We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay in such a wonderful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #77 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We nearly cancelled our holiday due to the tense and terrible situation in Israel and Palestine, so glad that we decided to stay and this hotel was the perfect base for our time in Jerusalem, just a few minutes from the old city. The rooftop pool and the restaurant have superb views over the old city towards the Mount of Olives. We were really well looked after by the hotel and by our Palestinian Christian guide who saw us safely and humorously every step of the way.

Room Tip: The rooms do not generally have views of the city and we were quite glad to be looking over a middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisreen M, E-commerce manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We would like to thank you for your very nice comments, which we appreciate highly, we really appreciate your kind self taking the time to share your experience concerning your stay at the St George Hotel Jerusalem and hope to welcome you again at our primacy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I were in a Group of 13 going to Jeruselam with the sole purpose of visiting Islam's holy sites (mosques, tombs and shrines). Our 2 days stay was fully occupied with visits to Hebron, Jericho, Bethlehem and also to Al Aqsa Mosque and Dome of the Rock. In spite of our packed schedule, there was adequate time in the evenings and mornings to appreciate and absorb the aura of this beautiful hotel. This newly renovated hotel was spotlessly clean. We stayed for 2 nights and occupied a room on the first floor. Although the room cane with a nice balcony, there was very little view to enjoy. The good size room was with a Kingsize bed, and we loved the comfort. The bathroom was spacious and the water pressure of the shower in the bath was excxellent. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant in the basement. So again there was no outside view to enjoy. Although the restaurant staff were youngish , they were very professional, friendly and helpful. If we have the opportunity to come again to Jerusalem, we will stay at this hotel, and this time we will make sure we are allocated a room on the higher floors, enjoy the pool and roof top dining offering a fantastic view overlooking the Old City and the Jerusalem walls.

Room Tip: Room on higher floors with a good vw\iew of the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaidAbubakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear valued guest,
Greetings from St George Hotel Jerusalem. Your kind feedback is highly appreciated. We are extremely pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time at our hotel. It was a pleasure to us being of service to you and we will be more than happy to welcome you again.

With our best wishes,

Maha Khoury
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Gigantic bed, great shower, location is ideal on the edge of East Jerusalem. The people at the front desk are largely very helpful, (apart from one who had never heard of Mea Sharim...)

The pool is the big draw, with that fantastic view. I only wish that they made more of it - put a bar up there, some seats, invited people up who weren't staying at the hotel to enjoy a drink overlooking the Old City - a rare and magical view.

Great place to stay, and you can always have cocktails at the American Colony if you feel that attached to it...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your memories of your stay at the St George Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind feedback about the pool is highly appreciated. Unfortunately we are limited in space. We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

With our best regards,

Maha Khoury
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just stayed at the St George in May (2014). Proximity to the old city is great just outside the Damascus gate in a vibrant neighborhood. The reception team was very helpful and Mariana in the restaurant provided particularly excellent service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in our hotel on TripAdvisor.Your kind feedback is highly appreciated. It is always gratifying to receive praise about our staff. We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Best wishes,

Maha Khoury
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I recently spent four nights at the St George while on a work trip to Jerusalem and the West Bank. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is a short walk to the Old City. It's not the American Colony but it's less than half the price! The bar is perfectly pleasant and the food in the restaurant was fine and again good value in an expensive city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris5555383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Greetings from St George Hotel Jerusalem. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
With our best wishes,

Maha Khoury
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First the positives - the breakfast attendant was very friendly and the hotel is only a 5 minute walk to Damascus gate. The front desk staff spoke English.

Stayed here for 5 nights and did not get a single night of good sleep. Based on other reviews, I requested a room near the back of the hotel, but was told they were fully booked so this is not possible. I asked the location of my assigned room and was told that it was near the back. When I got to the room, it was as close to the street as possible on the first floor with seemingly no noise insulation. There were two bus stops RIGHT outside the window, incessant honking, and even at least one car accident. I asked to be moved at the first opportunity but was told my room 'is a very nice room'. The few square feet of extra space did not make up for the noise.

The room was not very clean when I first arrived. The robe appeared to be used, there was hair from other guests everywhere, and a big stain on the comforter. Each day the level of "cleaning" was varied. Some days I would get a complimentary bottle of water, or my towel would not be replaced. The bathroom surfaces were obviously not cleaned.

The street while walking to Damascus gate appeared to be a 2 block long garbage dump and there was a lot of construction which did not help with my overall impression of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back away from the street are presumably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sleepysassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed at St. George one night during Holy Week 2014. We arrived late and the hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate us by bringing us a plate of cold food shortly after we arrived. The hotel room itself was nice, but a bit small. Still, everything was clean and very well maintained. I ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel and the food was excellent. If I have the opportunity to return to Jerusalem, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2FabNot2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maha K, Guest Relations Manager at St. George Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Your kind feedback is highly appreciated. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time in our hotel. It was of great pleasure being of service to you. Thank you for choosing St George for your stay in Jerusalem. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#55 of 100 in Jerusalem
210 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#34 of 100 in Jerusalem
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#43 of 100 in Jerusalem
734 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 100 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#45 of 100 in Jerusalem
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 6 Amr Ibn Al Aas st., Jerusalem 91544, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £63 - £687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George Hotel Jerusalem is located in the heart of Jerusalem city, offering guests a contemporary stay in the center of the historical city of Jerusalem. The St George Hotel is the only choice for international and local visitors, with unparalleled service business and dining facilities, besides the top floor pool overlooking the city of Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. George Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing