended to the Arab side of the city (the East side) in the same manner they are in the West. Just another sign of the discrimination people live under,but honestly around the hotel itself was clean.
The kids always found something to eat at breakfast. The rooms were a good size and had nice bathrooms with powerful showers. The AC was powerful and worked well. The courtyard downstairs and the terrace provided good places for evening hang outs after a long days tour. This hotel served us well and I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a king size bedroom with a connected 2 twin room for 2 adults and 2 kids and it provided plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyceoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Many thanks for taking your time to post your feedback on our hotel on TripAdvisor and for the valuable information you provided to the readers.We were delighted that you recommended us so highly and it is always gratifying to receive such praise from our customers. It was of great pleasure being of service to you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is nice and wonderful rooms.
The problem here is the staff.
2 of the resepsjonist did not know how to give basis answers about taxi, prices and so on.
Which is the minimum of what you expect from a resepsjonist.
They have a nice restaurant on the top with amazing food but that don't help. when the staff there is untrained. a give crappy service. The gave us a heating lamp but later just unplugged and removed it in the middle of our dinner without asking, and gave it to a group of friends (of the sheff) who came after us. They just gave us the bill without asking if we wanted coffee or dessert.
And in the breakfast the staff was hiding in the kitchen , you had to sceram if you wanted coffie ore service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcelona858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. Your comments are of utmost value and customer care and satisfaction is our top priority.
Would you kindly provide us with your e mail address to discuss specifics and to give us the opportunity to serve you better during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#45 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#56 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#47 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Holy Land Hotel
#60 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel Jerusalem

Property: St. George Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 6 Amr Ibn Al Aas st., Jerusalem 91544, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George Hotel Jerusalem is located in the heart of Jerusalem city, offering guests a contemporary stay in the center of the historical city of Jerusalem. The St George Hotel is the only choice for international and local visitors, with unparalleled service business and dining facilities, besides the top floor pool overlooking the city of Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your St. George Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing